A Utilities commission, Utility Regulatory Commission (URC), Public Utilities Commission (PUC) or Public Service Commission (PSC) is a governing body that regulates the rates and services of a public utility. In some cases, government bodies with the title "Public Service Commission" may be civil service oversight bodies, rather than utilities regulators.
The utility that is being regulated may be owned by the consumers that it serves, a mutual utility like a Public Utility District, a state-owned utility, or it may be a stockholder owned utility either publicly traded on a stock exchange or closely held among just a few investors.
National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
- National Association of Regulatory Utility CommissionersFounded in 1889, the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to representing the State public service commissions who regulate the utilities that provide essential services such as energy, telecommunications, water, and transportation.
NARUC's members include all fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Most State commissioners are appointed to their positions by their Governor or Legislature, while commissioners in 13 States are elected.
Lexis Advance Resources
- LexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Legislation & RegulationsLexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations provide instant comparison of states' treatment of topical issues, linked to governing provisions on Lexis and prefaced by an examination of federal context and state themes.
- Federal Public Utilities ReportsPublic Utilities Reports is the standard for national case reporting of court and commission decisions. PUR brings you full-text coverage of important and precedent-setting decisions by state public utility commission, as well as related court decisions, covering the fields of electricity, natural gas, telecommunications and water.
- Accounting for Public UtilitiesAccounting for Public Utilities is a must-have for anyone involved in utility accounting, finance, ratemaking and deregulation. This publication brings into focus all the special types of accounting rules, situations, and adaptations that are essential in this highly specialized industry. Provides discussion of ratemaking concepts, including styles of ratemaking; determining utility rate base, cost allocations and normalization, analysis of regulatory accounting and reporting requirements; explanation of accounting for taxes, public utility regulation, management accounting systems, pricing, and depreciation.
Westlaw Next Resources
- Public Utiltities FortnightlyFull-text articles, case reviews, summaries, and filings from Public Utilities Fortnightly.
Also available in Proquest and Academic OneFile. Search the Library Catalog catalog for additional Vanderbilt holdings. - Public Utilities Commission DecisionsPublic Utilities Commission decisions has full-text administrative decisions obtained directly from public service commissions as well as cases from state and federal courts that have appeared in West's National Reporter System. Also includes selected Canadian decisions.
- Practitioner Insights for Energy and EnvironmentWestlawNext provides a one-stop page for popular energy and environment news and analysis.Includes documents prepared by the West editorial staff that summarize recent developments in the law affecting energy and utilities.
