Background/Reference Information
- American National BiographySearchable database of biographical profiles of over 18,000 men and women from all periods of American history and culture.
- Blackwell Reference OnlineFull-text access to about 300 Blackwell reference titles.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides searchable access to more than 250 volumes published since the 1960’s.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineLiterary guide to sources in Renaissance and Reform, International Relations, Medieval Studies, Atlantic History, Communications, Classics, Victorian Literature, Philosophy and Islamic Studies.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyOver 50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. No living persons are included.
- Oxford Reference Online: HistoryDictionaries, encyclopedias, guides
- Routledge Companion to Historical StudiesProvides an introduction to the major historians and philosophers together with the central issues, ideas and theories which have prompted the rethinking of history that has gathered pace since the 1990s.
Comments (0)
Welcome!
Welcome to the Resources for History library guide. The Vanderbilt Libraries have a wealth of materials that will be beneficial to anyone doing research on all aspects of history.
All of the resources found within this course guide are available in one of the libraries on campus or online.
This is not intended to be a comprehensive resource - rather a good starting point for locally available resources for research and study. Please feel free to make suggestions for additions to the various categories.
Bibliographer/Reference Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
