Newspapers
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDirect link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes papers from other ProQuest products like Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and access to major titles like the New York Times, Washington Post, as well as The Tennessean.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers - Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new windowDigital replacement of microfilm for several major papers (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Tennessean, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post). The New York Times as a one-month embargo, while the four others have a two-week embargo from the current day's issue.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
- World News Digest This link opens in a new windowDomestic and international news covering major political, social, and economic events.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical issues of major US, African American, Jewish American, and international newspapers. Titles include the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Tennessean, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and more.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowIncludes British newspapers collections 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, Times and London and other major 19th and 20th Century UK Papers. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers is also included.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowColonial era American newspapers sourced from all 13 colonies.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)
- World News Connection This link opens in a new windowArchive of foreign news translated into English. Newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
The Tennessean is also available at the library in microfilm for selected periods.
- Nashville Tennessean (1812-2002)Coverage of editions of the Tennessean and its predecessor newspapers, including the Nashville Banner, from 1812 to 2002. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspaper collection.
- Tennessean (1999-present)Full-text (but not PDF duplication) of articles from each edition of the newspaper from January 2003 to the most recent date available. Less extensive coverage for the years 1999-2002. Part of Proquest Central collection.
- Tennessean (2010-current): ProQuest Recent Digitized NewspapersThis set of digitized editions of the Tennessean runs from January 2010 to up to two weeks before today's date. The editions are PDF duplications of the day's newspaper as it appeared in print. To get to the Tennessean from the link, click the "Select Item to Display" link at the top of the page. Part of ProQuest Digital Microfilm collection.
- Tennessean (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the online coverage listed below, the Atlanta Constitution is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1868 to 1875 and 1881 to present (as well as limited coverage of some 19th-century editions of the Atlanta Journal).
- Atlanta Journal-Constitution (2001-present)Full-text available through Proquest Newspapers.
- Atlanta Journal (1996-2001)Full-text available through Proquest Newspapers.
- Atlanta Journal (1995-1996)Full-text available through Proquest Newspapers.
- Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1991-present)Full-text available through Nexis Uni.
- Atlanta Constitution (various years, 1869-1984)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Constitution for the time period specified (also jointly-published Sunday editions of the Atlanta Journal/Constitution for selected periods). Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. See coverage range below.
- Atlanta Journal-Constitution (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the digital coverage listed below, the Boston Globe is available at Central Library in microfilm from the years 1981 to 1994.
- Boston Globe (1997-present)Full-text available through Proquest Newspapers.
- Boston Globe (1987-present)Full-text available through Factiva.
- Boston Globe (1980-1996)Full-text available through ProQuest Newspapers.
- Boston Globe (1872-1986)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Globe for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Boston Globe (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the online coverage listed below, the Tribune (and selected editions of its predecessor, the Chicago Daily Tribune) is available at Central Library in microfilm from the years 1849 to 1890, 1918 to 1925, 1928 to 1932, and 1984 to 1994.
- Chicago Tribune (1996-present)Full-text available through ProQuest Newspapers.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-1996)Full-text available through ProQuest Newspapers.
- Chicago Tribune (1847-1996)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Tribune for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Chicago Tribune (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the online coverage listed below, the Christian Science Monitor is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1939 to present.
- Christian Science Monitor (1988-present)Coverage in full-text of articles from the CSM for the time period specified. Content from Factiva.
- Christian Science Monitor (1980-present)Coverage in full-text of articles from the CSM for the time period specified. Part of the Proquest Central collection.
- Christian Science Monitor (1910-2004)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Christian Science Monitor for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Christian Science Monitor (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the online coverage listed below, the Los Angeles Times is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1960 to present.
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)This set of Los Angeles Times editions runs from January 2008 to up to two weeks before today's date. The editions are PDF duplications of the day's newspaper as it appeared in print. To get to the Times from the link, click the "Select Item to Display" link at the top of the page. Part of ProQuest Digital Microfilm collection.
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Times for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Los Angeles Times (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the digital coverage listed below, the New York Times is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1857 to 1996.
- New York Times (2008-present)This set of NYT editions runs from January 2008 to up to one month before today's date. The editions are PDF duplications of the day's newspaper as it appeared in print. Part of ProQuest Digitized Newspapers collection.
- New York Times (1980-present)This set of NYT editions runs from July 1980 to the most recent date available. Up to January 2015, the editions are PDF duplications of the day's newspaper as it appeared in print. Part of ProQuest Central collection.
- New York Times (1851-2016)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the New York Times for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- New York Times (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the online coverage listed below, the Wall Street Journal is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1935 to 1959.
- Wall Street Journal (2008-present)This set of WSJ editions runs from January 2008 to up to two weeks before today's date. The editions are PDF duplications of the day's newspaper as it appeared in print. To get to the WSJ from the link, click the "Select Item to Display" link at the top of the page. Part of ProQuest Digitized Newspapers collection.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Coverage in full-text of articles from the WSJ for the time period specified. Part of the Proquest Central collection.
- Wall Street Journal (1979-present)Coverage in full-text of articles from the Wall Street Journal for the time period specified. Content from Factiva.
- Wall Street Journal (1889-2000)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Wall Street Journal for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Wall Street Journal (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Besides the digital coverage listed below, the Washington Post is available at the library in microfilm from the years 1953 to present.
- Washington Post (1996-present)Coverage in full-text of articles from the Post for the time period specified. Part of the Proquest Central collection.
- Washington Post (2008-present with 2 week delay)Coverage in full-text of articles from the Post for the time period specified. Part of the Proquest Central collection.
- Washington Post (1877-2001)Coverage in full-text PDF reproductions of articles from the Post for the time period specified. Fully browsable daily issues are also available. Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection.
- Washington Post (other)Other search options for this newspaper are available at this permalink.
Subject Librarian
Jason Schultz
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 800FL Central Library
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
(615) 875-8311
Website
