Introduction
The Special Collections Library has a variety of sources to assist with research on the foundations of Vanderbilt University. We have a variety of secondary sources on the Vanderbilt family, the history of Nashville, and history of education in the Southeast. We also have many University Archives resources and manuscript collections which help tell the story of Vanderbilt University.
Primary Sources
Dr. Landon Garland served as the first chancellor of Vanderbilt University. He worked closely with Bishop Holland McTyeire in shaping the curriculum of the fledgling university.
James Kirkland was the second chancellor of Vanderbilt University. He was instrumental in facilitating the break between the university and the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
Janie McTyeire was the daughter of Bishop Holland McTyeire. She married Vanderbilt English professor William Malone Baskervill. These papers contain important information on the McTyeire family and the career of her husband, Dr. Baskervill.
Dr. J.T. McGill was associated with Vanderbilt University from his graduation in 1877 until his death in 1946. Specializing in chemistry, he helped start the School of Pharmacy and was an active member for many years in the Tennessee Academy of Science. His papers contain information about the early days of Vanderbilt and the organization of the Alumni Association.
Dr. Tigert was the grandson of Bishop Holland McTyeire. His papers contain material on the founding of the university, including correspondence between Cornelius Vanderbilt and the bishop concerning the financier's contributions to the school.
Landon Garland/James Kirkland Letterbooks, 1874-1895
Record Group 300 Chancellor's Office, Box 108
The letterbooks of Chancellors Garland and Kirkland contain early correspondence of the chancellor's office, spanning the service of Chancellor Garland to the first few years of Kirkland's leadership.
Executive Minutes of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust, 1872-present
Record Group 200 Board of Trust Office
The Executive Minutes of the Board of Trust contain annual reports and meeting summaries of meetings of the governing board of the university. The annual minutes contain summaries of university accomplishments over the previous fiscal year as well as Treasurer's reports. The Minutes are open for research from 1872 until the end of the 1979/1980 fiscal year.
- Vanderbilt HustlerCall Number: MiFilm 3111Publication Date: 1888-presentVarious issues 2006-2013 are available in the Institutional Repository: https://ir.vanderbilt.edu/handle/1803/665/browse?type=dateissued.
For recent issues, visit the Vanderbilt Hustler web site: https://vanderbilthustler.com/.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowArticles, audio clips, images, primary source documents, maps, monographs, and government documents covering all aspects of the African American experience from Greenwood Press, Negro University Press, etc.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, magazines, reports, and annuals from various African American organizations including churches and educational and service institutions.
- African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
This database of eight African-American Newspapers provides information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and reports on major events and issues of the day. Newspapers are:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902), The Colored American (1837–1841), Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) , Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829), The National Era (1847–1860), The North Star (1847–1851), Provincial Freeman (1854–1857), Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Tennessee) This link opens in a new windowLarge-scale landbook maps which includes information such as outline of each building, the size and shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors, street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use. Fire insurance maps of Tennessee.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Tennessean (1812-2002) This link opens in a new windowUse the Tennessean database to locate articles of interest about Vanderbilt University or its staff, then cross check back issues of The Hustler for student coverage of the event.
Secondary Sources
- History of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: LD5588 .M5Publication Date: 1946An early history of Vanderbilt University from its beginning in 1873 up to the end of World War II.
- Gone with the Ivy: A Biography of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: LD5588 .C66 1985ISBN: 087049452XPublication Date: 1985-06-01A comprehensive history of Vanderbilt University, from its beginnings in 1873 to 1982.
The Vanderbilt Campus by Call Number: LD5588 .M33ISBN: 0826512100Publication Date: 1979-12-01A pictorial survey of the Vanderbilt campus from 1873 up to 1978. There are 25 brief essays on aspects of the campus, an alphabetical list and identification of persons for whom buildings are named, and a chronological list of buildings with their principal architects.
The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by Call Number: Central Library CT275 .V23 S85 2009
