Primary Sources
- Bennett Harvie Branscomb PapersThe Harvie Branscomb Papers include information about his academic career, his work with the Board of Trust, and the handling of the 1960's sit-in movements as it affected the university.
- James R. Hawk and Robert Anthony Teal CollectionThis small collection at .42 linear feet is comprised of objects and photographs assembled by James R. Hawk and Robert Anthony Teal from their participation in the March on Washington on April 25, 1993. On that day hundreds of thousands of gay and lesbian Americans and their supporters rallied in the capital to celebrate the right to be homosexual and to demand freedom from discrimination.
- Robert A. McGaw PapersRobert Armistead McGaw served on the Vanderbilt University administration staff for 31 years from 1948 to 1979. He started his career at Vanderbilt as assistant to Chancellor Harvie Branscomb in charge of publications, the first person to fill such a role at the University. In 1964 he was appointed Secretary of the University by Alexander Heard, and held that position until his retirement in 1979.
The Robert A. McGaw Papers are comprised of four series; Vanderbilt University, Designs, Writings and WWII. The papers follow closely McGaw’s career and are important to anyone interested in the history of the university. Of special note is the Design Series where McGaw assisted in re-designing the symbols of the university in the 1970s. - Women at Vanderbilt CollectionProfessor Barbara Weinstein of the History department offered course 295/2 called Women at Vanderbilt in Fall 1981: “This course is, first and foremost, a research seminar which will allow us to investigate the broader question of women and higher education in America in terms of the specific case at hand — Vanderbilt University. The research and discussions will span the entire period of Vanderbilt’s existence, beginning with the decision to become a co-educational institution, and ending with the present era of affirmative action. The objective of this course will be, not simply to reconstruct the history of women at this university, but to ascertain and analyze those historical forces which have affected the position of women at Vanderbilt, and how this relates to the changing position of women in America from 1876 to the present. The major requirement for the course was to produce a research paper using primary source materials from the Vanderbilt archives with the results being the thirteen papers which make up this collection.
- 10² Years: A Story of the First Century of Vanderbilt University School of Engineering, 1875-1975 byCall Number: T171 .V38 J3 1975Publication Date: 1975
- 113 is a Prime Number: a supplement to 10² years : outlining the history of the Vanderbilt University School of Engineering through 1988 byCall Number: T171 .V38 J32 1988Publication Date: 1988
- The DomeCall Number: LH1.V25 D664Publication Date: 1988Published by students of Vanderbilt University with the assistance of the Bishop Joseph Johnson Black Cultural Center.
- Impact Magazine byCall Number: LD5591 .I46Publication Date: 1964-1996Impact is a student sponsored weekend symposium on topics of current significance. Major public leaders are invited to participate in lectures, discussion groups, and dinner meetings. Impact is usually held in the spring of each year, and invitations are extended to the University and Nashville community and to other colleges and universities.
- Impact at Vanderbilt, 1964-1969Impact at Vanderbilt 1964-1969 offers print and video resources documenting the IMPACT Symposium's early years at Vanderbilt. Speakers respresented in this online exhibit include martin Luther King, Jr.; Stokely Carmichael; Bobby Kennedy; and Tran Van Dinh.
- The Orbis byCall Number: LH1.V25 O735Publication Date: 2001-2012Orbis serves as a special interest newspaper for the Vanderbilt Community. The publication offers liberal, multicultural, and minority viewpoints to the Vanderbilt Community. It also serves as a forum for the discussion of social, political, and religious commentary.
Digital copies available for 2006-2010: https://ir.vanderbilt.edu/handle/1803/786/browse?type=dateissued. - Purely Academic: An Autobiography byCall Number: LA2317 .B7 A3Publication Date: c1978Harvie Branscomb served as Vanderbilt University's fourth chancellor from 1946 to 1963. Originally written for his family, this autobiography provides a behind the scenes look at his administration.
- Vanderbilt HustlerCall Number: MiFilm 3111Publication Date: 1888-presentVarious issues 2006-2013 are available in the Institutional Repository: https://ir.vanderbilt.edu/handle/1803/665/browse?type=dateissued.
For recent issues, visit the Vanderbilt Hustler web site: https://vanderbilthustler.com/. - Vanderbilt Undergraduate Review byCall Number: LH1.V25 V355Publication Date: 1978-1986The Vanderbil Undergraduate Review is an annual publication begun in 1978. Its purpose was to "circulate ideas that students have expressed in academic papers . . .The subject matter, style, and theory of the papers reflect how students in various fields are writing and thinking." The Review published papers by undergraduates on any academic subject. The publication ended in 1986.
- Women's VU byCall Number: LH1.V25 W664Publication Date: 1978-1992A publication by and about women at Vanderbilt University.
- Tennessean (1812-2002) This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of Nashville's main daily newspaper.
- Tennessean (2002-present) This link opens in a new windowNashville's local and regional newspaper: The Tennessean.
Secondary Sources
- The Costs of University Teaching: A Case Study of Vanderbilt University, 1953-1970 byCall Number: HB33 .V3512 U245Publication Date: 1971Thesis--(Ph.D. in Economics).
Special Collections offsite storage.
Central Library Vanderbilt Author's Room 418A. - History of the Owen School: From Its Early Origins to 1984 byCall Number: HF1134 .V36 B444 1985Publication Date: 1985
- The Spire byCall Number: LH1.V25 V353Publication Date: 1975-presentView issues 2000-2019: https://divinity.vanderbilt.edu/publications/.
Toxic Ivory Towers: The Consequences of Work Stress on Underrepresented Minority Faculty by Call Number: LB1778.2 .Z35 2018ISBN: 9780813592985Publication Date: 2018-08-06Toxic Ivory Towers seeks to document the professional work experiences of underrepresented minority (URM) faculty in U.S. higher education, and simultaneously address the social and economic inequalities in their life course trajectory. Ruth Enid Zambrana finds that despite the changing demographics of the nation, the percentages of Black and Hispanic faculty have increased only slightly, while the percentages obtaining tenure and earning promotion to full professor have remained relatively stagnant. Toxic Ivory Towers is the first book to take a look at the institutional factors impacting the ability of URM faculty to be successful at their jobs, and to flourish in academia. The book captures not only how various dimensions of identity inequality are expressed in the academy and how these social statuses influence the health and well-being of URM faculty, but also how institutional policies and practices can be used to transform the culture of an institution to increase rates of retention and promotion so URM faculty can thrive.- Vanderbilt Business byCall Number: HD28 .O845Publication Date: 1979-2019Earlier titles: Synector, Owen Manager, Manager.
View select issues online: https://digitalcollections.library.vanderbilt.edu/islandora/object/owenmanager%3Aroot. 
The Vanderbilt Campus by Call Number: LD5588 .M33ISBN: 0826512100Publication Date: 1979-12-01A pictorial survey of the Vanderbilt campus from 1873 up to 1978. There are 25 brief essays on aspects of the campus, an alphabetical list and identification of persons for whom buildings are named, and a chronological list of buildings with their principal architects.
Vanderbilt Divinity School: Education, Contest, and Change by Call Number: BV4070 .V36 J646 2001ISBN: 9780826513861Publication Date: 2002-02-27The Vanderbilt Divinity School is one of only four university-based interdenominational institutions in the United States, and the only one in the South. Its history provides a distinct vantage point for viewing what has occurred in theological education since the latter part of the nineteenth century. This book explores the school's history in terms of four main themes: engagement with southern culture, the transition from an institution of the church (Methodist) to an independent and interdenominational school with a liberal Protestant orientation; the development of the modern research university, evident in the establishment of a graduate program in religion in addition to its program for the profession of ministry; and conflict which has played an important part in shaping the history of the school, from struggles over institutional control to national issues of social justice.- Vanderbilt Engineer byCall Number: LH1.V25 V354Publication Date: 1959-2012Earlier title: Vanderbilt Engineering (1959-1980).. Later title: Solutions (2012-present).
View issues online: https://engineering.vanderbilt.edu/publications.php#Magazines 
Vanderbilt Law School by Call Number: 9780826515827ISBN: 9780826515827Publication Date: 2008-02-08The Law Department was one of two departments that opened for classes in the fall of 1874 in the newly-founded Vanderbilt University. The operation of the institution in the nineteenth century was governed by a quasi-proprietary model, which was abandoned in 1900, when the University made the school a more integral part of the academic enterprise. The first half of the twentieth century was a struggle for survival. The School faced a number of obstacles, including the educational and cultural headwinds that all Southern educational institutions faced, limited resources, and a University hesitant to embrace national trends in legal education. These realities resulted in the School's expulsion from the Association of American Law Schools in 1926. A renaissance of sorts began under Dean Earl C. Arnold a few years later, but was ultimately snuffed out by the Great Depression and then the onset of World War II. The Law School's doors were closed in 1944. Vanderbilt Law School reopened in 1946, and John W. Wade's twenty-year deanship, beginning in 1952, set the School on a new path. Vanderbilt became the first integrated Southern private law school in 1956, as part of a broader movement to diversify its faculty and student body. This history is based on interviews and extensive archival research in personal papers, reports, Board of Trust and faculty meeting minutes.- Vanderbilt School of Nursing: Celebrating One Hundred Years 1908-2008ISBN: 9781596524941Publication Date: 2008Biomedical Library shelved by title.
Special Collections Library reference. - Women at Vanderbilt : Report of the Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of Women byCall Number: HQ1439.N2 V3Publication Date: 1976
