Reference Books
Here are just a few reference sources you may find helpful.
The Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality and Gender by
The Palgrave Handbook of the Psychology of Sexuality and Gender combines cutting edge research to provide a thorough overview of all the normative - and many of the less common - sexualities, genders and relationship forms alongside psychological and intersectional areas relating to sexuality and gender.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1349466719Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies by
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Edited by a first rate team of geographically diverse scholars drawn from disciplines across the social sciences and humanities with international reputations in the field Entries are written in an approachable and accessible manner and include a short bibliography and a list of cross-references Unique in its interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, economics, literary studies, politics, history, and psychology as well as the fields of women's, gender and sexuality studies Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist activism, regional and national diversity, international context, social policy, economics, non-governmental organizations and key term 5 Volumes www.genderandsexualityencyclopedia.com
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781405196949Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Article Indexes and Databases for Sexuality Research
Trying to determine which database is best for your area of sexuality research can sometimes prove to be the most difficult part of the research process. Here is a selection of databases which have been found to have excellent interdisciplinary coverage of topics related to sexuality research.
Note: These databases are available through a Vanderbilt Libraries' subscription. If you are not a current Vanderbilt student, faculty or staff member, you should consult with your local library for comparable databases.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new windowFreely available journal literature in the life sciences from the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
- Web of Science Core Collection: Citation Indexes This link opens in a new windowMajor journals across science disciplines. Complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Each citation includes a list of references cited in the source article.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
Finding more articles
Sexuality research takes place in many disciplines with researchers from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities contributing to the field.
Therefore you could potentially find information on sexuality research in any article database/search engine.
For example if you are interested in sexual health issues you would want to use a health/medical database such as PubMed. If you were studying sexuality across cultures you would probably want to search an Anthropology database such as Anthrosource.
Librarians at Vanderbilt have designated key databases for a variety of fields of study. To get started, go to Find articles & databases and choose the subject that is closest to the area of your research topic.
