Databases with Country Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowOnce in the database, click on Country Reports on the right hand side, then on the next page search for your geography of choice.
- CultureGrams (Owen users only) This link opens in a new window
Reports on countries and territories, including every United Nations-member state. Focused on culture: language, personal appearance, greetings, family structure and more. Local experts document details of customs, traditions and daily life.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Dynamically compare and manipulate statistical data to create tables, maps, and figures.
- EIU: Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports that include political and economic data and policies. Three separate databases: Country Report, Country Profile, and CountryData.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
- IMF eLibrary - Data This link opens in a new windowInternational statistics related to domestic and international finance. International payments, rates of inflation & deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, monetary policy, interest rates, etc. Includes Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Trade and Investment, and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
- International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new windowGlobal statistical data on business, economics, environmental studies, geography, history, politics, sociology, and statistical studies.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowOnce in the database, navigate to the small grey box in the lower right labeled Country Profile and use the drop down to select your country of interest.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's books, papers and statistics, analysis and data. Includes: OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Surveys, SourceOECD Education and Skills, and the Nuclear Law Bulletin.
- Passport Euromonitor This link opens in a new windowEuromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, providing industry information, consumer statistics and analysis, historical and forecast data, consumer trends and lifestyles, articles, company profiles, and global reports.
- RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new windowOnce in the database, "click here to view archive titles" at the bottom of the page, then click on INTERNATIONAL CONSUMER MARKETS 2020-2021 in the middle of the page. This will take you to a digital pdf of that title which you can browse or use CNTL-F to find your topic of interest.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- World DataBank: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowCollection of time-series data, and global development indicators. Cross-country comparable statistics about development and people’s lives around the globe and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Top Websites for Country Information
- Business Ready (B_READY) formerly Doing Business In...Provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level. Produced by IFC (International Finance Corporation) and the World Bank.
- Global EdgeCreated by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a web-portal to specific Country and Industry risk data.
- US Department of State Background NotesInclude facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Websites for Country Analysis
- KPMGUse the drop down menu in the upper right corner to select your country of interest. White papers, analysis and industry information from KPMG.
- PricewaterhouseCoopers Global Territory sitesClick on the links on this page to go to the appropriate PWC country page. Industry information, surveys and publications from the local branches of PricewaterhouseCoopers.
- Deloitte & Touche GlobalUse the drop down menu in the top left to select your country of interest.
- The World BankFor individual countries, look by country.
- Lex Mundi Guides to Doing BusinessMore than 100 different guides gathered by an association of law firms.
- Economic Freedom of the World Annual ReportsFrom the Fraser Institute. Contains Country Data Tables & reports on World economic freedom, investment & growth.
- National Trade Estimate Reports on Foreign Trade Barriers (NTE)Surveys significant foreign barriers to U.S. exports. The reports provide quantitative estimates of the impact of these foreign practices on the value of U.S. exports. Information is also included on actions taken to eliminate barriers.
Country Risk Ratings
- A.M. BestGenerally known for Insurance Industry ratings, A.M. Best also assigns a risk rating to 59 countries.
- CofaceThis international risk and consulting firm offers free country risk ratings, assessments and reports for 152 countries
- Global Corruption ReportFrom Transparency International.
- World Economic Forum: Global Competitiveness ReportAnalysis of the business operating environment and competitiveness of over 140 economies worldwide. Identifies advantages as well as impediments to national growth.
