Ask a Librarian
Though the library catalog is a reliable resource for locating books available at Vanderbilt, and journal articles available in many VU databases, there is an immense amount of content housed in university databases that is not reflected in the catalog--Westlaw, Lexis, & Bloomberg Law are key examples of databases that do not make their content "discoverable" outside of their platforms.
If you are seeking content beyond books and articles, consider browsing Law Databases A-Z, or searching the database descriptions, to identify resources that may be relevant to your research problem. If you are seeking non-law sources, note that you also have access to most VU platforms associated with other disciplines and featured in VU's complete database list--which contains 818 databases at the time of this writing!
Listed below are a few databases offering coverage of international and foreign law. Consider contacting the library for recommendations regarding relevant e-resources!
- vLex Justis This link opens in a new windowFull-text legal library database of case law and legislation as well as a citator, providing authoritative coverage of over 130 jurisdictions. Formerly JustisOne.
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law This link opens in a new windowReference works and treatises on international law.
- Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new windowPublic international case law on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. All reported decisions have a headnote, the full text of the decision, and are linked to the Oxford Law Citator.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database on articles on every aspect of public international law. Primary documents, such as treaties, are also available for some entries.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowThough you will quickly become familiar with Hein's U.S. law journal content, Hein also offers a significant international and foreign law collection including journals covering international law, a UN Law collection, The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, World Constitutions Illustrated, and some primary law content from other jurisdictions.
