- Tennessee Geographic Data Clearinghouse: contains data pertaining to administrative and cadastral, elevation, environmental, imagery, infrastructure, land use and land cover, maps, people, recreation, weather, and more.
- TennesseView: data hosted by the University of Tennessee, Knoxville GIS Lab including Tennessee and local and regional sources.
- University of Tennessee, Knoxville Tennessee GIS Data Research Guide: features extensive lists of data sources and breaks down resources by topic.
- IPUMS: provides census and survey data across time and space. There are several data products from IPUMS that make downloading and working with U.S. Census data more straight forward.
- Data.gov Archive: an archive of Data.gov, U.S. government's open data portal, offering a wide range of datasets from federal agencies. The archive of Data.gov was created by the Harvard University Library Innovation Lab and Law School Library as a part of their project to preserve U.S. federal public data. It include 16 terabytes of data harvested during 2024 and 2025 and is being updated daily. Please see note for more information on data sources from the U.S. government.
- The National Map: platform provided by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) that offers topographic maps and geospatial data for the U.S.
- NOAA Maps and Geospatial Products: the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) provides maps and geospatial products related to weather, climate, oceanographic data, and more.
- National Weather Service GIS Portal: provides data and products from the National Weather Service.
- USAID Spatial Data Repository: geographically-linked health and demographic data from The DHS Program and the U.S. Census Bureau.
Please note as of 2/4/2025: Many U.S. government websites are purging datasets and prohibiting the access to information that should be available to the public. For data pertaining the CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), and the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST), this information is available on PolicyMap [access through Library Catalog]. For Census data, we recommend using IPUMS.
Additional resources:
Additional Sources from Research Guides:
- Data by County (non-US) Research Guide from MIT: includes data sources for Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Canada, China, Colombia, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and Yemen.
- Yale University Library's Guide on South Asia International Data
- University of Washington Library's Guide on GIS Data Websites, specifically International Data Resources and National Data Resources
- University of Nevada Las Vegas's Guide on National GIS Data
- University of Arizona's Guide on Geospatial Data
- University of California Berkeley Library Guide on GIS & Remote Sensing Data
