It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This full-text database features essays and images on all aspects of African American music, including the blues, jazz, civil rights songs, slave songs, gospel, rap, and R&B. It contains over 42,000 essays and images from 162 different sources, including biographies, discographies, reference works, liner notes, and sheet music.
Bloomsbury Popular Music provides online access to the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the popular 33 1/3 and Global 33 1/3 series, and a growing electronic collection of academic books on popular music. Explores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
Formerly known as IIMP-Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals, Full-Text), the Music Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for 425+ music periodicals and full text for around 140 music journals. This database includes citations to both scholarly and popular music periodicals, and covers topics such as music education, performance, music theory and composition, musical theatre, ethnomusicology, and popular music. Almost all records in the Music Periodicals Database come from English-language periodicals.
Full-text access to more than 30,000 articles on all genres of popular music from the 1950s to the present. Articles are drawn from a diverse collection of magazines, including Creem, Trouser Press, Rolling Stone, New Musical Express, Melody Maker, and MOJO. RBP also provides access to more than 460 audio interviews with leading popular artists dating from the past forty years.
Women’s interest consumer magazines with detailed article-level indexing. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.