Search Tips for Digital Newspapers
Limit by date range if at all possible as this will reduce the number of results exponentially.
Try combinations of search terms.
Be ready to execute multiple searches in order to get the results you are looking for.
Use specific search terms.
Remember to match the terminology to the time period or issue being discussed (i.e. searching the term "African-American" in 1920s newspaper will get you nowhere)
Historical Periodicals
-
American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSpecial interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.
-
British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
-
African American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowHoldings of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
-
Magazine Archives (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Collection of popular magazine archives.
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowWomen’s interest consumer magazines with detailed article-level indexing. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
-
Economist (Historical Archive) This link opens in a new windowHistorical archive of The Economist. Primary source for politics, current affairs, business, and trade. Topic and area supplements and surveys.
-
News, Policy, & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of 15 major magazines (including Newsweek), spanning areas including history of politics, current events, international relations, and public policy.
U.S. Newspapers
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Alternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.
-
History Commons (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers; The Charleston Mercury; Chester & Delaware Federalist; The Christian Recorder; The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective; The Colored American; Delaware County American; Delaware County Republican; Frederick Douglass Paper; Douglass Monthly; Freedom's Journal; Media Advertiser; The National Era; The New York Herald; The North Star; The Pennsylvania Gazette; The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog [collection]; Pennsylvania Newspaper Record; The Pennsylvania Packet; Porcupines Gazette; Provincial Freeman; Richmond Enquirer; The Upland Union; Village Record; Weekly Advocate.
-
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
This database of eight African-American Newspapers provides information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and reports on major events and issues of the day. Newspapers are:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902), The Colored American (1837–1841), Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) , Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829), The National Era (1847–1860), The North Star (1847–1851), Provincial Freeman (1854–1857), Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
-
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
-
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for 19th century US newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
International Newspapers
-
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEnglish news media from the 17th and 18th centuries: newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
-
Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers providing first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society and events.
-
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new windowPrincipal newspapers from most Latin American countries and many newspapers from Puerto Rico. Regional news, business, sports and the arts, regional wire services and magazines. In Spanish and/or Portuguese.
-
Sunday Times (London) This link opens in a new windowFull images of the pages of The Sunday Times (London).
-
Times Digital Archive (London Times) This link opens in a new window
Full images of the pages of The Times (London) including advertising, book reviews, letters to the editor, and obituaries as well as news articles.
-
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (TLS) This link opens in a new windowWeekly literary journal founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Sunday Times of London. Provides comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important scholarly publications, in every subject, in several languages. Also reviews current fiction, nonfiction, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. Widely considered the finest literary review in the English language, TLS sets the tone and standards for excellence in the field of literary criticism. Many distinguished writers have been contributors, including T. S. Eliot, Henry James, and Virginia Woolf.
-
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)
-
World News Digest This link opens in a new windowArchival record of domestic and international news covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. Facts on File.
Microfilm Newspaper Collections
The Vanderbilt Central Library has a large collection of newspapers in microfilm format. Beware that most newspapers have NO INDEXING. The list is alphabetical by state, followed by alphabetical by country. Click on the link below for title, dates of coverage, and location information.
AP Image Database
-
AP Images This link opens in a new window
Associated Press photographs, audio, graphics, news stories, and headlines.
