Curriculum Materials Center: Curriculum Materials

About Curriculum Materials

The Curriculum Materials Center offers a collection of items to facilitate hands-on learning, teacher-edition textbooks, leveled readers, and an assortment of tests.  Materials are geared toward Pre-K through 12th grade learners, including those in special education.

Software in the CMC

Location:

All the software listed on this page are located with the Reserve Materials on the Main Floor.

Circulation:

Writing with Symbols, Kidspiration, Inspiration, and one copy of Boardmaker can be checked out for 3 days. There is a copy of Boardmaker on permanent Library Reserve.

Leveled Readers - Located on the back wall of CMC

Fountas & Pinnell define Guided Reading as "a teaching approach designed to help individual readers build an effective system for processing a variety of increasingly challenging texts over time. Using benchmark assessments or other systematic observation, the teacher has determined the approximate instructional reading level of each of the students. The teacher forms a temporary group of students that are alike enough in their development of a reading process that it makes sense to teach them together for a period of time. In selecting a text for the group, the teacher uses the level designation; thinks about the strengths, needs, and background knowledge of the group; and analyzes the individual text for opportunities to support students' successful engagement with the meaning, language, and print of the text. The teacher uses the text to help the children expand what they know how to do as readers."

Fountas, I.C. & Pinnell, G.S. (2010, August 02). What is the Guided Reading Teaching Method? [Web log post]. Retrieved from https://fpblog.fountasandpinnell.com/what-is-guided-reading

Image of Leveling Chart

The Fountas & Pinnell Leveled Literacy Intervention System (LLI) is a research based small-group intervention program intended for children who are having difficulty with reading and writing. LLI is designed to bring children quickly up to grade-level competency. Each LLI lesson includes suggestions for ELL instruction and intervention. 

The program is divided into color coded systems:

CMC LB1576 .M24 2007

Treasures is a research based, comprehensive Reading Language Arts program for grades K-6 that gives educators the resources they need to help all students succeed. High quality literature coupled with explicit instruction and ample practice ensures that students grow as life-long readers and writers.

Ready Readers Call Number: CMC LB1573 .R2

Ready Readers promotes literacy and develop students' fluency for Early Emergent, Emergent, Early, and Fluent Readers!

Ready Readers was developed by three experts in the field of teaching children to read and write, and is grounded in the developmental stages of reading and writing. Ready Readers offers 355 leveled books, organized into eight stages of decodable text that increase in difficulty.

Rigby Literacy Call Number: CMC LB1573. R55 2004
Rigby Literacy can be used as core or supplemental instruction to aid in developing as tudents reading skills and strategies.
  • Shared reading
  • Phonics
  • Phonemic awareness
  • Word structure
  • Writing
  • Guided Reading

The curriculum also provides assessment tools to help make sound evaluations, plan instruction, and monitor progress.

Rigby PM Plus Literacy Call Number: CMC LB1050.5 .G55 2000

Rigby PM Plus titles are shaped to meet the developmental needs of young children who are learning to read.

Call Number: CMC LB1632 .M433 2013

Middle School Reading Level 1 | Collection 1
RL: 1.0 | Grades: 5 to 8

Ignite the fire in your striving readers with these beginning reading titles—perfect for young adults. Drawn from our collection of reading level 1.0 titles, these are books that your students are sure to finish. Includes leveled fiction and nonfiction.

Call Number: CMC PN1008.8 .Y685 2013

Young Adult Reading Level 3 | Collection 2
RL: 3.0 | Grades: YA

This young adult collection of reading level 3.0 to 3.9 titles also includes leveled fiction and nonfiction for struggling readers.

Call Number: CMC PN1008.8 .U733 2013

Urban Fiction Collection 3
RL: 2.8 to 5.4 | Grades: YA

One of the hottest literary phenomena of recent years has been the explosion of what has been variously termed hip-hop, street, or urban fiction. Street lit readers place a high premium on authenticity. This sets contains urban fiction for your classroom library—edgy, gritty, and modern YA lit with ethnic protagonists.

Scholastic Folk & Fairy Tale Easy Readers Call Number: CMC LB1575 .B538 2005

Boost key reading skills—and cultural literacy—with this big collection of classics that are "just right" for young learners! Each 16-page storybook features lively, easy-to-read text paired with supportive illustrations, making them perfect for independent or guided reading. Includes a teaching guide filled with mini-lessons, graphic organizers, standards-based reproducibles, and mini-book versions of all 15 tales. Content correlates with Guided Reading Levels E-I.

 

Scott Foresman Call Number: CMC LB1573 .S38 2008

  • Below-Level Readers
    These readers support and extend the unit and weekly concept. They contain the same weekly tested vocabulary; and teachers can use this text to teach the same comprehension skill and strategy as the weekly selection in Reading Street. These readers range from1 to 1½ levels below grade level.
  • On-Level Readers
    These readers support and extend the unit and weekly concept. They contain the same weekly tested vocabulary; and teachers can use this text to teach the same comprehension skill and strategy as the weekly selection in Reading Street. These readers are ½ level below grade level.
  • Advanced Level Readers
    These readers develop and extend the unit and weekly concept. Teachers can use this text to extend the weekly vocabulary and comprehension skills and strategies. These readers are 1 to 2 levels above grade level.