Available in Print
American Philosophy: An EncyclopediaCall Number: Central Library Reference ARMSTD-4FL: B850 .A43 2008ISBN: 0415939267
Historisches Wörterbuch der PhilosophieCall Number: Central Library Reference ARMSTD-4FL: B43 .R58ISBN: 379650695X
Available Online
The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Available Online via Blackwell ReferenceISBN: 0631219072
A Companion to Continental Philosophy by Call Number: Available Online via Blackwell ReferenceISBN: 0631190139
Why Should I Start With These Resources?
Good question -- here are a few reasons:
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key players in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Online Resources
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowArticles on African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; etc. Includes biographies.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on individual philosophers and concepts, and survey articles on major philosophical themes. Includes non-Western traditions.
- Dictionary of Philosophy of MindThis dictionary is intended as a free resource for all those interested in the philosophy of mind.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, 2nd ed.The four-volume set includes detailed investigations of historical and theoretical material including topics from the award-winning first edition published in 1998, plus topics on issues that were not or only just barely on the horizon. In addition to the areas in which particular issues arise, it is still essential for those engaged in applied ethics to reflect on what is being 'applied.' The work includes a number of articles on ethical and philosophical approaches, historical and contemporary, religious and secular.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyExamines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Encyclopedia of the MindIn addition to its traditional investigation by the disciplines of psychology, psychiatry, and neuroscience, the mind has also been a focus of study in the fields of philosophy, economics, anthropology, linguistics, computer science, molecular biology, education, and literature. In all these approaches, there is an almost universal fascination with how the mind works and how it affects our lives and our behavior. Studies of the mind and brain have crossed many exciting thresholds in recent years, and the study of mind now represents a thoroughly cross-disciplinary effort. Researchers from a wide range of disciplines seek answers to such questions as: What is mind? How does it operate? What is consciousness?
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowJournals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Find philosophy content listed under Humanities.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)The IEP was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,” largely from older sources, and identifiable by the inclusion of the initials "IEP" at the close.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowHistorical survey of critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Concentrates heavily on modern criticism and theoretical research.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSelect Philosophy or Religion to see relevant reference sources from Oxford University Press
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
