Law Library 101: 1L Study Aids Guide

An introduction to the law library, designed to help new Vanderbilt students succeed in their use of the law library and to succeed in law school study.

This page offers a variety of print and audio resources that can be helpful as you prepare for your first year substantive courses. The selected materials are meant to supplement your course readings, not to replace them. Additionally, this is not an exhaustive list of available treatises and study aids. Please search the library catalog for more resources.

Study Aids Guide

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.

The following selected resources are available through West Academic, a database that includes electronic versions of Nutshells, Gilbert's Summaries, Black Letter Outlines, Concise Hornbooks, and other study aid publications related to courses taught in the Law School. These selected materials are not an exhaustive list of what is available to you through West Academic.