Research Guides: Resources for Law Student Research Assistants: Law &amp; Other University Databases

Although you are already familiar with Westlaw and Lexis, the law library offers dozens of other legal databases that offer both primary source and secondary source material that is not available in Westlaw or Lexis. A full list of databases offering legal content is available at the Law Databases A-Z web page, where you can browse databases by title, or search their descriptions to identify relevant resources. We have highlighted a few valuable databases below; consult your librarian to determine which databases are more suitable for your assignment.

NOTE: To access most law databases while off campus, begin with Law Databases A-Z. Select your database, and you will be prompted to enter to your VUNet ID and password to authenticate.

Law Databases A-Z

Non-Law Databases

As a Vanderbilt student, you can access not just resources offering significant legal coverage, but most of the nearly 800 databases available to the broader Vanderbilt community. To locate databases containing content in other disciplines that may be relevant to your research, consult the full list of university databases and browse by subject, or search the database descriptions using the search bar to the upper-right side of the page. A librarian can also assist you in locating potentially relevant resources.

Select Law Databases

Bloomberg Law (Off-campus access restricted to Law users) This link opens in a new window
Legal content, company and market information, proprietary news, and Bloomberg BNA content that migrated to the Bloomberg Law platform. Includes dockets from PACER. Users will not have access to the “download center” or be able to customize items, including news alerts. They will also not be able to request new dockets, but will be able to see existing dockets already on the system. On-campus access is available to all VU faculty, staff, and students. Off-campus access is available to law users only via username and password. For registration assistance, contact a law reference librarian.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Publications created by the United States Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
Quick Start Guide: http://proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/login?url=http://proquest.libguides.com/quick_start_legislative_insight
ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
United States federal administrative law histories organized by federal statute and executive order.
Vendor Tutorial: http://proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/login?url=http://proquest.libguides.com/reginsight
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of full opinions from U.S. Supreme Court argued cases, plus dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Cheetah, this database contains tax and accounting information in all areas. Also contains tools and smart charts.
Vendor Tutorial: http://proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/login?url=https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/legal-regulatory/training-support/vitallaw-training
Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new window
International commercial arbitration research. Expert commentary and primary source materials. Includes case law, commentary, conventions, legislation and rules. Investment Arbitration section. First-time users must register for a Kluwer account with their @vanderbilt.edu email.