Links for Blair Academy Faculty
-
Music Library CatalogSearch the Music Library catalog or visit the Music Library homepage to get quick access to frequently used resources and links.
-
Purchase Request FormHelp us improve our collections and request new items for purchase! You can email a music library staff member personally or fill out this purchase request form.
-
Performer GuidesThe Performer Guides pages feature library materials for individual instruments and vocalists. You can use this guide to find call number ranges for browsing for repertoire, recommended books, journals, and exercises, etudes, and excerpts.
-
Blair Performance Archive This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio database containing recordings of Blair performances with their corresponding programs, masterclasses, and lectures held in the Wilson Music Library archives.
-
Blair Performance Archive Request FormRequest recordings of your faculty performances or tell your students to request their performances. Performer's can request copies of their Blair performances using the link above. Parents of performers under 18 may request copies of their child’s performance on their behalf.
-
Register for Library CardAll students enrolled in the Blair Academy are eligible for a library card with borrowing privileges. Students can borrow books, scores, and audiovisual materials for 28 days. These privileges are limited to the Wilson Music Library only. Complete the registration form to get your library card.
Reach out to Kate Linton the Music Librarian to request Music Library instruction for classes, tours, or assistance. Encourage your students/families to do this as well! Best way to contact me is via email: kathryn.a.shepas@vanderbilt.edu
How can help my student make the most of the Music Library?
Students in the Pre-Collegiate Blair Academy Program at Blair are encouraged to use the Wilson Music Library and its collection. There are a number of ways that faculty can encourage library use by their children. Here are a few suggestions:
- Visit the library with your student - we strive to make the Music Library a welcoming place, but going to a library on a college campus can be scary if it's your first visit. When faculty visit the Music Library with their students and introduce them to staff it makes them feel more comfortable to use the space and our materials.
- Have knowledge of the Music Library services and resources - you as faculty are our greatest advocates. We want students in the Blair Academy programs to also have experience using the academic library. If we do not have the opportunitiy to see your students, it is helpful for faculty to know our services and resources to point students in the right direction. Use the links above as starting places or ask for assistance from library staff!
- Encourage students to register and use their library card
- Encourage students to talk with Music Library staff if they need help with program/recital notes, music related presentations, and finding music or other sources.
General Information About the Library:
Who can use the Music Library?
All students enrolled in the Blair Academy at Vanderbilt are eligible for borrowing privileges at the Wilson Music Library.
When is the Music Library open?
The Wilson Music Library is currently open:
- Mon-Thurs: 8:00am - 10:00pm
- Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
- Sat: Closed
- Sun: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
*Changes to hours for holidays and closings will be posted on the library social media page, library news, and at the physical library.
How do I get a library card?
You can apply for your card online by filling out this registration form. You will receive a library card from the Vanderbilt University Card Office within a few weeks. Registration signifies that you agree to abide by all library policies, and understand that you are responsible for materials that you check out of the library. Applicants under 18 must have parental consent. The parent or guardian must also acknowledge and accept these responsibilities.
How long can I borrow materials?
Blair Academy students may borrow books, scores, sound recordings, and video recordings for 28 days, and may renew these items up to 4 times.
Does the Music Library have Social Media?
Yes, the Music Library runs a Facebook and Instagram account where we post about new resources, upcoming events, and more! Follow us on Facebook at Anne Potter Wilson Music Library and follow us on Instagram at @liblairy.
How Can I Help My Child Make the Most of the Wilson Music Library?
Students in the Pre-Collegiate Program at Blair are encouraged to use the Wilson Music Library and its collection. There are a number of ways that parents can encourage library use by their children. Here are a few suggestions:
- Help your child apply for a library card. Since most of our pre-college students are minors, a parent or guardian must sign off on library card applications.
- Visit the children's book section with your child and select books to check out to read at home.
- When your child has a music-related question, use the library to find the answer. For example, if your child needs to define a musical term, look it up in one of our dictionaries or encyclopedias. Locate and check out a biography of a favorite composer or performer. Look up information about a genre or piece. Always remember that library staff members are available to help with any of your questions!
- Help your child to identify resources for their instrument or ensemble by finding the appropriate research guide.
Upcoming Events!
Blair Academy Halloween Open House
Tuesday, October 28 from 4-6pm
Wilson Music Library, 2nd floor of Blair
