Adler's Physiology of the Eye by Paul L. Kaufman; Albert Alm; Francis Heed Adler; Leonard A. Levin; Siv F. E. Nilsson; Samuel M. Wu; James Ver HoeveDrs. Paul L. Kaufman, Albert Alm, Leonard A Levin, Siv F. E. Nilsson, James Ver Hoeve, and Samuel Wu present the 11th Edition of the classic text Adler's Physiology of the Eye, updated to enhance your understanding of ocular function. This full-color, user-friendly edition captures the latest molecular, genetic, and biochemical discoveries and offers you unparalleled knowledge and insight into the physiology of the eye and its structures. A new organization by function, rather than anatomy, helps you make a stronger connection between physiological principles and clinical practice; and more than 1,000 great new full-color illustrations help clarify complex concepts. You can also access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com. Deepen your grasp of the physiological principles that underlie visual acuity, color vision, ocular circulation, the extraocular muscle, and much more. Glean the latest knowledge in the field, including the most recent molecular, genetic, and biochemical discoveries. Make a stronger connection between physiology and clinical practice with the aid of an enhanced clinical emphasis throughout, as well as a new organization by function rather than by anatomy. Better visualize all concepts by viewing 1,000 clear, full-color illustrations. Access the complete contents online at expertconsult.com. The new and improved Adler's makes mastering the basic science of the eye engaging and easy
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Atlas of Ocular Anatomy by Mohammed Ansari; Ahmed NadeemThis book is a practical and concise atlas on ocular anatomy, with an emphasis on applied aspects and hints for easy retention strategies. The vast color illustrations and photographs consist of self-explanatory, precise, and meaningful representations of the points covered in the text. Covering chapters such as bony socket of the eye, extraocular muscles, eyelids, cornea and lens, and neurology of the eye, Atlas of Ocular Anatomy gives a summary of the important and relevant points for each topic, separating out the essential from the nonessential elements. Complete with representative schematic line diagrams and full color photographs, this atlas features the correlation between anatomic facts with their probable clinical presentations in disease.
Publication Date: 2016-09-08
Eye Pathology by Ralph C. EagleEye Pathology: An Atlas and Text is a basic introduction to eye pathology that can be read and mastered during an ophthalmic pathology rotation. In addition, it will serve as a well-illustrated resource for residents who are studying for the OKAP examinations or Board certification in ophthalmology. Completely written and illustrated by Dr. Eagle, this single-author text is primarily designed for ophthalmology residents and the comprehensive ophthalmologist not looking for a comprehensive text on the subject.
Publication Date: 2011-03-10
Ocular Pathology by Myron Yanoff; Joseph W. SassaniBridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology by Brad Bowling; John Salmon; Jack J. KanskiKanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach is the classic specialty text providing the perfect ophthalmology foundation for trainees through to experienced practitioners. The famous visually dynamic and succinct format enables easy comprehension and focused guidance in the diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders. "...must-have comprehensive reference for any general ophthalmic practice." Reviewed by Doody's Review Service, Sept 2015 "...outstanding and excellent textbook." Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, July 2015 "Whether you're learning ophthalmology for the first time, preparing for OKAP/board exams, or trying to remember some detail years down the road to help one of your patients, this text is a fantastic reference." Blog: Ophthalmologyreview, Nov 2015 Build the ultimate foundation in ophthalmology with this market-leading resource. Benefit from guidance on examination, imaging, and the recognition of systemic conditions associated with ocular disease. Completely revised by award-winning ophthalmic educator Brad Bowling, the eighth edition reflects the latest advances, making this an indispensable resource to enhance learning, aid exam preparation and guide clinical practice. Designed for rapid reference and efficient recall, the concise but comprehensive chapters use crisp targeted text, bulleted lists, tables and visual aids to highlight salient points across all ophthalmology subspecialties. Features detailed updates on key evolving topics such as the spectrum of macular disease, with many new disorders added to this edition across a range of subspecialties. Increased emphasis on practical investigation and management. Includes 2,600 illustrations, images and artworks, with over 900 brand new for this edition, including ultra wide-field imaging, fundus autofluorescence, and high-resolution OCT. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and tables from the book on a variety of devices. Kanski & Bowling deliver everything you need to know about ophthalmology today in a multimedia format that ensures efficient, effective recall.
Publication Date: 2015-05-22
Last-Minute Optics by David G. Hunter; Constance E. WestThe popular optics review manual, Last-Minute Optics: A Concise Review of Optics, Refraction, and Contact Lenses, has been revised and updated into a Second Edition. This unique resource boils down the overwhelming subject matter of clinical optics and refraction, helping the ophthalmologist cover the essentials in a single review manual. The content is based upon the practical experience of two clinically active experts who lecture on ophthalmic optics around the world. This updated Second Edition by Drs. David G. Hunter and Constance E. West includes new questions added to selected chapters and a new chapter covering refractive surgery, as well as a key chapter that helps you evaluate patients with symptoms related directly to optical or refractive concerns. The complex concepts of optics are revealed in easy-to-understand explanations enhanced by simple illustrations. Last-Minute Optics, Second Edition allows you to test your knowledge while increasing your understanding of optics. Designed in a clear, concise, question-and-answer format, this book allows for self-assessment and a chance to test your understanding before you read the answer. Features of the Second Edition: * Written in a light and approachable style to make optics accessible and understandable * Unique question-and-answer format allows for self-assessment while studying to identify areas where more work is needed * Perfect for limited study time * Includes real-life examples that are clinically relevant * Numerous practical tips to help enhance clinical practice * Includes 223 questions and answers Whether you're an ophthalmologist, ophthalmic technician, resident or student, reviewing the optics facts and concepts is easier with Last-Minute Optics: A Concise Review of Optics, Refraction, and Contact Lenses, Second Edition.
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology by Peter K. Kaiser; Neil J. Friedman; Roberto Pineda II2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Internal Medicine Category! The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology is the must-have medical reference book for the ever-changing field of ophthalmology. Thoroughly updated to include the latest advances in the field, the fourth edition of this renowned manual features high-quality color images and an intuitive design for easy comprehension and reference. Ideal for ophthalmic practitioners and allied health professionals alike, this indispensable resource is your comprehensive guide for the speedy diagnosis and treatment of the most common eye disorders. Accurately diagnose problems through the support of full-color photographs and real case studies. Rapidly locate key information with a highly templated format that includes chapters organized anatomically, not by ophthalmic subspecialty, in addition to key boxes and highlighted emergency management boxes. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques in the diagnosis and treatment of ocular disease, including anti-VEGF therapy for retina disorders; optical coherence tomography and high-resolution imaging modalities; new corneal and refractive surgical approaches; advances in uveitis, glaucoma, neuro-ophthalmology; and more. Stay abreast of the most recent spectral domain OCT with numerous scans included throughout the book. Quickly address critical situations with highlighted emergency management boxes, as well as bonus appendices that provide a wealth of supplemental information helpful for the non-specialist, including guidance on the basics in examination methods, differential diagnosis, common medications, measurements and more. Identify subtleties and nuances by examining over 800 full-color illustrations depicting a complete range of clinical disorders, imaging and testing methods, and surgical techniques, as well as brand-new videos of eye movement examination. Access the full text and videos online at Expert Consult.
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Review of Ophthalmology by William B. Trattler; Neil J. Friedman; Peter K. KaiserDon't take chances with your exam prep! Trust Review of Ophthalmology to help you study all the current information you need to know to ace your exams! Efficiently review a wide spectrum of topics with an organization by common ophthalmologic subspecialties. Maximize retention with a popular outline approach that distills key information on each topic alongside sample review questions. Review the findings of many important clinical studies with which you are expected to be familiar. Test your understanding of essential information with questions at the end of each chapter and answers at the end of the book. Study on the go, search the complete text online, and download images at www.expertconsult.com. Be fully prepared for current exam topics with information on the latest techniques in corneal surgery, macular degeneration treatment and trials, and expanded treatment options for many sections. View anatomic details, common ophthalmic test findings, and examples of classic histopathology specimens through brand-new illustrations and photographs. Ace your exams with Trattler, Friedman and Kaiser's Review of Ophthalmology!
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
The Wills Eye Manual by Nika Bagheri; Charles Calvo (Editor); Alia Durrani (Editor); Brynn Wajda (Editor)For more than 25 years, The Wills Eye Manual has been a best-selling source of authoritative guidance on treating ocular disorders in an office, emergency room, or hospital setting. The 7th Edition introduces exciting new changes to bring this pocket-sized reference thoroughly up to date - including extensive multimedia content - while retaining the features that have made it so useful in daily practice. New to this edition: Recent major clinical trials data Expertly produced videos depicting a wide range of common procedures with step-by-step narration, carefully selected to complement key techniques Changing trends in trauma, oculoplastics, cornea, pediatrics, neuro-ophthalmology, uveitis, and more Outstanding features you've come to expect from the Wills Eye Manual: The most accurate and current information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions Effective clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment Concise outline format for portability and quick reference All chapters written and edited by the residents and attending ophthalmologists at one of busiest and largest eye hospitals in the country It's everything you wanted to know and nothing more. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2016-06-11
Intraocular Surgery by Thomas H. WilliamsonThis book instructs postgraduate trainees inophthalmology on the basic methodology required to perform intraocular surgery.The text is written clearly and concisely, investigating basic surgical skillsfor the eye to facilitate the training process. The subject material of eachchapter has been carefully chosen to explain separate conceptual areas insurgery to allow easy understanding and rapid attainment of knowledge. Theconcepts can be transferred from one surgical method to another, giving thereader the flexibility to adapt to new methods quickly. Intraocular Surgery - A Basic Surgical Guide provides variousinsights to allow the development of a thoughtful and considered approach tosurgery. It encourages the reader to more intelligently scrutinize whichsurgical methods to apply, and to utilize the most effective procedures inclinical practice. After reading thisbook, the reader will be well-equipped to perform the simple steps of surgery,improving the overall quality of surgery.
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Pharmacology of Ocular Therapeutics by Thirumurthy Velpandian (Editor)This book comprises an integrated review of ocular therapeutics across all relevant fields. It addresses the real-world requirements of ophthalmologists, pharmacists and optometrists, as observed through working alongside these practitioners for two decades. Knowledge surrounding agents used in ophthalmic practice has, historically, been scattered. The book facilitates understanding of ocular drug therapy by compiling all key aspects of the pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutical science, ocular biochemistry and cell biology of these agents. Chapters detail drug transfer across barriers, systemic toxicity of topically applied drugs, autonomic drugs used for diagnostics, as well as anti-inflammatory, antiallergic, glaucoma and antimicrobial therapies, and avenues for the development of new ocular drugs. Applications of extemporaneously prepared formulations are described to inform day-to-day clinical practice. The use of mucoadhesive polymers in tear substitutes, ocular drug delivery systems, stem cell therapy, pharmacogenomics and antiangiogenic ocular chemotherapy are also explored. The book also provides insights from drugs of herbal origin, and a historical perspective on drugs for ocular use. Practicing and resident ophthalmologists, optometrists, pharmacists, nursing professionals, scholars in ocular drug research and students will equally benefit from this comprehensive guide.
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Cornea by Mark J. Mannis; Edward J. HollandHighly praised in its first three editions, Cornea has become a market-leading cornerstone text and the immediate go-to resource for anyone working in this hugely popular and evolving sub-specialty. Offered over two volumes and featuring the knowledge of over 200 experts worldwide, it presents state-of-the-art coverage of the expanding range of contemporary corneal surgery, new diagnostic technology, and medical management of corneal and external disease as well as ocular surface disease. This updated edition includes 20 brand-new chapters and 60 video clips, while an enhanced focus on images provides key visual guidance in this challenging field. Exceptionally clear illustrations, diagnostic images, and step-by-step surgical photographs offer superb visual guidance. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 20 brand-new chapters cover the latest advances in the field, such as DMEK, Ultra-Thin DSEK and DSAEK techniques; endothelial cell transplantation; keratoplasty and prosthokeratoplasty techniques; collagen cross-linking; and new refractive surgical techniques (presbyopic implants and SMILE surgery). 60 video clips on Expert Consult show new footage of the latest corneal surgery techniques, including Boston Keratoprosthesis, corneal inlay surgery, and lenticule extraction. Boasts over 170 chapters with unique, cutting-edge content, as well as 2,300 clear illustrations - 670 of which are new to this edition. Presents a detailed exposition of the growing number of techniques for lamellar keratoplasty, including outcomes. Includes new sections on the latest developments in the management of ocular surface disease. Key point overviews in each chapter offer easier access to crucial information.
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Cornea Atlas by Jay H. Krachmer; David A. PalayGet an unprecedented view of corneal disease with Cornea Atlas by Jay H. Krachmer, MD and David A. Palay, MD. Hailed as the sharpest, most accurate collection of corneal images available, it is the only atlas that offers such an easy-to-understand, up-to-date review of clinical presentations and surgical techniques for all corneal and external eye disorders. "I have decided that I am going to buy this book for every rotating ophthalmology resident and give it to them to read and study (and keep) at the beginning of their cornea rotation!" Reviewed by: Dr David Heidemann, March 2015 Sharpen your diagnostic and surgical skills for all corneal and external eye disorders - including tumors, dystrophic and degenerative disorders, inflammatory diseases, corneal manifestations of systemic disease, traumatic injuries, and therapeutic and reconstructive surgical procedures. Rely on the expertise of internationally renowned ophthalmologists who have developed many innovative techniques for diagnosing and treating corneal and external eye diseases. Apply the latest techniques and advances in corneal disease and ophthalmology, including endothelial keratoplasty and deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty (DALK). Gain clear visual guidance on the full range of corneal and external eye disorders thanks to 1300 of the best corneal images from the world's top ophthalmologists! Navigate a full range of challenges from routine procedures to post-operative complications. Identify and examine key diagnostic features through magnified insets. Access the fully searchable contents online at Expert Consult.
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Corneal Transplantation by Jesper Hjortdal (Editor)This textbook reviews the novel techniques employed in corneal transplantation. It will assist fellows and corneal surgeons in using these techniques to best effect and in selecting patients for surgical procedures, taking into account the benefits and risks. Until 15 years ago the state-of-the art type of corneal transplantation was penetrating keratoplasty. Since the start of this millennium, however, important advances have been made in developing new surgical techniques. Today, the vast majority of keratoplasty procedures are performed as delicate lamellar procedures, either with the assistance of fine microkeratomes or femtosecond lasers or using very advanced surgical dissection procedures. Corneal Transplantation provides detailed information on these and other advances, which have helped patients undergoing keratoplasty to achieve a much faster visual recovery and a more stable eye with less risk of rejection episodes.
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Ocular Surface Disease by Ali R. Djalilian (Editor)Using a case-based format to help disseminate some of the hard-to-find information on ocular surface disease, this book is written and edited by leaders in this rapidly evolving field. Each chapter is built around three actual patient cases with varying degrees of complexity whereby detailed aspects of the care are described in order to provide practical information and illustrate real world challenges. Ocular Surface Disease covers the most common disorders, ranging from dry eye disease and tear film insufficiency to the more severe cicatricial diseases. The role and application of both medical and surgical treatments are carefully explained. The book is intended for ophthalmologists, both in practice or in training, who are seeking an update on the more advanced clinical practices
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Ocular Surface Disease: Cornea, Conjunctiva and Tear Film by Edward J. Holland; Mark J. Mannis; W. Barry LeeOcular Surface Disease: Cornea, Conjunctiva and Tear Film incorporates current research and the latest management strategies as well as classification systems and treatment paradigms for all forms of ocular surface disease. This is the first comprehensive resource that helps you to meet ocular surface disease challenges effectively using today's best medical and surgical approaches. Get the complete, evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your patients with ocular surface disease. Implement the latest drug treatments and surgical interventions to provide better outcomes with fewer complications. Hone and expand your surgical skills by watching videos of leading experts performing advanced procedures including ocular surface transplantation techniques; amniotic membrane transplantation; pterygium surgery; lamellar keratoplasty (DALK) in ocular surface disease; and keratoprosthesis surgery. Visualize how to proceed by reviewing detailed, full-color images and consulting new classification systems and treatment paradigms for mild to severe forms of ocular surface disease. Take it with you anywhere! Access the full text, downloadable image library, video clips, and more online at expertconsult.com.
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Glaucoma Surgery by Luigi Caretti (Editor); Lucio Buratto (Editor)This book illustrates effective surgical techniques for treating glaucoma in a practical and easy to follow format. Within the various chapters the different steps for all surgical procedures are clearly described to guide the reader through each clinical presentation. There are many drawings with detailed explanations regarding incisional surgical techniques such as trabeculectomy, shunts and non perforating techniques, canaloplasty and modern Microinvasive Glaucoma Surgeries (MIGSs). Surgical anatomy, different anesthetic techniques, medical therapy, laser treatments and choice of treatment to contrast glaucoma are also explained throughout the book. Finally there are three chapters on the most modern and effective surgical procedures, drawn up by leading internationally renowned ophthalmologists. This book will be an essential clinical resource for a wide range of readers including ophthalmologists in training, experienced surgeons and glaucoma specialists.
Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology by Neil R. Miller; Prem S. Subramanian (Editor); Vivek R. Patel (Editor)Focus on the most important clinical knowledge in neuro-ophthalmology! Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology: The Essentials distills the most vital content from the esteemed three-volume parent text, Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology, widely acknowledged as the definitive reference in the field, to bring you just the practical, hands-on information you need to effectively evaluate and manage the majority of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. A concise, intuitive organization speeds your access to today's best know-how, so you can efficiently provide optimal care to your patients. Features: Make the best use of the newest imaging techniques, including OCT, high-resolution CT/MRI, and multifocal ERG. Manage the full gamut of neuro-ophthalmological disorders with the aid of five sections that thoroughly cover the afferent visual system, the pupil, the efferent (oculomotor) system, the eyelid, and non-organic disorders. Glean information at a glance through a highly visual presentation that includes clear diagrams, tables, and images, many now in color. Evaluate complex eye movement disorders by viewing helpful videos online. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Oculoplastics and Orbit by Rudolf F. Guthoff (Editor); James A. Katowitz (Editor)The 8 recurring volumes of the "Essentials in Ophthalmology" series cover the most recent developments in one of eight subspecialties in Ophthalmology. With four volumes published per year, each subspecialty is newly visited every 24 months, with a distinct focus on recent developments. By bridging the gap between original research and medical textbooks, the transfer of this developing knowledge into daily practice is greatly enhanced.
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery by Bobby S. Korn; Don O. KikkawaIdeal for oculofacial, facial/cosmetic plastic, and dermatologic surgeons, the updated Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery brings together high-definition quality video and accompanying color atlas to help you master the latest reconstructive and cosmetic surgical procedures of the eyelid, lacrimal system, orbit, and face. Superb illustrations combined with expanded coverage of over 70 techniques deliver a complete multimedia resource to help perfect your surgical skills. Professionally edited high-definition video clips with author narration, labels, freeze frames, and digital overlays explain the key steps of each technique. Includes high-resolution screen grabs throughout the text to pinpoint key stages of the procedures. Includes 40 new and revised chapters covering the hottest procedures: aesthetic and revisional eyelid surgery; complex periocular reconstructions; Asian eyelid surgery; periocular fat transfer; and minimally invasive brow- and face-lift surgery. Features over 70 professionally captured, high-definition surgical videos with 5 hours running time. Expertly edited footage with narration provides the nuances and pearls of every technique, and unique freeze frames with digital overlays enhance specific areas of interest. Comprehensively covers the essential procedures in the field, such as upper and lower blepharoplasty, ptosis repair, endoscopic brow lifting, botulinum toxin, oculofacial reconstruction, eyelid malposition repairs, endoscopic lacrimal surgery, and advanced orbital surgery techniques. Over 1,600 illustrations in the atlas include intra-operative photos taken directly from the high-definition video, as well as new "before and after" patient images. A consistent chapter format with indications, preoperative evaluations, surgical techniques, complications and consumables used during surgery allows you to grasp the key points of every procedure. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the videos, text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-05-25
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Kenneth W. Wright (Editor); Yi Ning J. Strube (Editor)For over the past ten years Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus has become the leading textbook in the specialty of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. A comprehensive, user-friendly text written and organized by leading pediatric ophthalmologists, this newly updated third edition willcertainly live up to the top-selling, authoritative volume that preceded it.Both encyclopedic in scope and breadth, this new edition is now more illustrative than ever, and includes:* More than 680 detailed color photographs.* Tables, charts, and decision-making guidelines add to the practicality of the text.* A DVD with edited short videos of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus surgery performed by experts in the field. Featured surgeries include: plastics, glaucoma, intraocular contact lens refractive, strabismus, and various techniques of cataract/IOL implantation.The third edition of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus also includes fully-revised and updated chapters to elucidate the latest discoveries in pediatric ophthalmology and the fields of strabismus, ophthalmic genetics, and pediatric retina. More portable and highly illustrative, this extremelyuseful text is still a major reference in this field.
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Taylor and Hoyt's Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, 5th ed.New chapters, new editors and contributors, and an upgraded video collection make Taylor and Hoyt's Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, 5th Edition, the most current and complete reference available in this evolving field. Editors Scott R. Lambert and Christopher J. Lyons, both globally recognized leaders, provide authoritative coverage of all the pediatric ophthalmic conditions you're likely to encounter in practice, including the latest clinical advances in etiology, diagnosis, and medical and surgical management. Expert guidance on the complete spectrum of childhood eye disorders and strabismus, including a unique "practical problems" section designed to help you handle difficult patient situations. More than 1,800 high-quality images and artworks provide visual guidance in diagnosis and management. A practical "how to" perform strabismus surgery chapter with extensive step-by-step artworks for complete visual guidance. Comprehensive updates of all topics, with nine brand-new chapters covering significant advances in the management of refractive errors in children; binocular vision; conjunctival tumors; optimal approaches to patient-family communication, and a unique chapter on the impact of mobile apps for the pediatric ophthalmologist. State-of-the-art coverage of key areas such as OCT and all of the newest imaging techniques for the eye, orbit and visual pathways; anti-VEGF treatment for retinopathy of prematurity; and minimally invasive strabismus surgery. An expanded video collection with more than 60 narrated instructional clips depicting multiple diagnostic and surgical techniques. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Gass' Atlas of Macular DiseasesThe Fifth Edition of Gass' Atlas of Macular Diseases, by Dr. Anita Agarwal, provides expert diagnostic guidance on macular disorders and quickly brings you up to date on this evolving specialty. Using a case-based approach, it richly depicts a full range of retina and macular diseases, including new infectious, degenerative, and dystrophic conditions. Take advantage of the latest imaging technologies to identify common and rare disorders, and confirm difficult diagnoses with the aid of more than 5,500 high-quality images. Printed in full color for the first time, this edition is accessible online at www.expertconsult.com. "... appropriate for highly ambitious residents, retina fellows and specialists, and general ophthalmologists who are looking for an excellent reference book with a proud lineage and impeccable reputation." Reviewed by ESCRS EuroTimes (European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery), Apr 2015 Rely on the same unique, richly illustrated case-descriptive format-encompassing history, clinical examination, and follow-up-that popularized the original book by the late Dr. Donald Gass, the famed ophthalmologist whose clinical expertise set new standards in macular diagnosis. Get expert diagnostic guidance under the new authorship of Dr. Anita Agarwal, a prot#65533;g#65533; of Dr. Gass who has compiled the ultimate collection of images and hard-to-find case studies from around the world. Visualize the conditions you're likely to see in practice and confirm your diagnoses by comparing your clinical findings to more than 5,500 images and illustrations (over 3,500 in full color). Obtain thorough advice on imaging and recognition of a full range of common and rare macular diseases using the latest approaches including fluorescein angiography, optical coherence tomography (OCT), indocyanine green (ICG), and fundus autofluorescence. Search the complete text online, download the illustrations and view a bonus stereoscopic image gallery at www.expertconsult.com. Gass is your definitive guide to identifying the most common and rare conditions, with unique case presentations from around the world!
Publication Date: 2011-12-23
Handbook of Retinal OCT: Optical Coherence Tomography by Jay S. Duker; Nadia K. Waheed; Darin GoldmanWith Handbook of Retinal OCT, you can master the latest imaging methods used to evaluate retinal disease, uveitis, and optic nerve disorders. Ideal at any stage of your career, this easy-to-use, clinically oriented handbook provides a quick, templated, and portable guide for the interpretation of Optical Coherence Tomography scans. "I fully recommend the booklet to anybody in residency and beyond facing, learning, and keeping up with advancements in technologies for examination of the eye".Reviewed by: Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg; June 2014 "... likely to become a well-thumbed primer for those wanting an easy-to-use, clinically-orientated volume on OCT." Reviewed by Eye News, March 2015 Locate answers quickly with templated chapters-each focused on one specific diagnosis or group of diagnoses with a particular OCT appearance. Adopt the latest techniques for evaluating age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, retinal vein occlusion, and much more. See how the full spectrum of diseases presents through approximately 370 illustrations including the highest-quality spectral-domain OCT images available. Recognize image patterns and get clear visual guidance from multiple arrows and labels used throughout to highlight the key details of each disease. Access the full text online at Expert Consult.
Publication Date: 2014-01-23
Management of Complicated Vitreoretinal Diseases by Fabio Patelli (Editor); Stanislao Rizzo (Editor)This book provides the vitreoretinal surgeon with advice and guidance on how to treat and manage the unpredictable complexities and potential intra- and postoperative complications that are encountered during the course of vitreoretinal surgery. Internationally renowned surgeons share their extensive surgical experience in a clearly written and well-illustrated format, delivering helpful practical answers to the important problems frequently confronted in this ever-challenging area of ophthalmic surgery. Management of Complicated Vitreoretinal Diseases will appeal to surgeons young and old, and will find its home not only in the library but also in the office and the operating room itself. The open and positive way in which the many scenarios and difficulties encountered in surgery are confronted will improve the expertise of the surgeon and, most importantly, the outcomes for patients.
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
Manual of Retinal Disease by Carlos A. Medina (Editor); Justin H. Townsend (Editor); Arun D. Singh (Editor)This book is a comprehensive source of authoritative information on the clinical features,diagnosis, differential diagnosis, and management of medical and surgical retinal diseases. The Manual has 122 chapters, organized in 18 sections covering medical and surgical aspects of retinal diseases such as trauma, AMD, Uveitis, infections, endophthalmitis, pediatric diseases, dystrophies, and tumors. Easy-to-read chapters convey the fundamental concepts with the aid of clinical photographs, imaging studies (including fluorescein and indocyanine angiograms, ultrasonograms, CT scans, and MRI scans) and tables. The manual is of value to a wide range of practitioners and trainees, including students,residents, fellows and ophthalmologists who treat retinal diseases.
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Ryan's Retina by Andrew P. Schachat; Charles P. Wilkinson; David R. Hinton; SriniVas R. Sadda (Editor); Peter Wiedemann; K. Bailey Freund; David SarrafThe undisputed gold standard text in the field, Ryan's Retina is your award-winning choice for the most current, authoritative information on new technologies, surgical approaches, scientific advances and diagnostic and therapeutic options for retinal diseases and disorders. Packed with timely updates throughout, new illustrations, and a dedicated team of editors who extend Dr. Ryan's legacy in retina, this outstanding 6th Edition is a must-have reference for retinal specialists, ophthalmologists, and fellows in training. Offers the most comprehensive content available on retina, balancing the latest scientific research and clinical correlations, covering everything you need to know on retinal diagnosis, treatment, development, structure, function, and pathophysiology. Provides a truly global perspective from five highly esteemed section editors and more than 350 other world authorities from across Europe, Asia, Australasia, and the Americas. Bullets Includes new chapters on widefield imaging, intraoperative OCT imaging, medical management of diabetes mellitus and age-related macular degeneration, and senile retinoschisis. Includes more than 1,150 brand-new illustrations, scans, and photographs throughout. Covers the explosion of new imaging options across optical coherence tomography (OCT), fundus imaging, and autofluorescence imaging, including a greatly expanded OCT imaging chapter that features crucial information on OCT-Angiography (OCT-A). Presents new pharmacotherapy data and the latest approaches in anti-VEGF therapy for age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and venous occlusive disease. Features an expanded online video library highlighting the latest surgical techniques and new coverage of complications of vitreoretinal surgery. Contains thorough content updates in every area of retina, including advanced imaging technologies, gene therapy, inflammation and immune responses, white dot syndromes, epigenetic mechanisms, transplantation frontiers to improve retinal function, macular hole, myopic eye disease, ocular trauma, drug delivery to the posterior segment, advances in macular surgery, vitrectomy and complex retinal detachment, tumors, and retinal genetics and biology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.