Adler's Physiology of the Eye by Paul L. Kaufman; Albert Alm; Francis Heed Adler; Leonard A. Levin; Siv F. E. Nilsson; Samuel M. Wu; James Ver HoeveDrs. Paul L. Kaufman, Albert Alm, Leonard A Levin, Siv F. E. Nilsson, James Ver Hoeve, and Samuel Wu present the 11th Edition of the classic text Adler's Physiology of the Eye, updated to enhance your understanding of ocular function. This full-color, user-friendly edition captures the latest molecular, genetic, and biochemical discoveries and offers you unparalleled knowledge and insight into the physiology of the eye and its structures. A new organization by function, rather than anatomy, helps you make a stronger connection between physiological principles and clinical practice; and more than 1,000 great new full-color illustrations help clarify complex concepts. You can also access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com. Deepen your grasp of the physiological principles that underlie visual acuity, color vision, ocular circulation, the extraocular muscle, and much more. Glean the latest knowledge in the field, including the most recent molecular, genetic, and biochemical discoveries. Make a stronger connection between physiology and clinical practice with the aid of an enhanced clinical emphasis throughout, as well as a new organization by function rather than by anatomy. Better visualize all concepts by viewing 1,000 clear, full-color illustrations. Access the complete contents online at expertconsult.com. The new and improved Adler's makes mastering the basic science of the eye engaging and easy
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Atlas of Ocular Anatomy by Mohammed Ansari; Ahmed NadeemThis book is a practical and concise atlas on ocular anatomy, with an emphasis on applied aspects and hints for easy retention strategies. The vast color illustrations and photographs consist of self-explanatory, precise, and meaningful representations of the points covered in the text. Covering chapters such as bony socket of the eye, extraocular muscles, eyelids, cornea and lens, and neurology of the eye, Atlas of Ocular Anatomy gives a summary of the important and relevant points for each topic, separating out the essential from the nonessential elements. Complete with representative schematic line diagrams and full color photographs, this atlas features the correlation between anatomic facts with their probable clinical presentations in disease.
Publication Date: 2016-09-08
Eye Pathology by Ralph C. EagleMaster the eye pathology you need to know for the OKAP exam, residency, and beyond! Here's a perfect introduction to basic eye pathology that can easily be read and mastered during an ophthalmic pathology rotation. It provides effective, efficient preparation for OKAP examinations or Board certification in ophthalmology, and will also serve as a concise clinical reference in practice. Richly illustrated and masterfully written, this best-selling ophthalmology resource equips you to understand eye pathology. Key Features: Identify ocular diseases and disorders with the aid of more than 750 high-quality color illustrations. Master the latest knowledge in the field with thorough updates on abusive head trauma; spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT); the revised IC3D classification of corneal dystrophies; IgG4-related disease; the genetics of melanoma and retinoblastoma; interpretation of lamellar keratoplasty specimens from DALK, DSEK, and refractive surgical procedures; ;; immunohistochemistry; and much more. Gauge your mastery of the material with more than 650 multiple-choice review questions online. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Ocular Pathology by Myron Yanoff; Joseph W. SassaniBridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Basic Principles of Ophthalmic Surgery by Ayman Naseri (Editor)Basic Principles of Ophthalmic Surgery is an essential textbook for any ophthalmology resident or trainee and will help them build a solid foundation of ophthalmic surgical knowledge. It lays the groundwork for the 80 surgical procedures covered in the companion volume, Basic Techniques of Ophthalmic Surgery, Third Edition. In this new edition, chapters have been reviewed and revised with important updates in the areas of ergonomics, intraocular fluids, patient safety issues and postoperative management. Each chapter includes key points, suggested reading and self-assessment questions. In addition, the book contains more than 200 photographs and illustrations and four videos.
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Basic Techniques of Ophthalmic Surgery by Jean R. Hausheer (Editor)Includes 180 videos! Basic Techniques of Ophthalmic Surgery is an essential textbook for any ophthalmology resident or trainee and will help them build a solid foundation of ophthalmic surgical knowledge. It is a practical complement to the concepts and environments covered in the companion volume, Basic Principles of Ophthalmic Surgery, Fourth Edition. The new edition describes more than 80 of the most common surgical procedures performed by ophthalmologists. Step-by-step directions will help aspiring ophthalmic surgeons as they begin to master the skills needed for surgical proficiency. New chapters on manual small-incision cataract surgery, collagen cross-linking, suprachoroidal stents, subconjunctival microstents and canicular laceration repair have been added. This highly visual volume features nearly 500 photographs and illustrations enhance the discussion and understanding of procedures, plus 180 videos that illustrate key points or alternative techniques. New to this edition are multiple-choice study questions accessible by QR code that give readers the opportunity to quickly assess their understanding of the chapter content.
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Intraocular Surgery by Thomas H. WilliamsonThis book instructs postgraduate trainees inophthalmology on the basic methodology required to perform intraocular surgery.The text is written clearly and concisely, investigating basic surgical skillsfor the eye to facilitate the training process. The subject material of eachchapter has been carefully chosen to explain separate conceptual areas insurgery to allow easy understanding and rapid attainment of knowledge. Theconcepts can be transferred from one surgical method to another, giving thereader the flexibility to adapt to new methods quickly. Intraocular Surgery - A Basic Surgical Guide provides variousinsights to allow the development of a thoughtful and considered approach tosurgery. It encourages the reader to more intelligently scrutinize whichsurgical methods to apply, and to utilize the most effective procedures inclinical practice. After reading thisbook, the reader will be well-equipped to perform the simple steps of surgery,improving the overall quality of surgery.
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology by John F. SalmonThrough eight outstanding editions, Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology has been the classic specialty textbook, providing the perfect ophthalmology foundation for trainees and a valuable reference source for experienced practitioners. Building on the previous edition by Dr. Brad Bowling, Dr. John Salmon from Oxford University has comprehensively revised the textbook. The 9th Edition retains Dr. Kanski's highly effective format of succinct text and visually dynamic presentation, providing authoritative, focused guidance on the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. Extremely well organized and comprehensive in scope, this visually stunning book reflects the latest advances in the field, facilitating quick comprehension to enhance learning, aid exam preparation and guide clinical practice. As a general ophthalmic textbook, this is the gold standard. Uses targeted text, bulleted lists, tables, and visual aids to highlight salient points across all ophthalmology subspecialties. Includes 2,600 illustrations, including more than 1,000 new images of common and rare conditions and arrows to show the exact pathology. Features detailed updates on new therapeutic interventions for neurological disease and ocular tumours; new imaging techniques such as OCT, OCT angiography, and MRI; and new topics such as circadian rhythms, graft vs host disease and the effects of Ebola virus infection on the eye. Presents examination techniques in a new, separate chapter and contains new "tips" on key issues in every chapter. Provides up-to-date information on hot topics such as intravitreal treatment with anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis and scleritis and new surgical advances such as MIGS for glaucoma and limbal stem cell grafting. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-12-13
Last-Minute Optics by David G. Hunter; Constance E. WestThe popular optics review manual, Last-Minute Optics: A Concise Review of Optics, Refraction, and Contact Lenses, has been revised and updated into a Second Edition. This unique resource boils down the overwhelming subject matter of clinical optics and refraction, helping the ophthalmologist cover the essentials in a single review manual. The content is based upon the practical experience of two clinically active experts who lecture on ophthalmic optics around the world. This updated Second Edition by Drs. David G. Hunter and Constance E. West includes new questions added to selected chapters and a new chapter covering refractive surgery, as well as a key chapter that helps you evaluate patients with symptoms related directly to optical or refractive concerns. The complex concepts of optics are revealed in easy-to-understand explanations enhanced by simple illustrations. Last-Minute Optics, Second Edition allows you to test your knowledge while increasing your understanding of optics. Designed in a clear, concise, question-and-answer format, this book allows for self-assessment and a chance to test your understanding before you read the answer. Features of the Second Edition: * Written in a light and approachable style to make optics accessible and understandable * Unique question-and-answer format allows for self-assessment while studying to identify areas where more work is needed * Perfect for limited study time * Includes real-life examples that are clinically relevant * Numerous practical tips to help enhance clinical practice * Includes 223 questions and answers Whether you're an ophthalmologist, ophthalmic technician, resident or student, reviewing the optics facts and concepts is easier with Last-Minute Optics: A Concise Review of Optics, Refraction, and Contact Lenses, Second Edition.
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology by Neil J. Friedman; Peter K. Kaiser; Roberto Pineda IIOffering current diagnostic and therapeutic guidance to manage ocular disorders, The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology, 5th Edition, remains the most comprehensive ophthalmology manual available. It provides practical information for efficient diagnosis and treatment decisions in a succinct, quick-reference format. Lavishly illustrated with more than 700 full-color images, this outstanding manual covers clinical descriptions, imaging and testing methods, treatment guidelines, and more, making it useful for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and ophthalmic allied health professionals. Utilizes a highly templated format that includes chapters organized anatomically, in addition to key boxes and highlighted emergency management boxes. Features new sections on infectious uveitis, refractive procedures, toxic maculopathies, color blindness, limbal stem cell deficiency, neurotrophic keratitis, Terson syndrome, age-related choroidal atrophy, Norrie disease, Aicardi's syndrome, and many others. Includes new images throughout, including OCTA images, as well as two new videos on ocular motility testing and one-and-a-half syndrome. Provides diagnostic and therapeutic updates on dry eye, diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, hereditary retinal diseases, ocular tumors, idiopathic intracranial hypertension, and more. Contains bonus appendices that provide a wealth of supplemental information helpful for the non-specialist, including guidance on the basics in examination methods, differential diagnosis, common medications, abbreviations, measurements and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020-03-13
Pharmacology of Ocular Therapeutics by Thirumurthy Velpandian (Editor)This book comprises an integrated review of ocular therapeutics across all relevant fields. It addresses the real-world requirements of ophthalmologists, pharmacists and optometrists, as observed through working alongside these practitioners for two decades. Knowledge surrounding agents used in ophthalmic practice has, historically, been scattered. The book facilitates understanding of ocular drug therapy by compiling all key aspects of the pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutical science, ocular biochemistry and cell biology of these agents. Chapters detail drug transfer across barriers, systemic toxicity of topically applied drugs, autonomic drugs used for diagnostics, as well as anti-inflammatory, antiallergic, glaucoma and antimicrobial therapies, and avenues for the development of new ocular drugs. Applications of extemporaneously prepared formulations are described to inform day-to-day clinical practice. The use of mucoadhesive polymers in tear substitutes, ocular drug delivery systems, stem cell therapy, pharmacogenomics and antiangiogenic ocular chemotherapy are also explored. The book also provides insights from drugs of herbal origin, and a historical perspective on drugs for ocular use. Practicing and resident ophthalmologists, optometrists, pharmacists, nursing professionals, scholars in ocular drug research and students will equally benefit from this comprehensive guide.
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Practical Ophthalmology by Preston H. BlomquistOphthalmology residents are faced with learning a highly complex subspecialty; proper training and education are critical to their success. Practical Ophthalmology, A Manual for Beginning Residents helps residents gain confidence and specific knowledge in the early transition to becoming skilled practitioners. This updated edition includes: Thorough coverage of the ophthalmic examination. A comprehensive discussion of ocular emergencies. Common ocular medications. 240 photographs, diagrams and tables. Stepwise instructions for 54 specific examination and testing techniques. 20+ new videos and interactive activities. Practical Ophthalmology, A Manual for Beginning Residents is part of a suite of Academy textbooks for ophthalmology residents and trainees that helps them build a solid foundation of clinical and surgical knowledge. These resources are written and edited by leading residency program directors and are powerful tools for mastering needed skills.
Publication Date: 2022-01-30
Review of Ophthalmology by William B. Trattler; Neil J. Friedman; Peter K. KaiserDon't take chances with your exam prep! Trust Review of Ophthalmology to help you study all the current information you need to know to ace your exams! Efficiently review a wide spectrum of topics with an organization by common ophthalmologic subspecialties. Maximize retention with a popular outline approach that distills key information on each topic alongside sample review questions. Review the findings of many important clinical studies with which you are expected to be familiar. Test your understanding of essential information with questions at the end of each chapter and answers at the end of the book. Study on the go, search the complete text online, and download images at www.expertconsult.com. Be fully prepared for current exam topics with information on the latest techniques in corneal surgery, macular degeneration treatment and trials, and expanded treatment options for many sections. View anatomic details, common ophthalmic test findings, and examples of classic histopathology specimens through brand-new illustrations and photographs. Ace your exams with Trattler, Friedman and Kaiser's Review of Ophthalmology!
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
The Wills Eye Manual by Nika Bagheri; Charles Calvo (Editor); Alia Durrani (Editor); Brynn Wajda (Editor)For more than 25 years, The Wills Eye Manual has been a best-selling source of authoritative guidance on treating ocular disorders in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting. The 7th Edition introduces exciting new changes to bring this pocket-sized reference thoroughly up to date - including extensive multimedia content - while retaining the features that have made it so useful in daily practice. New to this edition: Recent major clinical trials data Expertly produced videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques Changing trends in trauma, oculoplastics, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, and more Outstanding features you've come to expect from the Wills Eye Manual: The most accurate and current information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions Effective clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment Concise outline format for portability and quick reference All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country It's everything you wanted to know and nothing more. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2016-06-11
Cornea by Mark J. Mannis; Edward J. HollandHighly praised in its first three editions, Cornea has become a market-leading cornerstone text and the immediate go-to resource for anyone working in this hugely popular and evolving sub-specialty. Offered over two volumes and featuring the knowledge of over 200 experts worldwide, it presents state-of-the-art coverage of the expanding range of contemporary corneal surgery, new diagnostic technology, and medical management of corneal and external disease as well as ocular surface disease. This updated edition includes 20 brand-new chapters and 60 video clips, while an enhanced focus on images provides key visual guidance in this challenging field. Exceptionally clear illustrations, diagnostic images, and step-by-step surgical photographs offer superb visual guidance. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 20 brand-new chapters cover the latest advances in the field, such as DMEK, Ultra-Thin DSEK and DSAEK techniques; endothelial cell transplantation; keratoplasty and prosthokeratoplasty techniques; collagen cross-linking; and new refractive surgical techniques (presbyopic implants and SMILE surgery). 60 video clips on Expert Consult show new footage of the latest corneal surgery techniques, including Boston Keratoprosthesis, corneal inlay surgery, and lenticule extraction. Boasts over 170 chapters with unique, cutting-edge content, as well as 2,300 clear illustrations - 670 of which are new to this edition. Presents a detailed exposition of the growing number of techniques for lamellar keratoplasty, including outcomes. Includes new sections on the latest developments in the management of ocular surface disease. Key point overviews in each chapter offer easier access to crucial information.
Publication Date: 2022
Cornea Atlas by Jay H. Krachmer; David A. PalayGet an unprecedented view of corneal disease with Cornea Atlas by Jay H. Krachmer, MD and David A. Palay, MD. Hailed as the sharpest, most accurate collection of corneal images available, it is the only atlas that offers such an easy-to-understand, up-to-date review of clinical presentations and surgical techniques for all corneal and external eye disorders. "I have decided that I am going to buy this book for every rotating ophthalmology resident and give it to them to read and study (and keep) at the beginning of their cornea rotation!" Reviewed by: Dr David Heidemann, March 2015 Sharpen your diagnostic and surgical skills for all corneal and external eye disorders - including tumors, dystrophic and degenerative disorders, inflammatory diseases, corneal manifestations of systemic disease, traumatic injuries, and therapeutic and reconstructive surgical procedures. Rely on the expertise of internationally renowned ophthalmologists who have developed many innovative techniques for diagnosing and treating corneal and external eye diseases. Apply the latest techniques and advances in corneal disease and ophthalmology, including endothelial keratoplasty and deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty (DALK). Gain clear visual guidance on the full range of corneal and external eye disorders thanks to 1300 of the best corneal images from the world's top ophthalmologists! Navigate a full range of challenges from routine procedures to post-operative complications. Identify and examine key diagnostic features through magnified insets. Access the fully searchable contents online at Expert Consult.
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Corneal Transplantation by Jesper Hjortdal (Editor)This textbook reviews the novel techniques employed in corneal transplantation. It will assist fellows and corneal surgeons in using these techniques to best effect and in selecting patients for surgical procedures, taking into account the benefits and risks. Until 15 years ago the state-of-the art type of corneal transplantation was penetrating keratoplasty. Since the start of this millennium, however, important advances have been made in developing new surgical techniques. Today, the vast majority of keratoplasty procedures are performed as delicate lamellar procedures, either with the assistance of fine microkeratomes or femtosecond lasers or using very advanced surgical dissection procedures. Corneal Transplantation provides detailed information on these and other advances, which have helped patients undergoing keratoplasty to achieve a much faster visual recovery and a more stable eye with less risk of rejection episodes. ​
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Ocular Surface Disease by Ali R. Djalilian (Editor)Using a case-based format to help disseminate some of the hard-to-find information on ocular surface disease, this book is written and edited by leaders in this rapidly evolving field. Each chapter is built around three actual patient cases with varying degrees of complexity whereby detailed aspects of the care are described in order to provide practical information and illustrate real world challenges. Ocular Surface Disease covers the most common disorders, ranging from dry eye disease and tear film insufficiency to the more severe cicatricial diseases. The role and application of both medical and surgical treatments are carefully explained. The book is intended for ophthalmologists, both in practice or in training, who are seeking an update on the more advanced clinical practices
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Ocular Surface Disease: Cornea, Conjunctiva and Tear Film by Edward J. Holland; Mark J. Mannis; W. Barry LeeOcular Surface Disease: Cornea, Conjunctiva and Tear Film incorporates current research and the latest management strategies as well as classification systems and treatment paradigms for all forms of ocular surface disease. This is the first comprehensive resource that helps you to meet ocular surface disease challenges effectively using today's best medical and surgical approaches. Get the complete, evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your patients with ocular surface disease. Implement the latest drug treatments and surgical interventions to provide better outcomes with fewer complications. Hone and expand your surgical skills by watching videos of leading experts performing advanced procedures including ocular surface transplantation techniques; amniotic membrane transplantation; pterygium surgery; lamellar keratoplasty (DALK) in ocular surface disease; and keratoprosthesis surgery. Visualize how to proceed by reviewing detailed, full-color images and consulting new classification systems and treatment paradigms for mild to severe forms of ocular surface disease. Take it with you anywhere! Access the full text, downloadable image library, video clips, and more online at expertconsult.com.
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma by Malik Y. Kahook (Editor); Joel S. Schuman (Editor)Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma - one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition - includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with contributions from the late David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase (ROCK) inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The US Food and Drug Administration's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Glaucoma by Tarek Shaarawy; Mark B. Sherwood; Roger A. Hitchings; Jonathan G. CrowstonAs the irreversible effects of glaucoma can lead to blindness, there is high demand for early diagnosis and an ongoing need for practitioners to adopt new and evolving medical and surgical treatment options to improve patient outcomes. Glaucoma, Second Edition is the most comprehensive text and online resource in the field delivering expert guidance for the most timely and effective diagnosis and treatment of glaucoma - aimed at specialists, fellows and general ophthalmologists. More than 300 contributors from six continents provide a truly global perspective and explore new approaches in this user friendly reference which has been updated with enhanced images, more spotlights, new videos, and more. "...this two-volume glaucoma textbook is of outstanding quality in any respect...It truly deserves wide distribution amongst general ophthalmologists and glaucoma experts alike." Reviewed by Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol, Oct 2014 Get all the accuracy, expertise, and dependability you could ask for from leading specialists across six continents, for expert guidance and a fresh understanding of the subject. Develop a thorough, clinically relevant understanding of all aspects of adult and pediatric glaucoma in Volume One, and the latest diagnostic imaging techniques including ultrasound biomicroscopy and optical coherence tomography. Broaden your surgical repertoire with the latest surgical techniques - such as trabeculectomy, gonio-surgery, combined surgeries, and implant procedures - in Volume Two. Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information about stem cell research, gene transfer, and implants. Find answers fast thanks to a well-organized, user-friendly full-color layout. Access the complete contents online at Expert Consult. Stay at the forefront of your field with 10 brand new chapters on trending topics including: new surgical approaches such as trabectome and canoplasty; glaucoma implications in cataract and ocular surface disease; and, updates in the costs-effectiveness of medical management. Avoid pitfalls and achieve the best outcomes thanks to more than 40 brand new spotlight commentaries from key leaders providing added insight, tips and pearls of wisdom across varying hot topics and advances in the field. Refine and improve your surgical skills by watching over 50 video clips depicting the latest techniques and procedures including: new trabeculectomy methods, needling, implants, valve complications, and more. Prevent and plan for complications in advance by examining over 1,600 illustrations, photos and graphics (1,250 in color) capturing essential diagnostics techniques, imaging methods and surgical approaches. Grasp each procedure and review key steps quickly with chapter summary boxes that provide at-a-glance quick comprehension of the key take away points. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Glaucoma Surgery by Luigi Caretti (Editor); Lucio Buratto (Editor)This book illustrates effective surgical techniques for treating glaucoma in a practical and easy to follow format. Within the various chapters the different steps for all surgical procedures are clearly described to guide the reader through each clinical presentation. There are many drawings with detailed explanations regarding incisional surgical techniques such as trabeculectomy, shunts and non perforating techniques, canaloplasty and modern Microinvasive Glaucoma Surgeries (MIGSs). Surgical anatomy, different anesthetic techniques, medical therapy, laser treatments and choice of treatment to contrast glaucoma are also explained throughout the book. Finally there are three chapters on the most modern and effective surgical procedures, drawn up by leading internationally renowned ophthalmologists. This book will be an essential clinical resource for a wide range of readers including ophthalmologists in training, experienced surgeons and glaucoma specialists.
Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology by Neil R. Miller; Prem S. Subramanian (Editor); Vivek R. Patel (Editor)Focus on the most important clinical knowledge in neuro-ophthalmology! Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology: The Essentials distills the most vital content from the esteemed three-volume parent text, Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology, widely acknowledged as the definitive reference in the field, to bring you just the practical, hands-on information you need to effectively evaluate and manage the majority of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. A concise, intuitive organization speeds your access to today's best know-how, so you can efficiently provide optimal care to your patients. Features: Make the best use of the newest imaging techniques, including OCT, high-resolution CT/MRI, and multifocal ERG. Manage the full gamut of neuro-ophthalmological disorders with the aid of five sections that thoroughly cover the afferent visual system, the pupil, the efferent (oculomotor) system, the eyelid, and non-organic disorders. Glean information at a glance through a highly visual presentation that includes clear diagrams, tables, and images, many now in color. Evaluate complex eye movement disorders by viewing helpful videos online. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Atlas of Oculoplastic and Orbital Surgery by Jonathan DuttonNow with more than 1,100 detailed and accurate medical illustrations, this second edition of Atlas of Oculoplastic and Orbital Surgery offers detailed step-by-step instructions for 100 of the most common procedures--including 12 new ones--performed by eyelid, lacrimal, and orbital surgeons. In addition to technical steps, the book offers background material on pre-op prep and basic anatomy. You'll also find critical tips to help you prepare effectively for all your operations and to minimize post-operative complications. Each surgical step is matched side-by-side with an accurate and detailed illustration that depicts a surgeon's actual position during the surgery. Now with 12 new, highly-illustrated procedures to keep up with the types of injuries and disorders surgeons are encountering in patients. Updated with modifications and improvements to various procedures that have streamlined surgical techniques or otherwise improved patient outcomes. All illustrations have been designed by a medical illustrator with over 30 years of experience in the field. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Diseases and Disorders of the Orbit and Ocular Adnexa by Aaron Fay; Peter J. DolmanDrawing from the knowledge and expertise of more than 70 contributing international experts, Diseases and Disorders of the Orbit and Ocular Adnexa thoroughly covers the state of the art in orbital and periocular disease from the perspective of a variety of specialties. Clearly written and profusely illustrated, it covers the clinical presentation, pathophysiology, natural history, and management alternatives of disease processes affecting the orbit, eyelids, lacrimal system, and upper face. With a singular focus on the diagnosis and management of orbital and ocular adnexal disease, this authoritative text gives you the information you need to excel both in practice and on exams in the specialty of ophthalmic plastic and reconstructive surgery. Offers an in-depth and thorough approach to the pathophysiology of oculoplastics and orbital disease, incorporating the perspectives of numerous specialties - all in one convenient volume. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated format throughout so you can find what you need quickly. Covers new information not included in other texts, such as antibody testing in dysthyroid conditions and a rapidly emerging array of targeted immunosuppressive medications for the treatment of inflammatory orbital disease. Includes hot topics such as the classification and management of orbital inflammatory disease; vascular neoplasms and malformations; periocular dermatology; burn management; facial paralytic disease; and the pathogenesis, evaluation and management of lymphoproliferative disease. Features more than 1,200 high-quality clinical, imaging, and histological illustrations that provide clear visual examples of orbital disease. Written by an international team of experts from five continents (across multiple specialties including ophthalmology, dermatology, burn management, plastic surgery, otolaryngology, endocrinology, and pathology) led by Dr. Aaron Fay and Dr. Peter J. Dolman. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Manual of Oculoplastic Surgery by Mark R. Levine (Editor); Richard C. Allen (Editor)For the last two decades, this best-selling, step-by-step guide to oculoplastic surgery has been highly respected and widely used by ophthalmologists, oculofacial plastic fellows, residents, ENT-facial plastic surgeons, and general plastic surgeons. The revised and updated fifth edition of Manual of Oculoplastic Surgery is designed to guide the physician in exploring and completing a variety of ocular plastic procedures in a comprehensive and logical step-by-step sequence. It features new authors. Sections include: Trauma, Lacrimal Surgery, Cosmetic, Congenital Ptosis, Acquired Ptosis, Eyelid Malposition, Facial Nerve Dysfunction, Eyelid Flaps, Orbital Surgery, and Therapeutic Considerations. Each procedure in this must-have resource includes a review of the surgical anatomy, step-by-step instructions, plus the book is complete with more than one hundred color illustrations and dozens of surgical videos for further education.
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
Oculoplastics and Orbit by Rudolf F. Guthoff (Editor); James A. Katowitz (Editor)The 8 recurring volumes of the "Essentials in Ophthalmology" series cover the most recent developments in one of eight subspecialties in Ophthalmology. With four volumes published per year, each subspecialty is newly visited every 24 months, with a distinct focus on recent developments. By bridging the gap between original research and medical textbooks, the transfer of this developing knowledge into daily practice is greatly enhanced.
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
Pediatric Oculoplastic Surgery by James A. Katowitz (Editor); William R. Katowitz (Editor)This well-illustrated book presents the latest diagnostic concepts and management techniques in the rapidly expanding subspecialty of pediatric oculofacial plastic surgery. Covering all aspects of the field and taking into account numerous surgical innovations and exciting new medical treatment concepts that have emerged since publication of the previous edition in 2002, Pediatric Oculoplastic Surgery, 2nd Edition will prove to be an invaluable resource for both the comprehensive ophthalmologist and the subspecialist with a particular interest in pediatric disorders of the eyelids, orbit, and nasolacrimal system. Topics discussed, in addition to clearly illustrated basic oculoplastic procedures, include surgical innovations ranging from the Sonopet system for safer removal of bone in lacrimal surgery to the development of complex image guidance technology for sinus and orbital surgery. Detailed discussion of syndromic and non-syndromic congenital anomalies explore a variety of surgical techniques and the nuances of applying these approaches in the management of various structural abnormalites. Further important advances include new analytic laboratory techniques, which can illuminate the genetic basis of many pediatric oculoplastic disorders, various medical management advances such as the role of beta blockers in the treatment of facial and orbital hemangiomas, and the development of biologic pathway blockers inhibiting tumor growth which offer real potential for reducing the necessity of surgical intervention.
Publication Date: 2017-12-27
Techniques in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery by Jeffrey A. NeradThis unique tutorial textbook offers beginners and experts the information to start or enhance an oculofacial surgery practice. Whether your background is Ophthalmology, ENT, Plastic Surgery or Dermatology, you will appreciate the "over the shoulder" approach to teaching as Dr. Nerad gives you the basics and the secrets of years of practice in the field. Covering everything from foundational concepts to state-of-the-art advances, this book contains over 500 illustrations and photos, superbly illustrating a step-by-step outline to today's oculoplastic surgical techniques, teaching diagnostic and procedural aspects of practice. The long-anticipated 2nd Edition of Techniques in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery: A Personal Tutorial is a "must read" for any surgeon interested in the field. Offers a unique, conversational approach to complex topics. Dr. Nerad's writing style mimics a "one-on-one" tutorial, helping you learn even the most intimidating oculoplastic surgical techniques. Reflects current practice with significant updates throughout, including updated coverage of both cosmetic and functional procedures to improve "how you see and how you look". Features the latest aesthetic eyelid and facelift procedures and new filler and botulinum toxin techniques in addition to functional procedures that are aimed at restoring vision. Outlines important anatomy and diagnostic considerations alongside step-by-step procedural guidance. Provides clear visual guidance with an outstanding combination of over 600 high-quality artworks and surgical photos. Includes access to over 90 video clips that depict select procedures, showing you Dr. Nerad's techniques and tips in real time. Features checkpoint boxes and major point reviews in each chapter as a quick reminder of critical points in addition to comprehensive suggested reading lists for further study. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery by Bobby S. Korn; Don O. KikkawaIdeal for oculofacial, facial/cosmetic plastic, and dermatologic surgeons, the updated Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery brings together high-definition quality video and accompanying color atlas to help you master the latest reconstructive and cosmetic surgical procedures of the eyelid, lacrimal system, orbit, and face. Superb illustrations combined with expanded coverage of over 70 techniques deliver a complete multimedia resource to help perfect your surgical skills. Professionally edited high-definition video clips with author narration, labels, freeze frames, and digital overlays explain the key steps of each technique. Includes high-resolution screen grabs throughout the text to pinpoint key stages of the procedures. Includes 40 new and revised chapters covering the hottest procedures: aesthetic and revisional eyelid surgery; complex periocular reconstructions; Asian eyelid surgery; periocular fat transfer; and minimally invasive brow- and face-lift surgery. Features over 70 professionally captured, high-definition surgical videos with 5 hours running time. Expertly edited footage with narration provides the nuances and pearls of every technique, and unique freeze frames with digital overlays enhance specific areas of interest. Comprehensively covers the essential procedures in the field, such as upper and lower blepharoplasty, ptosis repair, endoscopic brow lifting, botulinum toxin, oculofacial reconstruction, eyelid malposition repairs, endoscopic lacrimal surgery, and advanced orbital surgery techniques. Over 1,600 illustrations in the atlas include intra-operative photos taken directly from the high-definition video, as well as new "before and after" patient images. A consistent chapter format with indications, preoperative evaluations, surgical techniques, complications and consumables used during surgery allows you to grasp the key points of every procedure. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the videos, text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-05-25
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Kenneth W. Wright (Editor); Yi Ning J. Strube (Editor)For over the past ten years Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus has become the leading textbook in the specialty of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. A comprehensive, user-friendly text written and organized by leading pediatric ophthalmologists, this newly updated third edition willcertainly live up to the top-selling, authoritative volume that preceded it.Both encyclopedic in scope and breadth, this new edition is now more illustrative than ever, and includes:* More than 680 detailed color photographs.* Tables, charts, and decision-making guidelines add to the practicality of the text.* A DVD with edited short videos of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus surgery performed by experts in the field. Featured surgeries include: plastics, glaucoma, intraocular contact lens refractive, strabismus, and various techniques of cataract/IOL implantation.The third edition of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus also includes fully-revised and updated chapters to elucidate the latest discoveries in pediatric ophthalmology and the fields of strabismus, ophthalmic genetics, and pediatric retina. More portable and highly illustrative, this extremelyuseful text is still a major reference in this field.
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Taylor and Hoyt's Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, 5th ed.New chapters, new editors and contributors, and an upgraded video collection make Taylor and Hoyt's Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, 5th Edition, the most current and complete reference available in this evolving field. Editors Scott R. Lambert and Christopher J. Lyons, both globally recognized leaders, provide authoritative coverage of all the pediatric ophthalmic conditions you're likely to encounter in practice, including the latest clinical advances in etiology, diagnosis, and medical and surgical management. Expert guidance on the complete spectrum of childhood eye disorders and strabismus, including a unique "practical problems" section designed to help you handle difficult patient situations. More than 1,800 high-quality images and artworks provide visual guidance in diagnosis and management. A practical "how to" perform strabismus surgery chapter with extensive step-by-step artworks for complete visual guidance. Comprehensive updates of all topics, with nine brand-new chapters covering significant advances in the management of refractive errors in children; binocular vision; conjunctival tumors; optimal approaches to patient-family communication, and a unique chapter on the impact of mobile apps for the pediatric ophthalmologist. State-of-the-art coverage of key areas such as OCT and all of the newest imaging techniques for the eye, orbit and visual pathways; anti-VEGF treatment for retinopathy of prematurity; and minimally invasive strabismus surgery. An expanded video collection with more than 60 narrated instructional clips depicting multiple diagnostic and surgical techniques. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Clinical Ophthalmic Oncology: Retinoblastoma by Jesse L. Berry (Editor); Jonathan W. Kim (Editor); Bertil E. Damato (Editor); Arun D. Singh (Editor)Written by internationally renowned experts, the 3rd edition of this six volume textbook provides detailed practical guidance and advice on the diagnosis and management of the complete range of ocular cancers. Supplying the reader with state-of-the-art knowledge required in order to identify these cancers early and to treat them as effectively as possible, this book is divided into six volumes: Basic Principles, Eyelid and Conjunctival Tumors, Orbital Tumors, Uveal Tumors, Retinal Tumors, and Retinoblastoma. The information presented enables readers to provide effective patient care using the latest knowledge on ophthalmic oncology and to verify diagnostic conclusions based on comparison with numerous full-color clinical photographs from the authors' private collections, histopathologic microphotographs, imaging studies, and crisp illustrations. Clinical Ophthalmic Oncology's clinically focused and user-friendly format allows for rapid retrieval of information in daily practice and is written for residents, fellows, and any physician involved in the care of patients with ocular or orbital malignancies. Additionally, this edition adds several hundred new images to improve comprehension of procedures and techniques. This volume describes the classification, differential diagnosis, and imaging of retinoblastoma and discusses the most suitable treatment options for different tumor types.​
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Eyelid, Conjunctival, and Orbital Tumors: an Atlas and Textbook by Jerry A. Shields; Carol L. ShieldsSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! For outstanding visual clarity in ocular diagnosis ... nothing else comes close. In this updated and revised third edition, world-renowned authorities from the Wills Eye Hospital provide outstanding guidance on recognition, evaluation, and treatment of ocular tumors, highlighted by more than 3,000 stunning photographs and surgical drawings. This unsurpassed ocular oncology resource is a comprehensive guide to the clinical features, diagnosis, management, and pathology of eyelid, conjunctival, and orbital tumors and pseudotumors, depicting clinical variations, treatment and histopathologic characteristics of the wide spectrum of neoplasms and related lesions. Now brought thoroughly up to date with recent clinical and scientific innovations, this unique volume offers more high-quality images than any other text/atlas in the field. Presents each entity in an easy-to-follow format: a concise description with references on the left-hand page and six illustrations on the right-hand page. Depicts in precise photographic detail the gross and microscopic features that distinguish each type of lesion, while professional drawings and intraoperative photographs demonstrate key surgical principles and procedures. Includes numerous new references regarding diagnosis and treatment, as well as new scientific tables containing key information for your clinical practice. Features 25% new images, including panoramic images, surgical images, diagnostic testing images from multiple modalities, and updated, high resolution MRI and CT scans. Covers new information on evolving conditions such as IgG4 orbital inflammatory disease, solitary fibrous tumor of the orbit, and lymphoid proliferations of the orbit, conjunctiva, and globe; as well as new methods of nonsurgical therapy such as topical chemotherapy, intravenous chemotherapy, and immunotherapy and biological therapy with Rituxan for lymphoma; and new information on classification of various tumors and expected outcomes are clearly displayed in table format. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2015-10-17
Gass' Atlas of Macular DiseasesThe Fifth Edition of Gass' Atlas of Macular Diseases, by Dr. Anita Agarwal, provides expert diagnostic guidance on macular disorders and quickly brings you up to date on this evolving specialty. Using a case-based approach, it richly depicts a full range of retina and macular diseases, including new infectious, degenerative, and dystrophic conditions. Take advantage of the latest imaging technologies to identify common and rare disorders, and confirm difficult diagnoses with the aid of more than 5,500 high-quality images. Printed in full color for the first time, this edition is accessible online at www.expertconsult.com. "... appropriate for highly ambitious residents, retina fellows and specialists, and general ophthalmologists who are looking for an excellent reference book with a proud lineage and impeccable reputation." Reviewed by ESCRS EuroTimes (European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery), Apr 2015 Rely on the same unique, richly illustrated case-descriptive format-encompassing history, clinical examination, and follow-up-that popularized the original book by the late Dr. Donald Gass, the famed ophthalmologist whose clinical expertise set new standards in macular diagnosis. Get expert diagnostic guidance under the new authorship of Dr. Anita Agarwal, a prot#65533;g#65533; of Dr. Gass who has compiled the ultimate collection of images and hard-to-find case studies from around the world. Visualize the conditions you're likely to see in practice and confirm your diagnoses by comparing your clinical findings to more than 5,500 images and illustrations (over 3,500 in full color). Obtain thorough advice on imaging and recognition of a full range of common and rare macular diseases using the latest approaches including fluorescein angiography, optical coherence tomography (OCT), indocyanine green (ICG), and fundus autofluorescence. Search the complete text online, download the illustrations and view a bonus stereoscopic image gallery at www.expertconsult.com. Gass is your definitive guide to identifying the most common and rare conditions, with unique case presentations from around the world!
Publication Date: 2011-12-23
Handbook of Retinal OCT: Optical Coherence Tomography by Jay S. Duker; Nadia K. Waheed; Darin GoldmanArguably the most important ancillary test available to ophthalmologists worldwide, optical coherence tomography (OCT) has revolutionized the field, and now includes angiographic evaluations (OCTA) that provide vascular flow data without eye injection. Handbook of Retinal OCT is an easy-to-use, high-yield guide to both OCT and OCTA imaging for practitioners at any stage of their career. Highly templated, concise, and portable, this revised edition helps you master the latest imaging methods used to evaluate retinal disease, uveitis, and optic nerve disorders. Helps all health professionals with an interest in OCT to better and more quickly interpret OCT imaging, offering quick, highly visual guidance for evaluating age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, retinal vein occlusion, and much more. Provides quick answers with bulleted, templated chapters, each focused on one specific diagnosis or group of diagnoses with a particular OCT appearance. Demonstrates how the full spectrum of diseases presents through approximately 400 illustrations, including the highest-quality spectral-domain OCT images available and more than 50 new OCTA images. Includes five new chapters covering optic nerve disease with retinal findings, pachychoroid diseases, paracentral acute middle maculopathy (PAMM), auto-immune retinopathies, and primary uveal lymphoma. Offers clear visual guidance on image patterns with multiple arrows and labels throughout to highlight key details of each disease. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access bonus images plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Intraocular Tumors: an Atlas and Textbook by Jerry A. Shields; Carol L. ShieldsSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! For outstanding visual clarity in ocular diagnosis ... nothing else comes close. In this updated and revised third edition, world-renowned authorities at the Wills Eye Hospital provide outstanding guidance on recognition, evaluation, and treatment of ocular tumors, highlighted by more than 2,500 stunning photographs and surgical drawings. This unsurpassed ocular oncology resource is a comprehensive guide to the clinical features, diagnosis, management, and pathology of intraocular tumors and pseudotumors, depicting clinical variations, treatment, and histopathologic characteristics of the many varied benign and malignant lesions that affect the uveal tract, retina, and other intraocular structures. Now brought thoroughly up to date with recent clinical and scientific innovations, this unique volume has been greatly expanded with over 25% new material, and offers more high-quality images than any other text/atlas in the field. Presents each entity in an easy-to-follow format: a concise description with references on the left-hand page and six illustrations on the right-hand page. Depicts in precise photographic detail the gross and microscopic features that distinguish each condition, while professional drawings and intraoperative photographs demonstrate key surgical principles and procedures. Features numerous new references regarding diagnosis and treatment, as well as new scientific tables containing key information for your clinical practice. Features 25% new images, including panoramic images, surgical images, diagnostic testing images from multiple modalities, and updated OCT images with numerous enhanced depth imaging OCT (EDI-OCT). Covers new information on evolving conditions such as the management of choroidal nevus and melanoma with guidance for early detection using risk factors; information on the newest treatment for retinoblastoma with intra-arterial and intravenous chemotherapy; management of intraocular tumors with photodynamic therapy. Important new information on genetics of uveal melanoma, the implications of genetics, and treatment outcomes is described Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2015-10-10
Management of Complicated Vitreoretinal Diseases by Fabio Patelli (Editor); Stanislao Rizzo (Editor)This book provides the vitreoretinal surgeon with advice and guidance on how to treat and manage the unpredictable complexities and potential intra- and postoperative complications that are encountered during the course of vitreoretinal surgery. Internationally renowned surgeons share their extensive surgical experience in a clearly written and well-illustrated format, delivering helpful practical answers to the important problems frequently confronted in this ever-challenging area of ophthalmic surgery. Management of Complicated Vitreoretinal Diseases will appeal to surgeons young and old, and will find its home not only in the library but also in the office and the operating room itself. The open and positive way in which the many scenarios and difficulties encountered in surgery are confronted will improve the expertise of the surgeon and, most importantly, the outcomes for patients.
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
Manual of Retinal Diseases by Carlos A. Medina (Editor); Justin H. Townsend (Editor); Arun D. Singh (Editor)This book is a comprehensive source of authoritative information on the clinical features,diagnosis, differential diagnosis, and management of medical and surgical retinal diseases. The Manual has 122 chapters, organized in 18 sections covering medical and surgical aspects of retinal diseases such as trauma, AMD, Uveitis, infections, endophthalmitis, pediatric diseases, dystrophies, and tumors. Easy-to-read chapters convey the fundamental concepts with the aid of clinical photographs, imaging studies (including fluorescein and indocyanine angiograms, ultrasonograms, CT scans, and MRI scans) and tables. The manual is of value to a wide range of practitioners and trainees, including students,residents, fellows and ophthalmologists who treat retinal diseases.
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Ryan's Retina by SriniVas R. Sadda (Editor); Andrew P. Schachat (Editor); Charles P. Wilkinson (Editor); David R. Hinton (Editor); Peter Wiedemann (Editor); K. Bailey Freund (Editor); David Sarraf (Editor)Through six outstanding and award-winning editions, Ryan's Retina has offered unsurpassed coverage of this complex subspecialty-everything from basic science through the latest research, therapeutics, technology, and surgical techniques. The fully revised 7th Edition, edited by Drs. SriniVas R. Sadda, Andrew P. Schachat, Charles P. Wilkinson, David R. Hinton, Peter Wiedemann, K. Bailey Freund, and David Sarraf, continues the tradition of excellence, balancing the latest scientific research and clinical correlations and covering everything you need to know on retinal diagnosis, treatment, development, structure, function, and pathophysiology. More than 300 global contributors share their knowledge and expertise to create the most comprehensive reference available on retina today. Features sweeping content updates, including new insights into the fundamental pathogenic mechanisms of age-related macular degeneration, advances in imaging including OCT angiography and intraoperative OCT, new therapeutics for retinal vascular disease and AMD, novel immune-based therapies for uveitis, and the latest in instrumentation and techniques for vitreo-retinal surgery. Includes five new chapters covering Artificial Intelligence and Advanced Imaging Analysis, Pachychoroid Disease and Its Association with Polypoidal Choroidal Vasculopathy, Retinal Manifestations of Neurodegeneration, Microbiome and Retinal Disease, and OCT-Angiography. Includes more than 50 video clips (35 new to this edition) highlighting the latest surgical techniques, imaging guidance, and coverage of complications of vitreoretinal surgery. New videos cover Scleral Inlay for Recurrent Optic Nerve Pit Masculopathy, Trauma with Contact Lens, Recurrent Retinal Detachment due to PVR, Asteroid Hyalosis, and many more. Contains more than 2,000 high-quality images (700 new to this edition) including anatomical illustrations, clinical and surgical photographs, diagnostic imaging, decision trees, and graphs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2022-07-07
Whitcup and Nussenblatt's Uveitis by Scott M. Whitcup; H. Nida SenComprehensive and readable, Whitcup and Nussenblatt's Uveitis, 5th Edition, covers every aspect of this complex subspecialty in a single convenient volume. This clinically relevant guide covers the medical, pharmacological, and surgical treatment of uveitis in a visually rich, full-color format, offering a complete overview for today's clinicians. New and updated case studies, key points boxes, and more than 400 images and graphics highlight major clinical points and provide insight into real situations that you can apply in practice. Features multiple chapters on diagnostic approach to help you meet the challenge of making accurate diagnoses. Reflects advancements and new developments on all aspects of uveitis including new medical and surgical treatments. Covers key topics such as the use of PCR in diagnostic testing, cataract surgery in patients with uveitis, the use of OCT in diagnosis and treatment, new infectious causes of uveitis (including Zika and Ebola), and novel treatments for inflammatory eye disease. Includes new clinical photographs, illustrations, and OCT images throughout. Reviews new randomized clinical trials of new uveitis therapy, as well as the approach to patients with HIV and HIV-associated ocular diseases including CMV retinitis and immune recovery uveitis. Provides expanded information on masquerade syndromes with important tips on diagnosis and management of intraocular lymphoma. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.