It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women Against Abortion by Karissa HaugebergWomen from remarkably diverse religious, social, and political backgrounds made up the rank-and-file of anti-abortion activism. Empowered by--yet in many cases scared of--the changes wrought by feminism, they founded grassroots groups, developed now-familiar strategies and tactics, and gave voice to the movement's moral and political dimensions. Drawing on oral histories and interviews with prominent figures, Karissa Haugeberg examines American women 's fight against abortion. Beginning in the 1960s, she looks at Marjory Mecklenburg's attempt to shift the attention of anti-abortion leaders from the rights of fetuses to the needs of pregnant women. Moving forward she traces the grassroots work of Catholic women, including Juli Loesch and Joan Andrews, and their encounters with the influx of evangelicals into the movement. She also looks at the activism of evangelical Protestant Shelley Shannon, a prominent pro-life extremist of the 1990s. Throughout, Haugeberg explores important questions such as the ways people fused religious conviction with partisan politics, activists' rationalizations for lethal violence, and how women claimed space within an unshakably patriarchal movement.
Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States by Louis J. Palmer; Xueyan Z. Palmer; Louis J. PalmerThis now revised and updated acclaimed encyclopedia, comprehensively covers abortion from the founding of the nation to the present day. Since the publication of the first edition in 2002, the Supreme Court has issued a number of important opinions on abortion, such as the approval of a federal ban on partial-birth abortion in Gonzales v. Carhart. Along with new entries on these events, the second edition is also enhanced by many photographs, charts and graphs.Arranged alphabetically, the entries address the many political, legal, social, religious, and medical issues associated with abortion. The roles of the Supreme Court and other judicial and legislative bodies are covered in great detail, through entries which focus on the 'voting' position taken by every Supreme Court Justice who has ever participated in an abortion decision, entries which cover the actual abortion laws of each state, and entries which summarize individual statutes to help nonspecialist readers understand the laws.Several entries focus on the social, religious, or moral arguments surrounding abortion, including entries which identify and describe the leading pro-life or pro-choice abortion organizations across the nation and entries which summarize the major lawful or unlawful activities that have occurred in support or protest of abortion. Medical issues related to abortion are also covered, in entries devoted to such topics as modern contraceptive devices, different methods of abortion, the gestational development of the human fetus, embryonic cloning, assisted reproductive technology, surrogacy, and embryonic/fetal stem cell research.
The National Abortion Federation (NAF) is the professional association of abortion providers in North America. We believe that women should be trusted to make private medical decisions in consultation with their health care providers. NAF currently offers quality training and services to abortion providers and unbiased information and referral services to women.
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
Essays that present multiple sides of a current issue, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. Contains: political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.
"The Global Abortion Policies Database is designed to strengthen global efforts to eliminate unsafe abortion by producing an interactive open-access database and repository of current abortion laws, policies, and national standards and guidelines."
"ChoiceatRisk.org is an online collection of resources created to support efforts to protect women's reproductive choices and abortion rights." Provides access to a films, shorts and clips, all in English and Spanish.
"A GLOBAL VIEW OF ABORTION RIGHTS
Since 1998, the Center for Reproductive Rights has produced The World's Abortion Laws map to visually compare the legal status of induced abortion in different countries"
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
To get a sense of what we might have on the topic of abortion, try a "SUBJECT begins with" search in Library Catalog using one of
the sample Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.