From Vanderbilt's Collection
The Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education by
This authoritative, state-of-the-art Handbook provides an authoritative overview of issues within sexuality education, coupled with ground-breaking discussion of emerging and unconventional insights in the field. With 32 contributions from 12 countries it definitively traces the landscape of issues, theories and practices in sexuality education globally. These rich and multidisciplinary essays are written by renowned critical sexualities studies experts and rising stars in this area and grouped under four main areas: Global Assemblages of Sexuality Education Sexualities Education in Schools Sexual Cultures, Entertainment Media and Communication Technologies Re-animating What Else Sexuality Education Research Can Do, Be and Become Importantly, this Handbook does not equate sexuality education with safer sex education nor understand this subject as confined to school based programmes. Instead, sexuality education is understood more broadly and to occur in spaces as diverse as community settings and entertainment media, and via communication technologies. It is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for academics, students and researchers of sexuality education that both demarcates the field and stimulates critical discussion of its edges. Chapter 2 is available open access under a CC BY 4.0 license via link.springer.com.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781137400338Publication Date: 2016-07-24
Sex Education by
Sex Education: Global Perspectives, Effective Programs, and Socio-Cultural Challenges presents a comprehensive and cohesive overview of sexuality education, including frameworks, challenges, and contexts that should be considered by developers of sexuality education programs. This book is divided into three sections: 1) "Global Perspectives on Sexual Issues"; 2) "Effective Programs"; and 3) "Research on Sociocultural Challenges". The first section addresses a human rights point of view as a central and sensitive challenge to sex education and refers to the fact that the Western and Eastern countries of the European Union, Latin American, and the world as a whole need access to quality sex education with an impact on love, care, and respect of adolescents and young people. The second part of the book provides an overview of the status of sexual education programs based on Denmark, Ireland, and Mexico. In countries with fully developed comprehensive SE programs, authors show how teenage birth rates tend to be lower compared with countries in which SE is virtually absent. The last part of the book addresses three studies that show the importance of some sociocultural challenges that educators in sexuality may face when working with a vulnerable population such as women and men who have sex with men. (Nova)
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781536131284Publication Date: 2018
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
To get a sense of what we might have on the topic of sexuality education, try a "SUBJECT" search in Library Catalog using one of the sample Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
- Sex instruction for youth
- Sex instruction United States Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Sexual abstinence study and teaching
- Teenage pregnancy prevention
Organizations
- Advocates For YouthEstablished in 1980 as the Center for Population Options, Advocates for Youth champions efforts to help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates believes it can best serve the field by boldly advocating for a more positive and realistic approach to adolescent sexual health. Very intersectional issues are incorporated into their work
- Power To Decide"We work to ensure that all young people—no matter who they are, where they live, or what their economic status might be—have the power to decide if, when, and under what circumstances to get pregnant and have a child. We do this by increasing information, access, and opportunity. "
Provides data and sources of data - Planned ParenthoodThe Planned Parenthood Federation was founded by Margaret Sanger, a pioneer of the American birth control movement. Their position is that "abstinence-only programs are inadequate to ensure sexual health." To that end they provide comprehensive education on sexuality and reproductive health to more than 1.3 million clients, according to their figures. Their website Teenwire.com is their source for sexuality and relationship information for teens.
Excellent educational resources on a variety of sexuality topics - Sexuality Information and Education Council of the U.S.SIECUS is a source for print and electronic resources on sexuality education, sexual health, and sexual rights. SIECUS offers assistance to educators, advocates, parents, researchers, physicians, and others working to expand sexual health programs, policies, and understanding.
Most comprehensive coverage of sexuality education issues for the United States; state profiles; resources for schools & home schooling
Multiple Viewpoints
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OV or OVIC) This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowEssays that present multiple sides of a current issue, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. Contains: political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.
Teen & Youth Oriented Resources
- BISH (UK)"A guide to sex, love and you.
For everyone over 14."
Excellent sex and relationship advice site. Very inclusive. - Scarleteen: Sex Ed for the Real WorldAn independent, grassroots sexuality education and support organization and website. Founded in 1998, Scarleteen.com is visited by around three-quarters of a million diverse people each month worldwide, most between the ages of 15 and 25.
- SEX, ETC.SEX, ETC. is a national newsletter and website written by teens, for teens, on teen sexual health issues. SEX, ETC. is developed by the Network for Family Life Education, an organization that supports balanced, comprehensive sexuality education.
- SexInfo Onlinea website devoted to comprehensive sex education based on the best research we have to date. The site is maintained by university students from the University of California, Santa Barbara who have studied advanced topics in human sexuality.
