Research Guides: Nursing: Which Resource to Use?

Pharmaceuticals

AHFS Drug Information
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers
Lexicomp Online
(not available off-campus)
MedWatch (FDA)
Micromedex

Guidelines

Where to Find/Browse Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks, videos and animations
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Textbooks on pharmacy and clinical medicine
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Reference books, clinical updates, evidence-based content, guidelines, images, and care planning tools. Accessing the PDF or using personalized features requires registering for a free personal account.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Selected medical texts, medical journals, clinical guidelines, drug information, multimedia resources and patient education materials, and CME materials; diagnoses, conditions, drugs, etc. Accessing the PDF or using personalized features requires registering for a free personal account.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books on medicine, nursing, and allied health.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
quick medical reference books and core medical textbooks
User Limit: 15.

Databases - Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Along with healthcare management.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International journal literature and conference abstracts covering biomedicine and worldwide drug literature, also includes journals not covered by MEDLINE.
ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature.
Coverage: 1966 to present.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
international psychological literature
Coverage: 1800s to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
over 30 million citations for biomedical literature
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
interdisciplinary: sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.

Resources for Statistics

Research Instruments

databases and web based resources useful for locating a wide variety of research instruments

American Thoracic Society Quality of Life Resource Instruments
The goal of this website is to provide information about quality of life and functional status instruments that have been used in assessing patients with pulmonary disease or critical illness.
Cancer Prevention Research Center
Provides access to copyrighted psychological measures developed at the University of Rhode Island Cancer Prevention Center. Permission is granted to use these transtheoretical model-based measures for research purposes provided the appropriate citation is referenced. All assessment inventories are available for research purposes only.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides access to research instrument records, research instrument validation records, and research instrument utilization records. These records indicate which studies have used a specific research instrument and include the purpose and variables measured, sample population, methodology, other instruments, items and questions, where the original study was mentioned, and how to obtain the actual research instrument.

HealthMeasures
Funded by an NIH grant, HealthMeasures consists of four precise, flexible, and comprehensive measurement systems that assess physical, mental, and social health symptoms, well-being, and life satisfaction along with sensory, motor, and cognitive function: PROMIS®, NIH Toolbox®, Neuro-QoL, and ASCQ-Me.
PROQOLID
PROQOLID™ is supplied exponentially with new instruments throughout the year based on recommended sources such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, European Medicines Agency, and Research and Development scientific community.

Clinical Summaries

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical resource, mostly in internal medicine. E-textbooks; information on drugs/drug interactions; images and videos; medical calculators and decision tools, "practice changing" current information, and training resources. Users must create a free personal account to access from off-campus

Videos for Learning Skills

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based skills and procedures together with competency management functionality to meet the learning and reference needs of your organization.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site.

Quick Guides

Finding Full Text PDFs How to find the full text of articles and journals in the Library Catalog

Nursing: Which Resource to Use?

Database Tutorials