Treatises are subject-specific publications offering extensive coverage of a particular area of law, and as such provide both an excellent starting point for researchers lacking subject matter expertise, and reference tools for experienced scholars or practitioners. This guide provides suggested titles for treatises available at Vanderbilt offering extensive coverage of topics in international law.
Public International Law Treatises
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law by
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 50 years. Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research.Authored by James Crawford, the ninth edition further secures the work as the essential international law text for students and practitioners.NEW TO THIS EDITIONDecisions of the International Court (e.g. Whaling in the Antarctic; the Marshall Islands cases; Peru v Chile; Somalia v Kenya; Costa Rica v Nicaragua; Bolivia v Chile)Recent decisions on the law of the sea and the status of islands (Arctic Sunrise; Croatia/Slovenia; South China Sea; Bangladesh/India; Ghana/Ivory Coast; Timor Leste/Australia (Conciliation))Decisions of senior national courts in the US (e.g. Bank Markazi v Peterson; Daimler AG v Bauman; Jesner v Arab Bank; Kiobel v Royal Dutch Petroleum), the UK (e.g. Al-Saadoon v SSD; Belhaj v Straw; Freedom and Justice Party; Rahmatullah; Miller v Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union; Benkharbouche v Sudan), the Netherlands (Mothers of Srebrenica; Urgenda Foundation), the Russian Federation (Anchukov & Gladkov v Russia) and elsewhereRecent ILC work (including Conclusions on Identification of Customary International Law, and Subsequent Practice in relation to the Interpretation of Treaties)Plus discussion of developments in the fields of climate change, diplomatic asylum (the Assange stand-off), international criminal law and the ICC, immunities of senior state officials, investment arbitration, corporate social responsibility, and the use of force by and against non-state actors.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Sales and Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
ISBN: 9780198737445Publication Date: 2019-09-02
Oppenheim's international law by Call Number: KZ3264.A3 O66 1992ISBN: 0582501083Publication Date: 1992
International Law by
International Law is the definitive and authoritative text on the subject, offering Shaw's unbeatable combination of clarity of expression and academic rigour and ensuring both understanding and critical analysis in an engaging and authoritative style. Encompassing the leading principles, practice and cases, and retaining and developing the detailed references which encourage and assist the reader in further study, this new edition motivates and challenges students and professionals while remaining accessible and engaging. Fully updated to reflect recent case law and treaty developments, this edition contains an expanded treatment of the relationship between international and domestic law, the principles of international humanitarian law, and international criminal law alongside additional material on international economic law.
ISBN: 9781107188471Publication Date: 2017-09-14
Function of Law in the International Community by
The Function of Law in the International Community, first published in 1933, is one of the seminal works on international law. Its author, Sir Hersch Lauterpacht, is widely considered to be one of the great international lawyers of the 20th century. It continues to influence those studying and working in international law today.
This republication once again makes this book available to scholars and students in the field. It features a new introduction by Professor Martti Koskenniemi, examining the world in which the Function of Law was originally published and the lasting legacy of this classic work.
Table of Contents
Part I - Introductory
1. The Science of International Law and the Limitations of the Place of Law in the Settlements of International Disputes
2. Conventions of Pacific Settlement and the Limitation of the Judicial Function
Part II - The International Judicial Function and the Completeness of International Law
3. Limitation of the Judicial Function on Account of the Absence of Rules of International Law
4. 'Lacunae' in International Law
5. The Problem of the Judicial Function in International Law
6. Novelty of Action and Nature of Judicial Activity in International Law
Part III - Political Disputes and the Judicial Function in International Law
7. Importance of Disputes as a Test of Judiciability
8. International Law and Judicial Determination of Important Issues
9. The Doctrine of 'De Maximis Non Curat Praetor' as Part of Legal Obligations
10. The Impartiality of International Tribunals
Part IV - Stability and Change in International Law
11. International Change and the Judicial Settlement of International Disputes
12. International Conciliation as as Instrument of Change
13. The Judicial Application of the Doctrine 'Rebus Sic Stantibus'
14. The Doctrine of Abuse of Rights as an Instrument of Change
15. Extension of Judicial Legislation by the Will of the Parties
16. Judicial Decision as the Starting Point for the Modification of the Law
Part V - Disputes as to Rights and Conflicts of Interests
17. 'Disputes as to Rights' as a Legal Concept
18. Obligatory Settlement of So-called Conflicts of Interests
Part VI - The Limits of the Rule of Law
19. Limitations on the Rule of Law within the State
20. The 'Specific' Character of International Law and the Rule of Law in International Society
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780191029783Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Modern Treaty Law and Practice by
This new edition of a textbook first published in 2000 provides a comprehensive account of the law of treaties from the viewpoint of an experienced practitioner. As such, it is the first, and only, book of its kind. Aust provides a wealth of examples of the problems experienced with treaties on a daily basis, not just when they are the subject of a court case. He explores numerous precedents from treaties and other related documents, such as memorandums of understanding (MOUs), in detail. Using clear, accessible language, the author covers the full extent of treaty law, drawing examples from both treaties and MOUs. Modern Treaty Law and Practice is essential reading for teachers and students of law, political science, international relations and diplomacy, who have an interest in treaties.
Call Number: KZ1301 .A98 2013ISBN: 9781107023840Publication Date: 2013-10-24
The Law of Nations by
The long scope of Brierly's scholarship, together with the simplicity andbrevity of his prose, make The Law of Nations the standard introduction to itsfield, and widely popular in many different countries. Providing a comprehensiveoverview of international law, this classic book is essential reading for allthose interested in learning what role the law plays in the relation ofstates.
Call Number: KZ3225 .B75 A35 1963 (7th Edition, 2012 is online available to Vanderbilt community.)ISBN: 9780198251057Publication Date: 1978-01-05
Akehurst's Modern Introduction to International Law by
Peter Malanczuk has again revised and updated this best-selling student textbook. This new edition continues to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all the key topics in international law, from diplomatic immunity to the United Nations. New to the eighth edition: * full updating and revision of all the chapters to include the very latest developments* a new, dedicated on-line resource centre for students and lecturers alike. Features include: sample material; relevant links; material not available in the printed version; discussion questions; and author feedback* a companion volume - Key Documents in International Law - will be available for use in conjunction with the eighth edition. Extensively cross referenced with the eighth edition, it will provide access to many of the primary treaties, conventions, protocols, agreements, and acts.
Call Number: KZ1242 .M35 1997ISBN: 020329727XPublication Date: 1997-06-01
An Introduction to Contemporary International Law by
An Introduction to Contemporary International Law: A Policy-Oriented Perspective introduces the reader to all major aspects of contemporary international law. It applies the highly acclaimed approach developed by the New Haven School of International Law, holding international law as an ongoing process of authoritative decision-making through which the members of the world community identify, clarify, and secure their common interests. Unlike conventional works in international law, this book is organized and structured in terms of the process of decision making in the international arena, and references both classic historical examples and contemporary events to illustrate international legal processes and principles. Using contemporary examples, this Third Edition builds on the previous editions by contextualizing and dramatizing recent events with reference to seven features that characterize the New Haven School approach to international law: participants, perspectives, arenas of decision, bases of power, strategies, outcomes, and effects. This new edition highlights cutting-edge ideas in international law, including the right to self-determination, the evolution of Taiwan statehood, the expanding scope of international concern and the duty of states to protect human rights, the trend towards greater accountability for states and individual decision-makers under international law, and the vital role individual responsibility plays in the emerging field of international criminal law. It offers a new generation the intellectual tools needed to act as responsible citizens in a world community seeking human dignity and human security for all people.
Call Number: KZ3110 .C48 2015ISBN: 9780190227982Publication Date: 2015-01-29
International Law by
This new edition of Cassese's International Law provides a stimulating and authoritative account of international law for undergraduates and postgraduates. It has been fully revised and updated to include all recent developments in the subject, and contains a new chapter on terrorism as well as extensive revision of the section on state responsibility. Providing a comprehensive commentary on international law as a whole, it compares the traditional legal position with the developing and evolving law in a way that is sensitive to political and economic considerations, as well as including detailed yet accessible examinations of state responsibility and international criminal law. The late Professor Cassese was a leading figure in the field, and this new edition takes full advantage of his extensive experience to provide a more personal approach to the subject than is typically found in the standard textbook, acting as good intellectual exercise for the stronger student. The late Antonio Cassese was the Editor of the Journal of International Criminal Justice. To read sample articles from the journal visit: www.jicj.oupjournals.org
Call Number: KZ3395 .C25 A35 2005ISBN: 0199259399Publication Date: 2005-02-10
International Law by
Evans' International Law is widely celebrated as an outstanding collection of interesting and diverse writings from the leading scholars in the field. The fully updated fifth edition succeeds in explaining the principles of international law and exposing the debates and challenges thatunderlie it. Now fully revised and updated, it continues to provide an authoritative and stimulating overview of this increasingly important subject; revealing international law in its full diversity.Online resources:International Law is also accompanied by online resources, featuring the personal views and recollections of eminent international law practitioners.
Call Number: KZ1242 .I573 2018ISBN: 9780198791836Publication Date: 2018-08-21
International Law by
International Law is a concise paperback that is an ideal student companion guide to any law school casebook on international law. Clearly written and thoughtfully organized around three key concepts, this text orients students in the basics of international law while providing broad coverage of contemporary public policy issues shaping international relations.
Call Number: KZ3140 .J36 A35 2016ISBN: 9781454869504
International Law by
International Law is both an introduction to the subject and a critical consideration of its central themes and debates. The opening chapters of the book explain how international law underpins the international political and economic system by establishing the basic principle of the independence of States, and their right to choose their own political, economic, and cultural systems. Subsequent chapters then focus on considerations that limit national freedom of choice (e.g. humanrights, the interconnected global economy, the environment).Through the organizing concepts of territory, sovereignty, and jurisdiction the book shows how international law seeks to achieve an established set of principles according to which the power to make and enforce policies is distributed among States.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0191811386Publication Date: 2015
The Politics of International Law by
Today international law is everywhere. Wars are fought and opposed in its name. It is invoked to claim rights and to challenge them, to indict or support political leaders, to distribute resources and to expand or limit the powers of domestic and international institutions. International law is part of the way political (and economic) power is used, critiqued, and sometimes limited. Despite its claim for neutrality and impartiality, it is implicit in what is just, as well as what is unjust in the world. To understand its operation requires shedding its ideological spell and examining it with a cold eye. Who are its winners, and who are its losers? How - if at all - can it be used to make a better or a less unjust world?In this collection of essays Professor Martti Koskenniemi, a well-known practitioner and a leading theorist and historian of international law, examines the recent debates on humanitarian intervention, collective security, protection of human rights and the 'fight against impunity' and reflects on the use of the professional techniques of international law to intervene politically. The essays both illustrate and expand his influential theory of the role of international law in international politics. The book is prefaced with an introduction by Professor Emmanuelle Jouannet (Sorbonne Law School), which locates the texts in the overall thought and work of Martti Koskenniemi.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781847316554Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Also available online in West Academic.
International Law: A Very Short Introduction by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0199239339Publication Date: 2016-02-01
International Law Frameworks by
This fully revised, classic treatise explores the historical evolution and contemporary intricacies of international law. Still incisive and irreverent, it remains a readable and yet nuanced text for a variety of audiences, including university and law school students, practitioners, researchers, and others who want to know what international law is and what it does in the twenty-first century. The fourth edition features new authorship and weaves in-depth considerations of key cases, core disputes, and essential international agreements into a broad overview of all important aspects of the subject. Readers will find an authoritative discussion of traditional topics such as the sources of international law and the methods of international dispute resolution alongside cutting-edge issues such as cyberwarfare, global migration, climate change, and the evolving law of jurisdiction and immunities in domestic courts.
Call Number: KZ3410 .B43 2016ISBN: 9781634592932Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Also available in West Academic.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by
For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. This book will also be available online as an e-reference on the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf. Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (over a 20% increase in content from the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: Legal terms as used in international law Significant doctrines Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration Important incidents Judicial and literary figures Treaties and conventions Organizations and institutions Acronyms
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780195389777Publication Date: 2009-10-02
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law by
Written by over 800 of the world's leading authorities and edited at the premier research institution for international law, this new edition of the definitive reference work on international law contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of the subject. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. At the same time articles can be set as readings for students on taught courses. Every article has been thoroughly peer reviewed and all references have been checked over by the editorial staff giving readers total confidence in the quality and accuracy of the content. The Encyclopedia will be a primary resource for all students and scholars of international law; counsel, judges and arbitrators involved in international law cases; and government legal advisers. Also Available For Purchase An accompanying Index volume for The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is now available separately for purchase. The Index completes the definitive reference work on international law by providing comprehensive lists of all articles and authors contained within the ten volumes. The Index also includes: full citations for every document referenced in each article; full tables of cases and legislation; and a detailed, analytical, A-Z index for the ten volumes.
Call Number: E-ResourceISBN: 9780199291687Publication Date: 2012-04-07
Handbook of International Law by Call Number: Law Reserves KZ3410 .A94 2010 (1st Ed. available as an e-book)ISBN: 9780521117050Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Routledge Handbook of International Law by
The Routledge Handbook of International Law provides a definitive global survey of the interaction of international politics and international law. Each chapter is written by a leading expert and provides a state of the art overview of the most significant areas within the field. This highly topical collection of specially commissioned papers from both established authorities and rising stars is split into four key sections: The Nature of International Lawincluding the interaction between the disciplines of International Law and International Relations The Evolution of International Lawprogressing from the ancient world to present day. Law and Power in International Societydiscussing topical issues such as the war in Iraq and the international criminal court Key Issues in International Lawincluding international refugee law, indigenous rights, intellectual property, trade and the challenges presented by "new terrorism". A comprehensive survey of the state of the discipline, The Routledge Handbook of International Lawis an essential work of reference for scholars and practitioners of international Law.
Call Number: KZ1250 .R68 2009ISBN: 9780415418768Publication Date: 2009-02-11
