Newspaper Collections
This is the "Home" page of the " Latin American Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American Studies Resources   Tags: culture, data, history, latin america, literature, portuguese, spanish, statistics  

Last Updated: Nov 22, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/latinamericanstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Consultation

Not sure where to begin?

Contact Paula to schedule a reference consultation.

Online Reference Resources

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    Blackwell Reference Online provides full-text access to almost 300 Blackwell reference titles. Subjects include Anthropology, Business, Economics, History, Literature, Linguistics, Philosophy and Religion.
  • The Cambridge History of Latin America
    The Cambridge History of Latin America consists of 11 volumes, which range in topics from Colonial Latin America to Latin America since the 1930s. The final bibliographic volume contains recommended sources and is organized by chapters that correspond to the volumes in the set. The print version is in Reference F1410.C1834 1984 on the 4th floor.
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
    The Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The text covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. The print version is in Reference F1406.E53 2008 on the 4th floor.
  • Latin America: A Guide to the Historical Literature
    A selective and annotated bibliography of books and articles on Latin American history including topics with historical dimension from archaeology to art. Organized by historical period and geographic region, it covers teh pre-conquest through the twentieth century.
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
  • Oxford Bibliographies
    A good starting point to see principal recommended sources for your research.
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Latin American Research Guide. As part of Vanderbilt's Central Library, we have developed a guide to some resources and databases that pertain to Latin American Research. Click on the tabs above to find resources by category.
 
Please let me know if I can assist you at any point in your research process.  I am happy to meet with you individually for a research consult or to suggest sources via e-mail. 
 
Paula Covington
Latin American and Iberian Bibliographer
Senior Lecturer in Latin American Studies
 

Latin American Collection at Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt’s collection of Latin American materials is one of the library’s principal strengths. Vanderbilt established the first Institute of Brazilian Studies in the United States in 1947; hence, Brazil, particularly Brazilian history, has been a focus of the collection. The Colombian collection offers scholars a rich array of highly varied resources; most notably, the J. León Helguera Collection which includes 19th century broadsides, programas, pamphlets and newspapers, among many other rare materials. The recently acquired Manuel Zapata Olivella Collection is comprised of the acclaimed Colombian anthropologist, novelist, and physician’s manuscripts, papers, transcriptions and recordings–a treasure trove of Afro-Colombiana. The library participates in the Global Resources Project focusing on Guatemalan and Mesoamerican anthropology and archaeology. A more recent area of development is Andean archaeology and anthropology, especially in Bolivia and Peru. Other special collections include early travel accounts of Latin America and the Caribbean, the Simon Collier tango collection and the ever expanding digital collection, Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies, including Brazil, Colombia, and Cuba.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Paula Covington

Center for Latin American Studies

CLAS is designated a Comprehensive National Resource Center on Latin America by the U.S. Department of Education. While maintaining one of the strongest concentrations of Brazilianists of any university in the United States, the Center’s faculty members also have particular strengths in Mesoamerican and Andean anthropology and archaeology, the study of democracy building and economic development, Latin American literature and languages, and the study of African populations in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip