Information about a company can range from detailed corporate profiles to late breaking news.
Public companies are required to disclose certain types of information to be traded publicly. In addition, investment analysts follow them and write reports that appraise the company and its operations, products and services. Information on public companies is generally easy to find and widely available.
Private companies can be large (like Hallmark) making it relatively easy to find information about them. If a private company is small, newly founded or closely held, finding freely available information may be difficult. You should begin your research with the company databases, then take second steps to look at news articles about the company. If more information is needed, researching the principals in the business can be effective.
Available for members of the Owen and Law community. Financial data for public & private companies worldwide; private capital firms; M&A transactions. Financial analysis tools to generate reports: comparable analysis, market analysis, financial modeling, etc. First-time users must register for a personal account using their vanderbilt.edu email address.
Capital IQ Shortcuts: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/loader.php?type=d&id=889145
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Company financials, M&A deals, valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, etc.
PrivCo limits Excel downloads.
Private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on a wide range of companies including startups. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. Licensed for academic & curricular uses only. All accounts are reset in May of each year to ensure compliance.
Corporate financial histories (including capital changes) and operational histories for international public companies. Customizable reports on companies.
Reports that are created by analysts from investment companies containing expert industry & company information.
Source of financial and economic data, news, and information. Provides access to analyst reports and select SDC data from the M&A section. Users must register for a personal account, which will be reset each semester. It is available to authorized users from Vanderbilt University for non-commercial, academic research. View, download, and printing limit for analyst reports and pdf documents of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. Download limits for SDC data of 199 rows of excel data per day. Download limits for other types of data may apply.
These databases will allow you to download data, such as financial performance, for analysis and manipulation. Some aggregate financial and others provide industry metrics.
Available for members of the Owen and Law community. Financial data for public & private companies worldwide; private capital firms; M&A transactions. Financial analysis tools to generate reports: comparable analysis, market analysis, financial modeling, etc. First-time users must register for a personal account using their vanderbilt.edu email address.
Capital IQ Shortcuts: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/loader.php?type=d&id=889145
Corporate financial histories (including capital changes) and operational histories for international public companies. Customizable reports on companies.
Conduct financial statement analysis, financial accounting and auditing using SEC (Security and Exchange Commission) XBRL data. Analyze financial data for public companies with an interactive data platform. Understand competitor financials, identify potential risks to firms, analyze trends across industry sectors.
Login allows access the databases customization features. Registration requires a valid Vanderbilt email address.
Article searches are important for locating current news, hot topics, trends, and developments.
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.
Databases are quick places to find competitor lists. Other ways to identify competitors are through articles, market research reports, 10Ks, annual and analyst reports.
Information about corporate and industry operations can be found in many of the resources already covered. These particular databases have a specific focus on operations:
Using the company's website will give you some background or information about their business. Often local newspapers can be a great source of information: Use the library database Factiva for a start. To find other types of information, try these sites:
