Research Guides: BUSA 3200: Advanced Marketing: Demographics

Databases: Demographics

Once you understand the market, and the target consumer, you can use demographic databases and tools to find geographic locations that will best support new retail units. The following databases allow you to find socioeconomic demographic and psychographic data by local geographic area (MSA: Metropolitan Statistical Area; state; county; zip code, etc.)

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Geographically customized demographic data reports and maps. Identify patterns and trends regarding household expenditures, market penetration and location of goods and services.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access to this resource, both on and off-campus.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Dynamically compare and manipulate statistical data to create tables, maps, and figures.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical census data and demographic information: US Census, American Community Survey, religious membership, carbon emissions data, etc. Customizable maps, charts, and reports.
User Limit: 3.

Websites: Demographics

State and County Quick Facts
Quickly access facts about U.S. people, business & geography broken down by county and state.
The American Customer Satisfaction Index
Tracks customer satisfaction with 200+ companies, 43 industries, and 10 economic sectors.
U.S. County Business Patterns
This annual series includes a separate report for each State, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and a U.S. summary, along with information pertaining to individual divisions of the economy.

Nashville Business Websites

Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce
Includes information on the local business environment, relocation, tourism, education, etc.
Nashville Convention and Visitors Bureau
Includes visitor information as well as statistics on the Nashville hospitality and music industries.
Nashville Health Care Council
Association of health care industry leaders working together to further establish Nashville’s position as the nation’s health care industry capital.
Nashville Area Workforce Study
Workforce and labor opportunities study compiled by the Nashville region’s three Workforce Investment Boards & the TN Dept of Labor & Workforce Development in partnership with the Nashville Chamber of Commerce.
Nashville Downtown Association
Includes Residential Report & Survey Results and Employee Survey Annual Report.
The Plan of Nashville
A 2 1/2 year project to develop a community-based vision and design principles for metropolitan Nashville's urban core. Includes neighborhood studies & case studies.

Nashville Government Resources

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County home page
Livable Nashville
Collaboration between various government entities and residents to explore how Nashville can best prepare for the changing demographic makeup of the city and better meet the needs of all citizens from birth to retirement.
NashvilleNext
Ongoing, integrated plan for Nashville's future. Areas covered include art and culture, economic development, education,environment, transportation, diversity, livable communities, public safety and more.
Nashville Planning Department Resources
Includes general, community & neighborhood planning documents as well as transportation, parks, greenways, etc.