Popular Career Resources
- Vault (Business) This link opens in a new windowIndustry and career guides, including employer profiles; advice on consulting case interviews, financial interviews, and career trends. Message boards. First-time users must register for a personal account using their vanderbilt.edu email address.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Instruction and reference materials on computer programming, technology, and business transformation. The platform includes books, videos, case studies, audio books, and structured learning paths. An O'Reilly user account will automatically be created for first time users. For details, please refer to the O'Reilly Privacy Policy.
Mobile app is available at https://www.oreilly.com/online-learning/apps.html.
General News Sources
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
Investigate a Company or Organization Using Library Databases
Several library databases provide company profiles, tax filings, and other details that might help you decide if you want to pursue a career with them. Some of these databases are linked below:
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Cross-search Gale directories including: Ward's Business Directory, Encyclopedia of Associations, Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Research Centers Directory; etc.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowInformation on grantmakers and grants. Database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
A couple library databases provide biographical information on some of the world's prominent figures. Links below:
- Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for newsworthy American & international figures in the areas of business, education, entertainment, government, health care, law, religion, science and technology, the arts, and sports.
- World Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Lives and achievements of the most distinguished men and women from almost every country in the world. Career, contact and other biographical details.
Career Books
Linked by
The LinkedIn insider's guide to how the new job search really works--and how to make it work for you. No one disputes that LinkedIn is the world's biggest job market. So it's about time that someone with the inside scoop explained how to make the most of it. Here, from two LinkedIn experts and former employees, is the definitive guide that demystifies the massive site and gives every reader--from the newly minted college graduate to the midlife career-changer--the most important strategies to win the modern job search game. Clear, lively, and decidedly practical, Linked shows how to burnish your personal brand so recruiters come to you. Tap the power of the network effect and turn anyone into an invaluable referral. Think like employers and focus your profile to get noticed, get considered, and get hired. And game both the search algorithm and Applicant Tracking Systems used by nearly every employer in every economic sector. The result: not just a great job, but the future of your dreams.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781523517848Publication Date: 2022-05-03
What Color Is Your Parachute? For College by
An indispensable guide for college students, adapted from the world's most popular and bestselling career book, What Color Is Your Parachute? What Color Is Your Parachute? for College is the only guide you need for making the most of your college career from start to finish. Based on the bestselling job-hunting system in the world, created by Richard N. Bolles, it covers deciding on a major, designing a four-year plan with your interests and values in mind, creating impactful social media, developing a resume that stands out in a crowd, and making invaluable connections to the workplace. Filled with introspective activities designed to bring out your unique skills and knowledge for interviews, resumes, and cover letters, this book provides easy-to-follow templates, rubrics, and lists to help you create the best possible social media platform, including LinkedIn.You'll discover how to leverage your skills and experiences throughout college to start your future-whether that means landing a meaningful internship (and making the most of it!), finding your first job, continuing on to graduate school, or taking a gap year. Whatever your future plans, What Color Is Your Parachute? for College will get you there.
Call Number: HF5381 .B664 2021ISBN: 9781984857569Publication Date: 2021-04-06
