Additional Research Guides
Key Reference Materials
Handbook of Research in Education Finance and Policy by
Sponsored by the Association for Education Finance and Policy (AEFP), the second edition of this groundbreaking handbook assembles in one place the existing research-based knowledge in education finance and policy, with particular attention to elementary and secondary education. Chapters from the first edition have been fully updated and revised to reflect current developments, new policies, and recent research. With new chapters on teacher evaluation, alternatives to traditional public schooling, and cost-benefit analysis, this volume provides a readily available current resource for anyone involved in education finance and policy. The Handbook of Research in Education Finance and Policy traces the evolution of the field from its initial focus on school inputs and revenue sources used to finance these inputs, to a focus on educational outcomes and the larger policies used to achieve them. Chapters show how decision making in school finance inevitably interacts with decisions about governance, accountability, equity, privatization, and other areas of education policy. Because a full understanding of important contemporary issues requires inputs from a variety of perspectives, the Handbook draws on contributors from a number of disciplines. Although many of the chapters cover complex, state-of-the-art empirical research, the authors explain key concepts in language that non-specialists can understand. This comprehensive, balanced, and accessible resource provides a wealth of factual information, data, and wisdom to help educators improve the quality of education in the United States.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780415838016Publication Date: 2015-02-19
Handbook of Research on Educational Leadership for Equity and Diversity by
The rapid growth of diversity within U.S. schooling and the heightened attention to the lack of equity in student achievement, school completion, and postsecondary attendance has made equity and diversity two of the principle issues in education, educational leadership, and educational leadership research. The Handbook of Research on Educational Leadership for Equity and Diversity is the first research-based handbook that comprehensively addresses the broad diversity in U.S. schools by race, ethnicity, culture, language, gender, disability, sexual identity, and class. The Handbook both highly values the critically important strengths and assets that diversity brings to the United States and its schools, yet at the same time candidly critiques the destructive deficit thinking, biases, and prejudices that undermine school success for many groups of students. Well-known chapter authors explore diversity and related inequities in schools and the achievement problems these issues present to school leaders. Each chapter reviews theoretical and empirical evidence of these inequities and provides research-based recommendations for practice and for future research. Celebrating the broad diversity in U.S. schools, the Handbook of Research on Educational Leadership for Equity and Diversity critiques the inequities connected to that diversity, and provides evidence-based practices to promote student success for all children.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781135128432Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Handbook of Research on Student Engagement by
For more than two decades, the concept of student engagement has grown from simple attention in class to a construct comprised of cognitive, emotional, and behavioral components that embody and further develop motivation for learning. Similarly, the goals of student engagement have evolved from dropout prevention to improved outcomes for lifelong learning. This robust expansion has led to numerous lines of research across disciplines and are brought together clearly and comprehensively in the Handbook of Research on Student Engagement. The Handbook guides readers through the field's rich history, sorts out its component constructs, and identifies knowledge gaps to be filled by future research. Grounding data in real-world learning situations, contributors analyze indicators and facilitators of student engagement, link engagement to motivation, and gauge the impact of family, peers, and teachers on engagement in elementary and secondary grades. Findings on the effectiveness of classroom interventions are discussed in detail. And because assessing engagement is still a relatively new endeavor, chapters on measurement methods and issues round out this important resource. Topical areas addressed in the Handbook include: Engagement across developmental stages. Self-efficacy in the engaged learner. Parental and social influences on engagement and achievement motivation. The engaging nature of teaching for competency development. The relationship between engagement and high-risk behavior in adolescents. Comparing methods for measuring student engagement. An essential guide to the expanding knowledge base, the Handbook of Research on Student Engagement serves as a valuable resource for researchers, scientist-practitioners, and graduate students in such varied fields as clinical child and school psychology, educational psychology, public health, teaching and teacher education, social work, and educational policy.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781461420187Publication Date: 2012-02-23
Handbook of Urban Educational Leadership by
This authoritative handbook examines the community, district, and teacher leadership roles that affect urban schools. It will serve as a foundation for pedagogical and educational leadership practices that foster social justice, equity, and advocacy for those who have been traditionally and historically underserved in education. The handbook's ten sections cover topics as diverse as curriculum, instruction, and educational outcomes; gender, race, and class; higher education; and leadership preparation and support. Its twenty-nine chapters offer both American and international perspectives.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781442220843Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The SAGE Handbook for Research in Education by
Research is increasingly becoming more influential in the field of education and this Handbook brings together a range of top academic experts who represent diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research. The Handbook is written in lively, welcoming prose and central to the handbook is an intention to encourage and help researchers place ideas at the epicenter of inquiry. In addition explicit discussion of the fundamental challenges that researchers must consciously address throughout their inquiry are identified and solutions provided to help future researchers overcome similar obstacles.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412906401Publication Date: 2005-12-16
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership by
This fully updated Second Edition offers an unflinching and comprehensive overview of the full range of both practical and theoretical issues facing educational leadership today. Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412980029Publication Date: 2011-01-11
The SAGE Handbook of Research in International Education by
The landscape of international education has changed significantly in the last ten years and our understanding of concepts such as 'international', ′global′ and 'multicultural' are being re-evaluated. Fully updated and revised, and now including new contributions from research in South East Asia, the Middle East, China, Japan, Australasia, and North America, the new edition of this handbook analyses the origins, interpretations and contributions of international education and explores key contemporary developments, including: internationalism in the context of teaching and learning leadership, standards and quality in institutions and systems of education the promotion of internationalism in national systems This important collection of research is an essential resource for anyone involved in the practice and academic study of international education, including researchers and teachers in universities, governmental and private curriculum development agencies, examination authorities, administrators and teachers in schools.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781446298442Publication Date: 2015-11-04
The SAGE Handbook of Research on Teacher Education by
The SAGE Handbook of Research on Teacher Education offers an ambitious and international overview of the current landscape of teacher education research, as well as the imagined futures. The two volumes are divided into sub-sections: Section One: Mapping the Landscape of Teacher EducationSection Two: Learning Teacher Identity in Teacher EducationSection Three: Learning Teacher Agency in Teacher EducationSection Four: Learning Moral & Ethical Responsibilities of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Five: Learning to Negotiate Social, Political, and Cultural Responsibilities of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Six: Learning through Pedagogies in Teacher EducationSection Seven: Learning the Contents of Teaching in Teacher EducationSection Eight: Learning Professional Competencies in Teacher Education and throughout the CareerSection Nine: Learning with and from Assessments in Teacher EducationSection Ten: The Education and Learning of Teacher EducatorsSection Eleven: The Evolving Social and Political Contexts of Teacher EducationSection Twelve: A Reflective Turn This handbook is a landmark collection for all those interested in current research in teacher education and the possibilities for how research can influence future teacher education practices and policies. Watch handbook editors D. Jean Clandinin and Jukka Husu and handbook working editorial board members Jerry Rosiek, Mistilina Sato and Auli Toom discuss key aspects of the new handbook: https://www.youtube.com/watch'v=Yee8cZVakfc
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781473925090Publication Date: 2017-08-30
Key Databases
- ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles, periodicals, yearbooks, series, and supplements on special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, etc.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new windowResearch in child care and early education and promotion of that research in policy making.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Additional Resources
- NCES Data ToolsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
