LAW 9134 - Renewable Power Seminar: General Primary and Secondary Sources (LEGAL)

Researchers can search across all the federal government, D.C., and all fifty states for cases related to a selected topic. Simply choose your Practice Area (in this case, most likely Energy and Environment), select your limits, and run your search terms.

Researchers can search across federal, D.C., and all fifty states for cases related to their topic. Simply select the Browse option from the Lexis Advance homepage, choose "sources," and select Practice Areas. For this course, Energy & Utilities Law will probably be the best selection. Then run a search and select limits as preferred.

Researchers can search across federal, D.C. and state sources related to a selected topic. Simply choose your Practice Center (in this case, most likely Environmental and Safety), select your limits, and run a search.

Documents from law reviews, texts, CLE course materials, bar journals, and legal practice-oriented periodicals that relate to the regulation of the private energy industry and public energy-providing utilities. Coverage varies by publication.

Selected Documents from ABA Environment, Energy, and Resources Law: The Year in Review, published by the Section of Environmental Law, Energy Law and Resources Law of the American Bar Association. Coverage begins with 2001.

This database contains substantive documents that have appeared in the Energy Law Journal. The Energy Law Journal is published by Federal Energy Bar Association and the National Energy Law & Policy Institute.

This database contains substantive, full-text articles that have appeared in the Renewable Energy Law and Policy Review.

West's Federal Administrative Practice provides practical guidance and assistance in handling matters before Federal departments and administrative agencies.

Part 8 is all about Energy. Chapter 49 of Part 8 deals specifically with federal government organizations that deal with energy issues. Each section of this treatise provides great background into particular agencies and citations to the statutes they implement.

Energy Law and Transactions covers the energy industry, all traditional energy sources, such as oil, gas, electricity, and coal, as well as nontraditional energy technologies and sources, such as hydroelectricity, solar, nuclear, biomass, and cogeneration.
Energy Law and Transactions is reference resource for anyone interested in knowing the legal and business-related aspects of energy transactions.

Established in 1995, DSIRE is currently operated and funded by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University, with support from the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. DSIRE is funded in part by the U.S. Department of Energy.

ACORE, a 501(c)(3) non-profit membership organization, is dedicated to building a secure and prosperous America with clean, renewable energy. ACORE provides a common educational platform for a wide range of interests in the renewable energy community, focusing on technology, finance, policy and market development. We convene thought leadership forums and create energy industry partnerships to communicate the economic, security and environmental benefits of renewable energy.

The RAP is a global, non-profit team of experts focused on the long-term economic and environmental sustainability of the power and natural gas sectors, providing assistance to government officials on a broad range of energy and environmental issues.

United States Code Annotated has all 51 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more. For this class, the following sections are most relevant:
Title 15. Commerce and Trade
Title 16. Conservation
Title 30. Mineral Lands and Mining
Title 42. The Public Health and Welfare
Title 43. Public Lands

This file contains selected energy and utility-related Titles of the United
States Code from the United States Code Service. The titles are:
Title 15. Commerce and Trade
Title 16. Conservation
Title 30. Mineral Lands and Mining
Title 42. The Public Health and Welfare
Title 43. Public Lands

GovTrack.us organizes legislation from the current session of Congress by subject. This link takes you to all energy-related legislation, but it can be further refined by subtopics.

Listed under the "Energy and Natural Resources" heading in CCH, this gives the full text of EPAct 2005 with CCH explanations, amended federal laws, FERC regulations and rulemaking orders and other agency releases related to the 2005 law.

Code of Federal Regulations contains all 50 titles and incorporates recent changes that appear in the Federal Register. This particular section relates to regulation of energy by the federal government.

Use this service to search across a broad spectrum of federal laws, rules, and agency documents. Users can also search law firm memos and other industry documents.

This file contains energy-related selected titles from the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR). The CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules
and regulations published originally in the Federal Register by executive
departments and agencies of the federal government. The titles are:
Title 7. Agriculture
Title 10. Energy
Title 15. Commerce and Foreign Trade
Title 17. Commodity and Security Exchanges
Title 18. Conservation of Power and Water Resources
Title 30. Mineral Resources
Title 43. Public Lands, Interior

This file contains energy related documents from the Federal Register, such as documents issued by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), Nuclear
Regulatory Commission (NRC), and the Department of Energy (DOE).
The Federal Register (FR) is the official vehicle for making the regulations and legal notices issued by the federal agencies and departments available to
the public. These include federal agency documents, such as regulations (proposed, temporary, amended and final) having general applicability and legal affect, documents required to be published by act of Congress, federal agency documents of public interest, meeting notices, and Presidential proclamations and executive orders.

Full-text articles, case reviews, summaries, and filings from Public Utilities Fortnightly, a biweekly magazine for utility management.

Wires with Reuters contains documents from wire services, as provided by NewsRoom to West, a Thomson Reuters business. A document is an article, column, letter, or other section of text. Graphic material is not available online.

Environment & Energy Daily (E&E Daily) is the leading source of information for people who track environmental and energy action in Congress. From clean air legislation to public lands policy, E&E Daily brings readers the most comprehensive, objective, original coverage of Congress.

Energy News with Reuters contains news and information about energy, including information from newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, radio and television transcripts, and wires. Coverage varies by source.

This category page contains selected full text documents from Renewable Energy Report, as provided by NewsRoom to West, a Thomson Reuters business. A document is an article, column, letter, or other section of text. Graphic material is not available online.
Renewable Energy Report covers news, analysis, features, finance, technology, trends and marketing for the global renewable energy industry.

This category page contains full text documents from Clean Energy Report, as provided by NewsRoom to West, a Thomson Reuters business. A document is an article, column, letter, or other section of text. Graphic material is not available online.
Clean Energy Report provides reports on environmental policies shaping the low-carbon energy debate.

This category page contains selected full text documents from Inside Energy/with Federal Lands, as provided by NewsRoom to West, a Thomson Reuters business. A document is an article, column, letter, or other section of text. Graphic material is not available online.
Inside Energy/with Federal Lands examines federal energy policy, especially as it relates to the U.S. Departments of Energy and the Interior.

This resource offers in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.

The E&E News PM contains a roundup of all the breaking and developing energy and environmental policy news from Capitol Hill, around the country and around the world.

Covering the most important and rapidly emerging issues today, this collection of articles provides expert guidance written by attorneys practicing in the field. The commentaries examine a wide range of recent cases, regulations, trends, and developments. These accounts cover national, state and international issues and provide expert insight in important areas and legal developments.

RenewableEnergyWorld.com was started in 1998 by a group of Renewable Energy professionals who wanted their work to relate to their passion for renewable energy.
This publication provides access to:
-Daily Renewable Energy News
-Renewable Energy Products
-Renewable Energy Technology Overview
-Comprehensive Renewable Energy Events Calendar
-Extensive Renewable Energy Job Opportunities
-Comprehensive Internet Brand Building For Your Renewable Energy Business

Law360 is a legal news source that covers major litigation in U.S. federal courts, the world's 2,000 top companies, and every major development in class actions and multidistrict litigation. It also provides daily topical e-mail newsletters as well as key documents underlying reported litigation.