Cellular and Biochemical Mechanisms of ObesityGlobal health has been challenged with the dawning of the era of the obesity epidemic, and thus as a consequence, strategies to reduce obesity have become public health priorities. According to the United Nations, obesity has been identified as a concern for achieving Sustainable Development Goals. Obesity is a serious health problem with an increased risk of several common diseases including diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and cancer. Although the fundamental cause of obesity and overweight is an imbalance between calorie intake and calorie expenditure, the underlying biochemical and metabolic processes that cause obesity are not fully understood. Two earlier volumes dedicated to the subject of obesity, published in the series "Advances in Biochemistry in Health and Disease" focused on the pathophysiology of obesity-induced health complications and the biochemistry of cardiovascular dysfunction in obesity. This book brings together contributions from international experts in the field to describe advancements on the mechanisms leading to development of obesity and related complications. There are 21 chapters in two different parts in this book, comprising of Part I: Pathophysiologic Mechanisms of Obesity (11 chapters) and Part II: Therapeutic Mechanisms of Obesity (10 chapters). This book will serve as a resource and be of interest to health professionals, medical students, fellows, residents and graduate students. It will also evoke innovative research and effective approaches for the prevention of obesity. This volume will accentuate that obesity is a major health hazard in its own right and that appropriate public health measures should be implemented to prevent or reduce or even reverse the impact of this global chronic disease.
Publication Date: 2021-12-16
Clinician's Guide to Discussing Obesity with PatientsThis practical book provides effective, time-efficient strategies for initiating and continuing productive conversations about weight that can be incorporated into any practice setting. It will benefit all clinicians--advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, physicians--from students to experienced providers, whether they provide obesity treatment or refer to those who do. This guide addresses the numerous barriers that clinicians encounter when they contemplate or attempt conversations about weight and provides strategies to reduce and overcome these barriers. It guides clinicians step-by-step through the concepts and skills needed to have conversations that lead to improved health. Each chapter provides useful tools and information about how to move the conversation forward in a respectful, skillful manner. Real life clinical scenarios provide examples of short, productive conversations that incorporate the tools into clinical practice. Many clinicians recognize the importance of discussing weight with their patients yet feel unprepared to do so. Most did not learn about obesity or how to talk about it in their clinical educational programs and have little access to continuing education. Without the knowledge and skills to start a productive conversation, many avoid the topic. This avoidance has a negative impact on the health of those with obesity and pre-obesity. Given that obesity treatment improves outcomes, it is imperative that clinicians are skilled at discussing weight with knowledge and sensitivity. This book meets that gap.
Publication Date: 2021-03-27
Dietary Phytochemicals: a source of novel bioactive compounds for the treatment of obesity, cancer and diabetesThis book presents comprehensive coverage on the importance of good nutrition in the treatment and management of obesity, cancer and diabetes. Naturally occurring bioactive compounds are ubiquitous in most dietary plants available to humans and provide opportunities for the management of diseases. The text provides information about the major causes of these diseases and their association with nutrition. The text also covers the role of dietary phytochemicals in drug development and their pathways. Later chapters emphasize novel bioactive compounds as anti-diabetic, anti-cancer and anti-obesity agents and describe their mechanisms to regulate cell metabolism. Written by global team of experts, Dietary Phytochemicals: A Source of Novel Bioactive Compounds for the Treatment of Obesity, Cancer and Diabetes describes the potentials of novel phytochemicals, their sources, and underlying mechanism of action. The chapters were drawn systematically and incorporated sequentially to facilitate proper understanding. This book is intended for nutritionists, physicians, medicinal chemists, drug developers in research and development, postgraduate students and scientists in area of nutrition and life sciences.
Publication Date: 2021-08-21
Food Addiction, Obesity, and Disorders of OvereatingThis book is written for providers of broad training backgrounds, and aims to help those who care for people with EDs, overweight and obesity provide evidence-based care. The goal of the book is to provide these providers with a straightforward resource summarizing the current standard of care. However, it goes further by also introducing the concept of food addiction (FA) as a model to understand some forms of overeating. This book discusses the pros and cons of embracing FA and reviews the evidence for and against the validity and utility of FA. By doing so, the chapters convey a "middle ground" approach to help people with obesity, BED, and bulimia nervosa plus FA symptomatology who also want to lose weight. The text discusses FA by reviewing several of the main ongoing controversies associated with the construct. It reviews both the clinical and neuroscientific evidence that some individuals' eating behavior mirrors that seen in substance use disorders (SUD), such as how their relationship with food appears to be "addictive". Chapters also discuss how many of the mechanisms known to underlie SUDs appear to drive overeating in animal models and humans. Finally, the text argues that the similarities between the brain mechanisms of addictive disorders and overeating behavior has the potential to open up new avenues for current treatment and treatment development. Food Addiction, Obesity and Disorders of Overeating: An Evidence-Based Assessment and Clinical Guide is suited for both medical and mental health practitioners, including physicians in primary care or psychiatry, nurses, psychologists, social workers, medical students and medical residents. It could also be utilized by researchers in obesity and ED fields, stimulating ideas for future research and study design.
Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Natural Products in Obesity and DiabetesThis book provides a detailed summary of the therapeutic benefits of natural extracts from medicinal plants, mushrooms, algae, fungi and sponges and their role in the prevention and treatment of obesity and diabetes, offering readers a solid introduction to obesity and diabetes as well as current treatment models. In addition, it examines how genomics and multi-omics approaches have revolutionized our understanding of these diseases, and discusses the role of microbiome-host interactions, probiotics, prebiotics and the future of metabolic phenotyping. Focusing on the pharmacokinetics of anti-obesity and anti-diabetic phytochemicals, their bioavailability in the respective target tissues and their elimination times, the book also describes the nanoformulations of phytochemicals and herbal extracts. Lastly, it presents an overview of the advances in clinical studies on the use of herbal and mushroom extracts in obesity and diabetes management. Given its scope, this book is useful not only for researches in the field but also for students studying nutrition, food sciences, plant sciences or pharmacology, as well as for health professionals and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2022-03-09
Obesity, Fatty Liver and Liver CancerThis volume covers a state-of-the-art illustration of recent discoveries concerning obesity-related fatty liver diseases and liver cancer. The contents are extensive and comprehensive. It brings important topics in the field all together under one umbrella, from epidemiology and etiology, molecular pathogenesis, cellular biology, epigenetics, immunology, microbiology, animal models to therapeutic approaches and treatments. All the book contributors are leading experts in the field. It will appeal to researchers, clinicians and graduate students in obesity, fatty liver diseases, GI/Liver cancer field. It may also yield benefits for pharmaceutical companies with regard to drug discovery.
Publication Date: 2018-07-12
Obesity and CancerThis book highlights the concordance between signaling pathways that are involved in obesity and cancer cross-talks. It describes the role of cytokines, chemokines, growth factors, insulin, and adipokines in the development of obesity-associated cancers. The book reviews the role of inflammatory signaling pathways such as estrogen-mediated signaling, mTOR and AMP-activated protein kinase pathway and the involvement of adaptive and innate immunity, oxidative stress, gene polymorphism, dietary phytochemicals, and miRNAs in obesity and cancer. In addition, it covers the latest research on the drugs and natural therapeutic agents that target obesity-induced cancers and discusses various in vivo models for studying obesity and obesity-associated cancer. Lastly, it analyses the role of genetic polymorphisms in the obesity-related genes that influence cancer development. The book is a useful resource for researchers in the field of cancer, pharmacology, food chemistry, and clinical biochemistry.
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Obesity and DiabetesNow in its second edition, this comprehensive handbook provides a state-of-the-art overview of recent advances in drug and non-drug therapies for obesity and diabetes. It also addresses major comorbidities, covering topics such as, cardiovascular diseases, renal and neuropsychiatric disorders, appetite control and micro RNAs. Special attention is also devoted to pediatric care, including the latest recommendations for therapy and prevention. Obesity and type 2 diabetes are among the top global health-care budget concerns worldwide and impact professional practice at all levels: in hospitals, clinics and physicians' offices alike. They prominently feature in headlines, and virtually no family, community or country is exempt from their protean, deleterious consequences. Furthermore, given the multiple intersections in their pathways, they often go hand in hand. The good news is that scientific advances in all fields, including genomics, metabolomics, lipidomics and microbiomics, are increasing our understanding of these two disease areas. At the same time, artificial intelligence, machine learning, mobile health and advanced implantable and external devices are rendering prevention and management more available, safe and cost-effective. In addition, bariatric and metabolic surgery has evolved from a niche specialty to an officially endorsed option for several modalities of obesity and diabetes. This book presents the latest lifestyle, pharmacological, surgical and non-surgical treatment options, including endoscopic intervention and cell therapy. Objectively reviewing natural and artificial sweeteners and critically examining issues such as public health initiatives, government mandated taxes for unhealthy foods and environmental planning, no stone is left unturned in gathering the latest practical information. As such, the book will appeal to seasoned specialists, as well as students and healthcare professionals in training.
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Obesity and Its Impact on HealthThis book summarizes the effects of obesity on health and its correlation with a wide range of debilitating and life-threatening conditions in humans. It discusses the possible pathological mechanisms that are involved in the development of obesity and highlights obesity-associated molecular mechanisms that contribute to reproductive dysfunctions in men and women. The book provides mechanistic insights on the role of obesity in cardiovascular and respiratory disorders, and examines the role of the complementary molecular mechanism of the gut microbiota in the development of obesity. It also reviews the interaction between the metabolic system and immune cells in the pathogenesis of obesity-associated diseases. Lastly, it assesses the latest advances in nanomedicine as an emerging strategy for the treatment of obesity.
Publication Date: 2021-02-24
Obesity and ObstetricsObesity and Obstetrics, Second Edition, brings together experts to examine the issues and challenges of obesity and obstetrics, also discussing how obesity affects fertility, reproduction and pregnancy. Beginning with the worldwide epidemic of obesity, chapters then go on to review obesity and hyperglycemia of pregnancy, management of labor, interventions to improve care during pregnancy, and long-term impact of maternal obesity.
Publication Date: 2020-06-08
Pathophysiology of Obesity-Induced Health Complications​According to the World Health Organization, the epidemic of global obesity has nearly tripled since 1975. In 2016, more than 1.9 billion adults were overweight, over 650 million of which were obese. Being overweight and obese has been linked to a number of non-communicable, chronic diseases. Pathophysiology of Obesity-Induced Health Complications is a compilation of review articles dedicated to describe co-morbidities associated with obesity. The wide range that is covered is of significant interest to basic research scientists, clinicians and graduate students who are engaged in studying obesity-induced health complications. Furthermore, this book highlights the potential of novel approaches for the prevention and treatment of obesity and its related illnesses. Nineteen articles in this book are organized in four sections that are designed to provide an overview of obesity-induced health complications. The first section serves as an introductory section on the prevalence, causes, consequences, treatments and preventive approaches for obesity. Section two covers the metabolic disturbances and inflammation due to obesity. The third section is focused on neurological and visceral complications as a consequence of obesity. The final section covers strategies for the prevention of obesity-induced complications. The book illustrates that obesity can result in a diverse range of pathophysiological conditions that adversely affect health.
Publication Date: 2020-01-18
Pediatric Obesity Clinical Decision Support ChartObtain the latest tools and practice recommendations from leading experts on how to tackle childhood obesity. Completely revised and updated, the third edition provides clinicians with point-of-care guidance on the assessment, prevention, and treatment of obesity for children older than 2 years. The convenient flip chart includes full-color illustrations throughout providing health care professionals practical support and guidance to help improve care and outcomes for youth who are overweight. New in the 3rd Edition A custom, hand-based portion size estimation tool A "sample meal options" checklist In-office assessment of habits tool An algorithm for the assessment and management of childhood obesity in patients 2 years and older Pharmacological treatment of hypertension A sample "portion control placemat" Key Features Step-by-step prevention, assessment, and treatment interventions for the overweight and obese child developed by the CDC 15-minute obesity prevention/intervention protocol Hypertension evaluation and management guidelines Growth charts spanning birth to age 20 years, including body mass index-for-age percentiles Coding information for obesity-related health services (ICD-10 codes) Next Steps child weight reduction and management strategies
Publication Date: 2019-11-30
Preventing Childhood Obesity in Early Care and Education ProgramsThis coveted resource provides the latest national standards describing evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. The standards are for all types of early care and education settings--centers and family child care homes. These updated standards are a part of the new comprehensive Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards; Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 4th Edition. New in the 3rd Edition: Updated Standards Covering Active Opportunities for Physical Activity Playing Outdoors Written Nutrition Plan Protection from Air Pollution While Children Are Outside Availability of Drinking Water Feeding Plans and Dietary Modifications Care for Children with Food Allergies Preparing, Feeding, and Storing Human Milk and Infant Formula Feeding Human Milk to Another Mother's Child Cleaning and Sanitizing Equipment Used for Bottle Feeding Feeding Age-Appropriate Solid Foods to Infants Plus much more...
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Thyroid, Obesity and MetabolismThis book will provide readers with up-to-date information on thyroid diseases, obesity and metabolic syndrome. The innovative element is the presentation and exploration of possible connections linking thyroid diseases and metabolism dysfunction. Starting from the classification and diagnosis of thyroid diseases, obesity and metabolic syndrome, techniques to study and treat each of the mentioned diseases are given in an easy-to-use way. This volume will be a useful tool for endocrinologists, diabetologists, dieticians, and any professionals involved in the treatment of thyroid diseases.
Publication Date: 2021-08-28
Treating Obesity in Primary CareThe latest information from the CDC demonstrates that 70% of Americans can be classified as having pre-obesity or obesity. This chronic disease is considered the cause of many other chronic diseases such as hypertension, dyslipidemia, diabetes, and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, to name but a few of the 236 obesity associated disorders. Additionally, obesity is considered to be the cause of fourteen different types of cancers. Based on the number of people affected and the consequences of the disease, it is imperative that it is studied and treated by primary care providers. Few training programs for physicians, NPs or PAs are covering the basics of treating obesity. These fundamentals include pathophysiology, assessment of the disease, and the foundational components of treatment with eating plans, physical activity and behavioral interventions, then the supporting components of anti-obesity medications, devices and surgery. As a result, few of those currently in primary care practice have received any education in the evidence-based treatment of obesity. This book provides the reader with the education to understand the disease, the patient's experience, and full evidence-based treatment. It also provides the opportunity to understand how to incorporate the treatment into primary care. Written by a leading expert in the field, Treating Obesity in Primary Care offers all clinicians providing primary care services the information needed to effectively treat the chronic disease of obesity.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.