It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The activities of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (Commission) are organized under industry/program areas.
Liquified Natural Gas
FERC e-FOIA Reading Room Materials: Resources that were the basis of a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request that have been posted on the agency's web site to eliminate filling duplicate requests.
Books about the FERC
FERC : Federal Energy Regulatory Commission by James H. McGrew
Publication Date: 2010-06-16
This is a practical guide to the policies, regulation, and procedures of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. The agency is increasing in prominence, and more lawyers are encountering FERC issues in their practice, including in matters involving deregulation and restructuring. Topics include the agency's structure and applicable statutes; rules of practice and procedure; accounting, reporting, and filing requirements; regulation of public utilities, hydroelectric projects, and oil pipelines; ratemaking; the Federal Power Act; and enforcement.
Westlaw & Lexis Resources
Many of the resources below are also available on Lexis Advance (the links currently take you to Westlaw). Once you add the Energy & Natural Resources Tab, and explore the federal administrative materials, these same primary sources are also available.
This database contains selected letters to and from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) General Counsel. A document is a letter to FERC with FERC'S response. Occasionally, only the request letter to FERC or the General Counsel's response is available.
The FERC Internet Library (CCH) provides comprehensive coverage of subject matter regulated by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission including public utilities, natural gas, hydroelectric power, coal, oil, and related environmental topics.
This database contains documents released by the FERC and its predecessor agency, the Federal Power Commission (FPC). A document is an adjudicative decision reached by the FERC or FPC, or by an FERC or FPC Administrative Law Judge, and may be the formal conclusion of an adversarial hearing, a report, an order, a notice, or other materials selected by the FERC or FPC.
This database contains the complete text of the FERC Practice and Procedure Manual by the Thompson Publishing Group, Inc. The manual covers the complete and current text to every rule, and preamble excerpts and digests of orders and decisions. A document is a paragraph of the manual and/or introductory and postscript material.
Laws, regulations and forms broken down by Act, Standards of Conduct, Delegation Orders, Regulations Preambles, Proposed Regulations, Notices, Related Programs, Accounts and Accounting Issues. Monthly updates.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.