Skip to Main Content
  2. Research Guides

Vanderbilt Television News Archive - Guns in America: Sandy Hook (2012)

A selection of news reports, interviews, and investigations on the topic of gun control or gun violence in relation to US Presidential elections.

Sandy Hook Elementary School Shooting (December 14, 2012)

  Record Number Title Network Date Summary (generated with ChatGPT -- may be innaccurate)
  1035457 Connecticut / School Shooting ABC 12/14/2012 ABC News reports on the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, where 27 victims, including 20 children and seven adults, were killed by a deranged gunman.
  1035475 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/14/2012 A news report detailing the aftermath of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, including the heartbreaking wait for parents to hear about their children and the discovery of the gunman's mother, a kindergarten teacher, found dead at their family home.
  1035385 Connecticut / School Shooting CBS 12/14/2012 A mass shooting at Sandy Hook elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut resulted in the deaths of 26 people, including 20 children, the school principal, and the gunman, 20-year-old Adam Lanza, who also killed his mother before taking his own life.
  1507220 Tragedy Strikes Newtown Elementary FNC 12/14/2012 Reports from Newtown Connecticut on the mass shooting at Sandy Hook elementary.
  1507222 Tragic Newtown School Massacre Shock FNC 12/14/2012 More reports on the details of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook. Phone interview with one of the parents of a student.
  1507226 Tragedy Strikes Newtown, Connecticut FNC 12/14/2012 Reports from law enforcement about the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary school, including reports about the shooter and status of the school and the children.
  1507228 Officials Aim for Morning Identification FNC 12/14/2012 Connecticut State Police LT. Paul Vance holds a press conference and informs the public that the shooters identity won't be released until tomorrow morning.
  1035409 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/15/2012 Coverage of the aftermath of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, including details on the church offering support, ongoing investigations, and emotional interviews with grieving parents.
  1035508 Connecticut / School Shooting NBC 12/15/2012 A heartbreaking news report detailing the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, where 20 children and 6 adults were killed, leaving the community of Newtown in mourning and shock.
  1035415 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/15/2012 The news report focuses on the lives of the victims of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook elementary school, highlighting the heroic actions and personal stories of teachers and the principal who lost their lives.
  1035492 Connecticut / School Shooting CBS 12/15/2012 The news report discusses the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, where 28 people, including 20 children, were killed by 20-year-old Adam Lanza, who forced his way into the school with guns belonging to his mother.
  1035412 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/15/2012 The news report discusses the efforts to not glorify the shooter's name in the coverage of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, as police work to reconstruct the timeline of events leading up to the tragedy.
  1035421 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/15/2012 Expert discusses the social roots of school shootings and dispels common myths about the causes of such events in the wake of the Sandy Hook shooting, which is now the 2nd deadliest school shooting in US history.
  1035480 Connecticut / School Shooting ABC 12/15/2012 A heartbreaking news report detailing the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, including the names and stories of the young victims and heroic actions of teachers and staff.
  1035541 Connecticut / School Shooting / Mental Health NBC 12/16/2012 A mother from Boise, Idaho, shares her experience raising a mentally ill son in the wake of the Sandy Hook school shooting, shedding light on the issue of mental health in the country.
  1507198 Tragic Sandy Hook Shooting Massacre FNC 12/16/2012 News reports, details and updates from the tragic shooting in Newtown.
  1507199 Heartbreaking Identification Process for Newtown Victims FNC 12/16/2012 Reports on the chilling task of identifying the young victims of the mass shooting.
  1507203 State Troopers Respond to Sandy Hook FNC 12/16/2012 Report on the police response to the school shooting, how state troopers responded to the call of shots fired in a school.
  1507209 Tragic Newtown School Shooting: Fox Report Live FNC 12/16/2012 Geraldo Rivera interviewed about the mass shooting at Sandy Hook with commentary and analysis.
  1035696 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/16/2012 Parents of a second grader at Sandy Hook Elementary School share their daughter's experience during the shooting, including hearing gunshots and being across the hall from a teacher who died trying to save her students.
  1035520 Connecticut / School Shooting ABC 12/16/2012 A special edition of World News with David Muir covers the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, highlighting the lives lost and the community coming together for healing and remembrance.
  1035699 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/16/2012 A father, Robbie Parker, speaks about his daughter Emily, who was six years old and died in the Sandy Hook shooting, as CNN continues live coverage from Newtown, Connecticut, where survivors are seeking solace and attending Sunday school at Trinity Episcopal Church.
  1035533 Connecticut / School Shooting NBC 12/16/2012 President Obama meets with families and first responders in Newtown, Connecticut following the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook elementary school, as the community mourns and receives support from across the nation.
  1035688 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/16/2012 A news report detailing the aftermath of the mass shooting in Sandy Hook, highlighting the lives and stories of the victims, including young children like Charlotte Bacon, Daniel Barden, Olivia Engel, and Josephine Gay.
  1035691 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/16/2012 A heartbreaking news report detailing the life and tragic death of beloved Sandy Hook principal Dawn Hochsprung, who heroically confronted the gunman and left behind a loving family of blended children and grandchildren.
  1035693 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/16/2012 President Obama speaks at a memorial service in Newtown, Connecticut following the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, addressing the need for better protection of children from harm.
  1035444 Newtown, Connecticut / Elementary School Shooting CBS 12/17/2012 The news report provides details about the funerals of the young victims of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting, as well as information about the shooter's actions leading up to the tragedy.
  1035575 Connecticut / School Shooting / McDonnell CNN 12/17/2012 A news report from CNN's live coverage in Newtown, Connecticut, featuring an interview with the parents of seven-year-old Grace McDonnell, who spoke about their daughter's legacy of love and the importance of not harboring hate after the Sandy Hook mass shooting.
  1035569 Connecticut / School Shooting / Newman Interview CNN 12/17/2012 CNN special live coverage continues from Newtown, Connecticut, focusing on the devastating aftermath of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School and exploring unanswered questions about the killer's motives.
  1035560 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/17/2012 A community in Newtown, Connecticut mourns the loss of 26 children and adults in a mass shooting at Sandy Hook elementary school, with makeshift memorials and funerals held for the victims.
  1035547 Connecticut / School Shooting ABC 12/17/2012 A special edition of World News with Diane Sawyer covering the tragedy at Sandy Hook, including details of the funerals for young victims and the community's efforts to heal and support each other.
  1035563 Connecticut / School Shooting / Coping CNN 12/17/2012 Newtown schools will reopen, but Sandy Hook Elementary will not, as a former school in a neighboring town will be used to allow students to return to class without returning to the site of the tragedy.
  1035454 Newtown, Connecticut / Elementary School Shooting CBS 12/17/2012 Local mental health experts discuss warning signs and response to the Sandy Hook school shooting tragedy.
  1035429 Newtown, Connecticut / Elementary School Shooting NBC 12/17/2012 NBC nightly news reports on the funerals and tributes for the victims of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, highlighting the community's support and Governor Malloy's call for a moment of silence.
  1039224 Connecticut / School Shooting / Gun Control CBS 12/18/2012 Coverage of the reopening of schools in Newtown after the Sandy Hook shooting, including stories of survival and funerals for victims.
  1035608 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/18/2012 A news report discusses the heartbreaking loss of children in the Sandy Hook shooting, highlighting the stories of Allison Wyatt and Grace McDonnell, and the strength and resilience of the community in Newtown.
  1035595 Connecticut / School Shooting / The Kids / Grace CNN 12/18/2012 A former football player sets up a nonprofit called Angels of Sandy Hook Elementary to honor the victims of the mass shooting, as students return to school in a different building after the holidays, facing a new reality of writing goodbye letters to their friends.
  1035597 Connecticut / School Shooting / Schonfeld Interview CNN 12/18/2012 Newtown students return to school for the first time since the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary, with increased police presence and counseling sessions to provide comfort and support.
  1035603 Connecticut / School Shooting / Bittman Interview CNN 12/18/2012 News report discusses the aftermath of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, including the reopening of schools in Newtown, dialogue on gun control and mental health, and the National Rifle Association's response.
  1039209 Connecticut / School Shooting / Gun Control / Dunblane School Massacre NBC 12/18/2012 News report covering the NRA breaking its silence on the Sandy Hook mass shooting, expressing shock and sadness and promising to contribute to preventing future tragedies, as gun control advocates gain momentum and calls for new regulations grow stronger.
  1035600 Connecticut / School Shooting / Noah CNN 12/18/2012 A heartwarming story about a young boy's final note to his cousin being successfully delivered for his funeral, along with details about the boy's personality and a warning about scams using his name.
  1035606 Connecticut / School Shooting / The Shooter: Mental State CNN 12/18/2012 News report discussing the aftermath of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, including the emotional impact on families and the investigation into the gunman's medical history and possible diagnosis of Asperger's syndrome.
  1035578 Connecticut / School Shooting / Guns ABC 12/18/2012 News report discusses the aftermath of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, including calls for gun control, divestment from companies selling assault weapons, and reactions from major retailers like Dick's Sporting Goods and Walmart.
  1035611 Newtown, Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/19/2012 A news report from Newtown, Connecticut highlights the generosity and kindness of individuals in the aftermath of the Sandy Hook shooting, focusing on the stories of young victims Daniel Barden and Charlotte Bacon.
  1035614 Newtown, Connecticut / School Shooting / Guns: A Discussion CNN 12/19/2012 President Obama pledges to make gun control a central issue in response to the Sandy Hook mass shooting, with growing support for major restrictions on gun ownership and the NRA expected to make a statement.
  1035667 Connecticut / School Shooting ABC 12/19/2012 President Obama promises action to address gun violence in the wake of the Sandy Hook tragedy, appointing Vice President Biden to lead efforts to ban high capacity ammunition clips and military style assault weapons.
  1039239 Connecticut / School Shooting / Gun Control CBS 12/19/2012 President Obama promises real action to reduce gun violence after Sandy Hook massacre, puts Vice President Biden in charge of government-wide effort with tight deadline for new laws and executive orders.
  1035617 Newtown, Connecticut / School Shooting / Charity Fraud (Part I) CNN 12/19/2012 Investigative reporter uncovers woman in the Bronx allegedly collecting donations for Newtown shooting victim's family under false pretenses.
  1039258 Connecticut / School Shooting NBC 12/19/2012 Newtown, Connecticut community requests privacy as they mourn the loss of seven-year-old Daniel Barden, who aspired to be a firefighter.
  1035650 Newtown, Connecticut / School Shooting / NRA / Maggart Interview CNN 12/20/2012 The National Rifle Association's influence on politicians and their stance on gun rights is discussed in relation to the Newtown massacre.
  1035657 Connecticut / School Shooting / Charity Fraud / Jepsen Interview (Part II) CNN 12/20/2012 News report exposes sickening scams and fraudulent websites trying to capitalize on the tragedy of the mass shooting in Sandy Hook, including one involving the domain name of six-year-old victim Noah Pozner.
  1035952 Connecticut / School Shooting CNN 12/21/2012 A news report highlighting the lives of three six-year-old victims of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, including details about their personalities, interests, and the impact they had on their families and community.
  1035961 Connecticut / School Shooting / Grace's Story CNN 12/21/2012 A heart-wrenching interview with the parents of seven-year-old Grace McDonald, a victim of the Sandy Hook shooting, who describe her as a kind and loving soul who adored her school and friends.
  1039589 Connecticut / School Shooting / NRA CBS 12/21/2012 News report covering Senator John Kerry's appointment as Secretary of State, the one-week anniversary of the Sandy Hook mass shooting, the NRA's response advocating for armed security in schools, and Democratic Senator Dianne Feinstein's criticism of the NRA's plan as a distraction from gun control measures.
  1035958 Connecticut / School Shooting / Weiss Interview CNN 12/21/2012 Coverage of the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, including President Obama's moment of silence and interviews with Monsignor Robert Weiss about the strength and resilience of the victims' families.
  1039603 Gun Control / NRA / Connecticut School Shooting NBC 12/21/2012 The NRA responds to the Sandy Hook shooting by advocating for armed guards in schools, sparking debate on gun control measures.
  1035955 Connecticut / School Shooting / NRA / Murphy, Walmart Interviews CNN 12/21/2012 NRA calls for armed police officers in every school following Sandy Hook shooting, sparking controversy and criticism.