Start with Reference Sources
Reference sources are a great starting point for starting research on a new topic because they provide general information on a topic. The often include the following types of information to help you get started:
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find out the names of key players in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research
Reference sources include encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other sources like them. Some reference sources for education-related topics are listed below.
Education Reference
The Cyclopedic Education Dictionary by
This book has been designed to provide professional educators, parents, and college students with educational terms, concepts, issues, strategies, and information critical to understanding today's classroom. Containing over 10,000 definitions, acronyms, and abbreviations provides valuable information in areas such as the World Wide Web and computers, legal issues and responsibilities, literacy development, developmental and educational psychology terminology, key mathematical concepts and tables and key bilingual terms in the field.
Call Number: e-book & Peabody Reference LB15 .S73 1998ISBN: 0827384750Publication Date: 1997-06-11
Early Childhood Education by
Early childhood education has reached a level of unprecedented national and international focus. Parents, policy makers, and politicians have opinions as well as new questions about what, how, when, and where young children should learn. Teachers and program administrators now find curriculum discussions linked to dramatic new understandings about children's early learning and brain development. Early childhood education is also a major topic of concern internationally, as social policy analysts point to its role in a nation's future economic outlook. As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices. A wealth of information provides the user with up-to-date expert entries on a plethora of topics. Over three hundred entries in volumes 1, 2, and 3 cover such topics as: accountability assessment biculturalism bullying child abuse early intervention ethnicity Head Start No Child Left Behind Zero to three
Call Number: Peabody Reference LB1139.23 .E272 2007ISBN: 9780313331008Publication Date: 2007-01-30
Education and Sociology by
First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: Stacks LC189.95 .E38 2002ISBN: 0815316151Publication Date: 2001-11-02
Encyclopedia of American Education by
Extensively revised and updated, the Encyclopedia of American Education covers the entire span of American education from the colonial period to the present. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this three-volume work provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Updated appendixes, including an extensive bibliography for each subject area; a general chronology of American education since 1607; a summary of significant federal education legislation since 1787; a listing of every major U.S. Supreme Court decision affecting education - including eight new rulings handed down since the first edition was published; and a listing of graduate school offerings in education, undergraduate education majors, and undergraduate majors at American colleges greatly enhance the reference value of this resource. Coverage Includes: Education and reform movements; Legal issues and landmarks; Key education theories; The role of computers and technology in education; Bilingual education; Violence and crime in schools; Up-to-date entries on the history, trends, and quality of education in each of the fifty states. New and revised entries include: American Sign Language; Athletic Scholarships; Autism; Board of Regents vs. Southworth; Boys Town; Children's Aid Society; Disabilities Education Act; Distance Learning; Hazing; Mitchell vs. Helms; Orton Gillingham Method; Veronia Schools District 47J vs. Acton.
Call Number: Peabody Reference LB17 .U54 2001ISBN: 0816043442Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development by
This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice, making it a unique contribution to the educational reference market. Issues related to human development and learning are examined by individuals whose specializations are in diverse areas including education, psychology, sociology, philosophy, law, and medicine. The book focuses on important themes in education and human development. Authors consider each entry from the perspective of its social and political conditions as well as historical underpinnings. The book also explores the people whose contributions have played a seminal role in the shaping of educational ideas, institutions, and organizations, and includes entries on these institutions and organizations. This work integrates numerous theoretical frameworks with field based applications from many areas in educational research.
Call Number: Peabody Reference LB15 .E473 2005ISBN: 0765612682Publication Date: 2005-08-31
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010 The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: o key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews " Constitutional issues " Key concepts, theories, and legal principles " Key statutes " Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights) " Curricular issues " Educational equity " Governance " Rights of students and teachers " Technology " Biographies " Organizations. In addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the United States legal system.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1452265909Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
This book discusses current research in the field of language and linguistics. It presents topics that include syntax of dislocation, extraposition and parenthesis; learner perception and strategies for pragmatic acquisition; the need for explicit inferential methods in linguistics; language processing in biomodal bilinguals; visual word access in monolinguals and bilinguals; reading impairment in childhood; children's language and literacy; and, language development in special populations and the early communicative channel in childhood.
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
International Encyclopedia of Education by
The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal, and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science. Unequalled in its combination of authoritative scholarship and comprehensive coverage, International Encyclopedia of Education, Third Edition succeeds two highly successful previous editions (1985, 1994) in aiming to encapsulate research in this vibrant field for the twenty-first century reader. Under development for five years, this work encompasses over 1,000 articles across 24 individual areas of coverage, and is expected to become the dominant resource in the field. Education is a multidisciplinary and international field drawing on a wide range of social sciences and humanities disciplines, and this new edition comprehensively matches this diversity. The diverse background and multidisciplinary subject coverage of the Editorial Board ensure a balanced and objective academic framework, with 1,500 contributors representing over 100 countries, capturing a complete portrait of this evolving field. A totally new work, revamped with a wholly new editorial board, structure and brand-new list of meta-sections and articles Developed by an international panel of editors and authors drawn from senior academia Web-enhanced with supplementary multimedia audio and video files, hotlinked to relevant references and sources for further study Incorporates ca. 1,350 articles, with timely coverage of such topics as technology and learning, demography and social change, globalization, and adult learning, to name a few Offers two content delivery options - print and online - the latter of which provides anytime, anywhere access for multiple users and superior search functionality via ScienceDirect, as well as multimedia content, including audio and video files
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780080448947Publication Date: 2009-04-17
Women in Higher Education by
The only comprehensive encyclopedia on the subject of women in higher education. America's first wave of feminists--Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and others--included expanded opportunities for higher education in their Declaration of Sentiments at the first Women's Rights Convention in Seneca Falls, New York, in l848. By then, the first American institutions to educate women had been founded, among them, Mt. Holyoke Seminary, in l837. However, not until after the Civil War did most universities admit women--and not for egalitarian purposes. War casualties had caused a drop in enrollment and the states needed teachers. Women students paid tuition, but, as teachers, were paid salaries half that of men. By the late 20th century, there were more female than male students of higher education, but women remained underrepresented at the higher levels of educational leadership and training. This volume covers everything from historical and cultural context and gender theory to women in the curriculum and as faculty and administrators. * A-Z entries are divided into nine major content sections, each preceded by a topical overview designed to provide a broad introduction to the area. Major sections include Historical and Cultural Contexts, Gender Theory and the Academy, Feminism in the Academy, Women in the Curriculum, and Women and Higher Education Policy * Over 50 contributors represent broad and diverse views of the complex and evolving role of women in higher education * Two appendixes provide an overview of available references for further research: Women's Studies Research Resources and Colleges Identifying Themselves as Women's Colleges * A complete cross referenced bibliography of all sources is noted in individual entries
Call Number: Peabody Reference LC1569 .W66 2002ISBN: 1576076148Publication Date: 2002-12-13
Articles within handbooks are written by current scholars in the field and provide reviews of current research in the field. Use these sources to jumpstart your research by learning about recent research, current scholars and subject terms to use when searching the databases.
The Cambridge Handbook of Bilingualism by
This Handbook offers a developmentally oriented and socially contextualized survey of research into individual bilingualism, comprising the learning, use and, as the case may be, unlearning of two or more spoken and signed languages and language varieties. A wide range of topics is covered, from ideologies, policy, the law, and economics, to exposure and input, language education, measurement of bilingual abilities, attrition and forgetting, and giftedness in bilinguals. Also explored are cross- and intra-disciplinary connections with psychology, clinical linguistics, second language acquisition, education, cognitive science, neurolinguistics, contact linguistics, and sign language research.
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education by
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education presents the first comprehensive international reference work of the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education. Covers pedagogical issues such as language assessment as well as offering evolving perspectives on the needs of specific learner populations, such as ELLs, learners with language impairments, and bilingual education outside of the classroom
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Handbook of Comparative Higher Education Law by
This book can serve as valuable resource for educational practitioners in higher education insofar as it provides them with an enhanced awareness of strategies that are being used to manage problems commonly faced in multiple educational settings.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1299744966Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Handbook of International Research in Mathematics Education by
This third edition of the Handbook of International Research in Mathematics Education provides a comprehensive overview of the most recent theoretical and practical developments in the field of mathematics education. New perspectives are presented on a range of critical topics including embodied learning, the theory-practice divide, new developments in the early years, educating future mathematics education professors, problem solving in a 21st century curriculum, culture and mathematics learning, complex systems, critical analysis of design-based research, multimodal technologies, and e-textbooks.
Publication Date: 2015-08-14
Handbook of Reading Research by
The Handbook of Reading Research is the research Handbook for the field. Each volume has come to define the field for the period of time it covers. When taken as a set, the four volumes provide a definitive history of reading research. Volume IV brings the field authoritatively and comprehensively up-to-date.
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Handbook of Research in Social Studies Education by
This Handbook outlines the current state of research in social studies education ¿ a complex, dynamic, challenging field with competing perspectives about appropriate goals, and on-going conflict over the content of the curriculum. The volume is organized around seven themes: Change and Continuity in Social Studies Civic Competence in Pluralist Democracies Social Justice and the Social Studies Assessment and Accountability Teaching and Learning in the Disciplines Information Ecologies: Technology in the Social Studies Teacher Preparation and Development
Publication Date: 2008-03-17
Handbook of Research on Learning and Instruction by
During the past twenty years researchers have made exciting progress in the science of learning (i.e., how people learn) and the science of instruction (i.e., how to help people learn). This handbook examines learning and instruction in a variety of classroom and non-classroom environments and with a variety of learners, both K-16 students and adult learners.
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity by
Timely and authoritative, this research handbook addresses all dimensions of diversity that have an impact on literacy achievement.
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Handbook of Research on New Literacies by
Situated at the intersection of two of the most important areas in educational research today - literacy and technology - this work draws on the potential of each while carving out important new territory. It directs scholars to the major issues, theoretical perspectives, and interdisciplinary research on new literacies.
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension, Second Edition by
This esteemed reference work and professional resource integrates classic and cutting-edge research on how children and adolescents make meaning from text. The comprehension tasks and challenges facing students at different grade levels are explored, with attention to multiple text types and reading purposes. Effective approaches to assessment, instruction, and intervention are reviewed. The volume also addresses issues in teaching specific populations, including struggling readers and English language learners.
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Handbook of Research on Science Education by
This state-of-the art research Handbook provides a comprehensive, coherent, current synthesis of the empirical and theoretical research concerning teaching and learning in science and lays down a foundation upon which future research can be built. The contributors, all leading experts in their research areas, represent the international and gender diversity that exists in the science education research community.
Publication Date: 2007-01-30
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by
Now in its third edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts--sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English--offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field.
Publication Date: 2010-12-02
Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research by
"Each contribution, (solid studies of literature) is written by native professional researchers, who are famous in their field. The consequence is that the contributions in the handbook are based on similar research, this presents us with a wide perspective course of action, which can be touched on for future research. It is evident that each research group who is involved in Higher Education should have a subscription for this book." (Hans van Hout, University of Amsterdam) "There are several reasons why the Handbooks deserve a wider audience, especially among scholars, policy-makers and practitioners in the United Kingdom. Firstly the shift to mass higher education in England and the other home countries, although two decades behind the American expansion, has brought shared problems and common worries, notably in relation to access, funding and quality. A second reason, then, for bringing the Handbooks to a wider audience would be to force consideration of the need for (and value of) a parallel series: one focused mainly but not exclusively on the British or, more ambitiously, the European context. The strength of the series (for the outsider at least) is its Americanism. For overseas students and scholars, the Handbooks provide a ready guide to the shifting contours of American higher education and the approaches to research within that system. Alongside synoptic studies in the mainline American journals of higher education, where Handbook chapters are frequently cited, the volumes should be a first port of call for the overseas researcher and the scholar-administrator. Moreover, since 1988, the Handbooks have offered readers an appreciation of the public service and career dimensions of American higher education, by way of an opening chapter in which senior figures volunteer personal and professional reflections on a life in and around the academy." (Gareth Parry, School of Education, University of Sheffield (Teaching in Higher Education)
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9401002452Publication Date: 2012-12-06
International Handbook of Curriculum Research by
Continuing its calling to define the field and where it is going, the second edition of this landmark handbook brings up to date its comprehensive reportage of scholarly developments and school curriculum initiatives worldwide, providing a panoramic view of the state of curriculum studies globally. Its international scope and currency and range of research and theory reflect and contribute significantly to the ongoing internationalization of curriculum studies and its growth as a field worldwide.
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
International Handbook of Higher Education by
This book provides a central, authoritative source of reference on the most essential topics of higher education. The International Handbook of Higher Education combines a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives with a wide range of internationally derived descriptions and analyses. Chapters in the first volume cover central themes in the study of higher education, while contributors to the second volume focuses on contemporary higher education issues within specific countries or regions. Together, these volumes provide a centralized, easily accessible, yet scholarly source of information.
Call Number: Peabody Stacks LB2322.2 .I57 2006ISBN: 9781402040115Publication Date: 2006-04-20
International Handbook of the Learning Sciences by
The International Handbook of the Learning Sciences is a comprehensive collection of international perspectives on this interdisciplinary field. The three sections of the handbook capture, respectively: foundational contributions from multiple disciplines and the ways in which the learning sciences has fashioned these into its own brand of use-oriented theory, design, and evidence; learning sciences approaches to designing, researching, and evaluating learning broadly construed; and the methodological diversity of learning sciences research, assessment, and analytic approaches.
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by
Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs.
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Oxford handbook of higher education systems and university management by
Examines the main challenges facing higher education systems in an increasingly turbulent and interconnected world, exploring how higher education institutions are managed in changing conditions, and the societal implications of different approaches to change.
Call Number: e-book & Peabody Stacks LB2341 .O94 2019ISBN: 9780198822905Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Child Development and Early Education by
How and what should young children be taught? What emphasis should be given to emotional learning? Addressing these and other critical questions, this authoritative volume discusses what an integrated, developmentally appropriate curriculum might look like across the preschool and early elementary years.
Publication Date: 2009-07-08
Handbook of Urban Education by
This volume brings together leading scholars in urban education to focus on inner city matters, specifically as they relate to educational research, theory, policy, and practice. The Handbook addresses seven areas that capture the breadth and depth of available knowledge in urban education: (1) Psychology, Health and Human Development, (2) Sociological Perspectives, (3) Families and Communities, (4) Teacher Education and Special Education, (5) Leadership, Administration and Leaders, (6) Curriculum & Instruction, and (7) Policy and Reform.
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Third International Handbook of Mathematics Education by
The four sections in this Third International Handbook are concerned with: (a) social, political and cultural dimensions in mathematics education; (b) mathematics education as a field of study; (c) technology in the mathematics curriculum; and (d) international perspectives on mathematics education. These themes are taken up by 84 internationally-recognized scholars, based in 26 different nations.
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
Review of Research in Education
Review of Research in EducationThe Review of Research in Education provides an annual overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays.
