Additional Research Guides
- Biomedical/Health Sciences Research GuidesFor more in-depth information on biomedial and health sciences research resources, check out these subject guides created by our Biomedical Librarians!
Key Reference Resources
Managing Change in Healthcare by
"Each chapter flows well and holds the reader's interest. The book is suitable for learners and experienced practitioners." - Keith Hurst, Leeds University The management of change in the context of new policy directives and agendas is a critical issue for healthcare practitioners. All professionals - not just managers - need to develop and implement new services designed to bring patients into the centre of healthcare delivery. This book looks at the leadership, interpersonal, and management skills needed to manage such change effectively within multi-professional healthcare settings. Key Features Provides unique use of action research as a model for planning and implementing change at the patient-service interface Makes use of evidence and case studies to demonstrate the stages of the change process Includes tips and useful strategies for achieving change Shows dynamic change can be achieved at the individual, team, departmental and organizational level Covers a range of topics including: organizational culture; leadership; conflict resolution; managerial roles; and organizational analysis Managing Change in Healthcare is ideal for all nursing and allied health care trainees taking courses in management and leadership. It will also be invaluable for qualified professionals and managers who need a clear and engaging guide to the key issues and skills underpinning effective healthcare management.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412922593Publication Date: 2009-05-07
The Practice of Health Program Evaluation by
As more and more money is spent developing programs and services to solve health problems, how can one know if a specific health program works or what it would take to improve it? Aimed at addressing this issue, The Practice of Health Program Evaluation provides readers with the methods to evaluate health programs and the expertise to navigate the political terrain so as to work more effectively with decision makers and other groups. To convey these principles, Grembowski uses the metaphor of evaluation being a three-act play with a variety of actors and interest groups, each having a role that involves entering and exiting the "stage" at different points in the evaluation process.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780761918479Publication Date: 2001-04-13
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
The topic of health care management has escalated to one of the most widely discussed and debated topics in the health care industry, MBA programs, and in the field of medicine in general. In the 1980s, the industry was relatively stable and the need for combining business acumen with medicine was less than today. However, as we enter the 21st century, the need for applying business and management skills to the health care industry is stronger than ever.This Encyclopedia covers every topic a medical professional, institutional administrator, or MBA student would need to know about the business of health care.Key Features* Over 600 entries* More than 160 expert contributors from the fields of medicine, public health, business* Tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, health care acronyms, medical legislation* Unites the business and medical worlds, and spans the academic, corporate, and governmental arenasTopics CoveredAccounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780761926740Publication Date: 2003-10-21
Key Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
- Medline (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowUS National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database. Biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific, business, technical and medical journals and books, including pre-pub and open access content. The back file of the Business collection is an invaluable archival source for business research.
Additional Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
