Broadcast News
|
Vanderbilt is home to the Vanderbilt Television News Archive, the world's most extensive and complete archive of tv news, including tv news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. It includes items from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News, as well as news content from specials. The archive is located in Suite 200 of the John Seigenthaler First Amendment Center at 1207 18th Ave S, Nashville, TN. Staff are available by appointment Monday through Friday from 9am to 4:00pm. Please contact us to schedule an appointment. |
The Internet Archive's TV News Archive has captured video of television broadcasts, from June 2009 to current. It covers news and current event programs from over 20 US networks, including Spanish language networks. Local news coverage from a number major market network affiliates is also available in this archive.
Users can search by date, network and show using keywords. Videos appear in one minute segments. Commercials are included and political ads is a search limiter.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes transcripts to US local and national network and cable television news and talk-show programs. Select international television news programs are also included.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Subject Librarian
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
