Locate and Retrieve Information - MUSL 3160 "Women and Rock Music" - Gunderman

Library Search & WorldCat

Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Search help: https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/searchhelp/
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.

WorldCat

Key Databases:

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
This full-text database features essays and images on all aspects of African American music, including the blues, jazz, civil rights songs, slave songs, gospel, rap, and R&B. It contains over 42,000 essays and images from 162 different sources, including biographies, discographies, reference works, liner notes, and sheet music.
Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Popular Music provides online access to the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the popular 33 1/3 and Global 33 1/3 series, and a growing electronic collection of academic books on popular music. Explores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Coverage: 1970 to present.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as IIMP-Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals, Full-Text), the Music Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for 425+ music periodicals and full text for around 140 music journals. This database includes citations to both scholarly and popular music periodicals, and covers topics such as music education, performance, music theory and composition, musical theatre, ethnomusicology, and popular music. Almost all records in the Music Periodicals Database come from English-language periodicals.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 30,000 articles on all genres of popular music from the 1950s to the present. Articles are drawn from a diverse collection of magazines, including Creem, Trouser Press, Rolling Stone, New Musical Express, Melody Maker, and MOJO. RBP also provides access to more than 460 audio interviews with leading popular artists dating from the past forty years.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Women’s interest consumer magazines with detailed article-level indexing. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
Coverage: late-19th century to 2005.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Document projects and archives, including book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools; organized around the history of women in social movements.
Coverage: 1600-2000.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.

Search Strategies

Boolean Search

AND = narrows your search
OR = broadens your search
NOT = eliminates that term from your search

Phrase searching

place quotation marks " " around your search terms to search the phrase exactly and the order it appears.

Truncation

use * to truncate a words and get multiple forms of the word.

Nesting

Use parentheses ( ) to nest searches and combine using Boolean or phrase searching