Eating Disorders and Obesity, Third EditionAcclaimed for its encyclopedic coverage, this is the only handbook that synthesizes current knowledge and clinical practices in the fields of both eating disorders and obesity. Like the prior editions, the significantly revised third edition features more than 100 concise, focused chapters with lists of key readings in place of extended references. All aspects of eating disorders and obesity are addressed by foremost clinical researchers: classification, causes, consequences, risk factors, and pathophysiology, as well as prevention, treatment, assessment, and diagnosis. New to This Edition *Reflects 15 years of important advances in both fields, including state-of-the-art intervention approaches and a growing focus on how the brain regulates eating behavior. *Dozens of entirely new chapters. *New topics: epigenetics, body weight and neurocognitive function, stress and emotion regulation, the gut microbiome, surgical devices for obesity, food labeling and marketing, and more. *Expanded coverage of prevention and policy.
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
Endoscopy in Obesity Management by Bipan Chand (Editor)This text will provide a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of endoscopy in the management of the obese patient. It will serve as a valuable resource for clinicians, surgeons, endoscopists and researchers with an interest in endoscopy in the role of obesity care. The book will review how endoscopy plays a crucial role in the preoperative evaluation of a patient undergoing a surgical or endoluminal intervention, how intra-operative endoscopy allows evaluation of the newly reconstructed gastrointestinal tract and how post bariatric surgery complications can be managed. Endoscopic evaluation of normal and abnormal surgical anatomy will also be covered. A section dedicated to current and future endoluminal therapies, with a focus on safety, efficacy and technique, will also be thoroughly reviewed. This text will serve as a very useful resource for endoscopy in both a surgical and gastroenterology practice. Training, credentialing and the implementation of EBTs into ones practice, endoscopy suite and hospital will also be discussed.
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
Obesity, 2nd EditionThis book explores what obesity is, its causes and implications for health, and the many issues and controversies surrounding it, both in the medical community and within society as a whole. * Offers additional and updated information since the first edition, including expanded coverage of popularly contested topics such as weight loss medications and genetic contributors to obesity * Examines key issues related to obesity, such as whether or not someone can be healthy and obese * Highlights key ideas and debates discussed in the book through illuminating case studies that use engaging real-world scenarios * Provides readers with a helpful Directory of Resources to guide their search for additional information
Publication Date: 2018-04-19
Obesity, Bariatric and Metabolic SurgeryWritten by leading experts from all across the globe, this comprehensive yet concise textbook offers up-to-date summary in the field of Obesity and its Surgical Management for a wide range of healthcare professionals involved within a Bariatric Multidisciplinary Team including Surgeons, Dieticians, Metabolic Physicians, Anaesthesiologists, Psychologists, Psychiatrists, Radiologists and Nursing staff. The book also serves as a reference manual for General Physicians, General Surgeons & General Practitioners.
Publication Date: 2015-09-09
Obesity, Fatty Liver and Liver CancerThis volume covers a state-of-the-art illustration of recent discoveries concerning obesity-related fatty liver diseases and liver cancer. The contents are extensive and comprehensive. It brings important topics in the field all together under one umbrella, from epidemiology and etiology, molecular pathogenesis, cellular biology, epigenetics, immunology, microbiology, animal models to therapeutic approaches and treatments. All the book contributors are leading experts in the field. It will appeal to researchers, clinicians and graduate students in obesity, fatty liver diseases, GI/Liver cancer field. It may also yield benefits for pharmaceutical companies with regard to drug discovery.
Publication Date: 2018-07-12
Obesity: The Medical Practitioner's Essential GuideThis book is the most current, comprehensive medical text focusing specifically on obesity and its related syndromes and diseases. This text takes the newest science and latest research about obesity and renders the information imminently readable and immediately useful to the medical practitioner charged with providing best practices health care for patients who are obese. In the process, this text scientifically clarifies obesity as a disease of epidemic proportions, debunks common myths about obesity, and challenges medicine's traditional and oftentimes limited view of obesity. More specifically, in Obesity: The Medical Practitioner's Essential Guide you will find comprehensive, accurate, science-based information about the epidemiology, biology, genetics, psychology, discrimination and prejudice, causes, and effects of obesity, as well as the latest science about obesity's related syndromes and diseases. In addition, this book provides the medical practitioner with specific best practices, including preferred methods of measurement, preferred methods of obesity screening, a system of graded interventions, a comprehensive description and analysis of various bariatric/surgical interventions, and a proposed population management strategy. This medical text focusing on obesity and its related syndromes and diseases is not only an invaluable reference source for current front line practitioners, but is an essential tool that can be used both domestically and internationally to educate all students in medical schools, nursing programs, physician assistant programs, doctor of osteopath programs, medical weight loss clinics, and any other health science programs.
Publication Date: 2016-09-05
Obesity and Brain FunctionThis compendium provides a wide view covering everything from molecular mechanisms and risk factors for neurological disorders to the effects of bariatric surgery on brain function and functional neuroimaging applied to obesity research. The impact of obesity on brain function and the development of neurodegenerative and neuroinflammatory disorders has been understudied, despite the recent proliferation of obesity research. Among the topics covered are adipose biology, the adipose tissue - gut - brain axis, brain energy metabolism, dementia, cerebrovascular disease, and multiple sclerosis.
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Obesity and CancerThis book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the relationship between obesity and cancer. It opens with a global perspective on obesity and cancer incidence, followed by in-depth discussions of those cancers for which we have sufficient evidence of a causal relationship with obesity. It addresses topics such as the effects of obesity on cancer incidence and cancer survival, the effects of weight gain and weight loss in adulthood on cancer risk, the effects of childhood and adolescent obesity, and the role of body fat distribution in cancer risk. Individual chapters discuss potential pathways for the observed associations and explore possible mechanisms from both an epidemiological and an experimental perspective. It concludes with a population perspective on the cancer risk that is attributable to obesity and is thus potentially avoidable. This book is of particular value to researchers and epidemiologists and is also of interest to public health workers and clinicians.
Publication Date: 2016-12-16
Obesity Before and in PregnancyObesity epidemic is a global problem of the 21th century for women in reproductive age and also the obstetricians and pediatricians. There are influences of mother's prepragnancy and antepartal obesity, at delivery, for fetal programming and for maternal and fetal lifelong metabolism. The epidemiological results are important, but for the health care providers the skills for prevention of mother's obesity with all consequences are essential. Evaluated programms in nutrition and physical activity will be discussed.
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Pediatric ObesityThis second edition of Freemark's text embodies all of the strengths of the original work but is deeper and broader in scope, with new chapters on emerging themes including metabolomics, genomics, and the roles of gastrointestinal hormones, the microbiome, brown adipose tissue, and endocrine disruptors in the pathogenesis of childhood obesity. Reviews of the effects of weight excess on cognitive performance and immune function complement detailed analyses of the biochemical and molecular pathways controlling the development of childhood adiposity and metabolic disease. Critical assessments of nutritional interventions (including new chapters on infant feeding practices and vegetarian diets) and superb reviews of behavioral counseling, pharmacotherapy, and bariatric surgery provide practical guidance for the management of overweight children. Penetrating analyses of the obesity epidemic in its social, cultural, economic, and political contexts highlight challenges and opportunities for obesity prevention and community action. The perspective is international in scope and reflects the expertise and experience of many of the leading figures in the field. Comprehensive and up-to-date, this new edition of Pediatric Obesity: Etiology, Pathogenesis and Treatment will be an invaluable guide for all healthcare providers and policy makers concerned with the evaluation and care of children with nutritional and metabolic disease and with the societal implications of the obesity epidemic.
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Psychiatric Care in Severe ObesityThis book is designed to present a comprehensive, state-of the-art approach to assessing and managing bariatric surgery and psychosocial care. Unlike any other text, this book focuses on developing a biopsychosocial understanding of patients' obesity journey and psychosocial factors contributing to their obesity and its management from an integrated perspective. Psychiatric Care in Severe Obesity takes a 360 approach by covering the disease's prevalence and relationship to psychiatric illness and social factors, including genetics, neurohormonal pathways and development factors for obesity. This book presents evidence and strategies for assessing psychiatric issues in severe obesity and uses common psychiatric presentations to feature the impact on bariatric surgery and key assessment features for weight loss. Concluding chapters focus on evidence-based psychosocial treatments for supporting patients with weight loss and bariatric surgery and includes educational tools and checklists for assessment, treatment, and care. Experts on non-pharmacological interventions such as mindfulness, cognitive-behavioral therapy and nutrition education describe treatment approaches in each modality, concluding with pharmacological approaches for psychiatric conditions and eating pathology. Additional tools in the appendices support clinicians, making this the ultimate guide for managing psychiatric illness in patients suffering from severe obesity. As obesity continues to grow in prevalence as a medically recognized epidemic, Psychiatric Care in Severe Obesity serves a vital resource to medical students, psychiatrists, psychologists, bariatric surgeons, primary care physicians, dietitians, mental health nurses, social workers, and all medical professionals working with severely obese patients.
Publication Date: 2016-12-28
Treating Obesity with Personalized Cognitive Behavioral TherapyThis book describes a novel therapy for obesity that associates the traditional procedures of weight-loss lifestyle modification with specific, individualized cognitive behavioral procedures to address some obstacles that have been indicated by recent research to influence weight loss and maintenance. The Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Obesity (CBT-OB) can be used to treat all classes of obesity, including patients with severe comorbidities and disability associated with obesity, who are not usually included in traditional weight-loss lifestyle modification treatments. The book describes the treatment program in detail, and with numerous clinical vignettes. It also discusses involving significant others in the change process and adapting the CBT-OB for patients with severe obesity, binge-eating disorder, medical and psychiatric comorbidity, and treated with weight-loss drugs or bariatric surgery. Lastly, a chapter is dedicated to the use of digital technology with CBT-OB in order to help patients monitor their food intake and physical activity and to addressing obstacles in real time. Thanks to the description of how to apply the latest, evidence-based CBT-OB to real world settings, this volume is a valuable useful tool for all specialists - endocrinologists, nutritionists, dietitians, psychologists, psychiatrists - who deal with obesity and eating disorders.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.