Getting Fulltext - Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
Fulltext Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windowBooks and dissertations of archaeological traditions from around the world. Each file on an archaeological tradition consists of a general summary and full-text sources including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowBooks, articles, and dissertations covering all aspects of cultural and social life: religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, economic and political behavior. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The following is a selection of primary databases available for Anthropology. Click on the More Database Options below for additional databases in Anthropology and other disciplines.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowArchive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new windowBibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America: archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Includes bibliographic citations to books, articles, essays, festschrifts, dissertations, obituaries, films, newspapers, etc. Book reviews are omitted.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of international publications, including over 100 languages and countries. Indexes journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters.
- More Database OptionsFor additional database options visit the Databases page. Select Anthropology for a complete list of available databases for Anthropology. Additional useful databases may be listed under Latin American Studies.
General Database
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowProvides abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed journals in the subject fields of life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
Popular or Scholarly??
Need help determining if the article you are looking at is considered 'scholarly'?
View this award winning online tutorial (it's about 3 min. long...but may easily save you hours of time when you start your research!)
