International Trade Law Treatises
Understanding the North American Free Trade Agreement by
Every international corporate executive, customs broker, banker, and attorney needs to know what the new North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) will mean to their business and their client's business. This book is an easy to understand summary and analysis of the major provisions of this landmark accord and the side agreements negotiated to assure its passage. It is written in terms simple enough for the layman, but also contains the detailed information that will assist the experienced international trade executive or attorney. This book is designed to be a practical daily reference tool on your desk or in your briefcase, not just in the library shelf.
Call Number: KDZ944 .A41992 G58 2010ISBN: 9789041132055Publication Date: 2010-09-10- Global Competition: Law, Markets, and Globalization by Global competition now shapes economies and societies in ways unimaginable only a few years ago, and competition (or 'antitrust') law is a key component of the legal framework for global competition. These laws are intended to protect competition from distortion and restraint, and on the national level they reflect the relationships between markets, their participants, and those affected by them. The current legal framework for the global economy is provided, however, by national laws and institutions. This means that those few governments that have sufficient 'power' to apply their laws to conduct outside their own territory provide the norms of global competition. This has long meant that the US (and, more recently, the EU) structure global competition, but China and other countries are increasingly using their economic and political leverage to apply their own competition laws to global markets. The result is increasing uncertainty, costs, and conflicts that burden global economic development. This book examines competition law on the global level and reveals its often complex and little-understood dynamics. It focuses on the interactions between national and international legal regimes that are central to these dynamics and a key to understanding them. Part I examines the evolution of the current global system, the factors that have shaped it, how it operates today, and recent efforts to alter that system-e.g., by including competition law in the WTO. Part II focuses on national competition law systems, revealing how national laws and experiences shape global competition law dynamics and how global factors, in turn, shape national laws and experiences. It examines the central roles of US and European law and experience, and it also pays close attention to countries such as China that are playing increasingly important roles in the global competition law arena. Part III analyzes current strategies for improving the legal framework for global competition and identifies the factors that may contribute to a system that more effectively supports global economic and political development. This analysis also suggests a pathway for moving toward that goal.Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1283576767Publication Date: 2014-05-10
The Regulation of International Trade by
Drawing on a wide variety of classic and contemporary sources, respected authors Trebilcock,nbsp;Howse and Eliasonnbsp;here provide a critical analysis of the institutions and agreements that have shaped international trade rules. In light of the growing debate over globalization, they include special sections with examinations of topics such as: agriculture services and Trade-Related Intellectual Property Rights labour rights the environment migration competition. Drawing on previous highly praised editions, this comprehensive text is an invaluable guide to students of economics, law, politics and international relations. Now fully updated, this fourth edition includes full coverage of new developments including the Doha trade round, the proliferation of Preferential Trade Agreements, the debate on trade, climate change and green energy, the response of the trading system to the 2007--10 financial and economic crisis, the controversy over trade and exchange rate manipulation, and the growing body of WTO dispute resolution case law.
Call Number: K3943 .T72 2013ISBN: 9780415610896Publication Date: 2012-11-29
The World Trade Organization by
The WTO is one of the most important intergovernmental organizations in the world, yet the way in which it functions as an organization and the scope of its authority and power are still poorly understood. This comprehensively updated new edition of the acclaimed book by an outstanding team of WTO law specialists provides a complete overview of the law and practice of the WTO. The authors explain the origins and development, via the GATT, of all of the substantive legal areas covered by the WTO, as well as the sources of law and remedies of the Dispute Settlement system.
Call Number: K4610 .A31994 M38 2006ISBN: 9780199284566Publication Date: 2006-06-01
International Trade and Economic Relations in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell examines the legal rules governing international trade and economic relations. After initial chapters on the legal and practical environment for trade enterprises, it analyzes the principal institutions and rules governing international trade. Special attention is paid to the World Trade Organization (WTO), the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), the WTO Dispute Settlement Body, regulation of imports (including tariff rates, customs classification and valuation, and rules of origin), and trade remedy responses to import competition. Export controls, foreign corrupt practices, preferential trade agreements, and the trade law of the European Union and the North American Free Trade Agreement are also examined. U.S. law coverage is emphasized.
Call Number: Study Aids - Reading Room (Organized alphabetically bu Author's Last Name) Reserve: REF K3943 .F64 2016ISBN: 1634599101Publication Date: 2016-04-01
NAFTA Free Trade and Foreign Investment in the Americas by
This Nutshell provides a quick reference for students and practitioners on the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), Mercado Comun del Sur (MERCOSUR), and numerous other free trade agreements in the Americas. No lawyer or business operating in the Americas can escape their significance. They represent the future, a blending of national legal and business cultures and traditions. This book addresses the interests not only of North, South and Central Americans, but also persons located outside the region who worry about the externalities of free trade in the Americas. NAFTA treaties are appended.
Call Number: Study Aids - Reading Room (Organized alphabetically bu Author's Last Name) Reserve: REF KDZ944 .F653 2014ISBN: 0314290265Publication Date: 2014-05-05
International Trade Law by
Covering all aspects of WTO law—including trade in goods, services, and TRIPs— International Trade Law offers a balance of positive and normative perspectives, integrating legal decisions with incisive analysis of the many challenges facing the international trade system. Written by two leading authorities on the WTO, International Trade Law features: key WTO cases —selected and edited to teach central concepts introductory and explanatory exposition that provides background and facilitates understanding discriminating case selection that balances classic and recent doctrine helpful summaries of key teaching points in each chapter well-crafted questions that illuminate policy issues and stimulate class discussion judicious incorporation of economic factors at play in international trade issues—pitched at a level appropriate for law students manageable length for two and three-credit courses A comprehensive Teacher's Manual includes answers to all of the questions in the book, along with guidance for structuring the course, teaching tips, and supplementary material. For sophisticated perspective, incisive analysis, and discriminating case selection, you can turn with confidence To The new casebook, International Trade Law, by Andrew T. Guzman and Joost H.B. Pauwelyn .
Call Number: K3943 .G896 2009ISBN: 9780735580442Publication Date: 2009-06-15
The World Trade Organization by
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is scarcely ten years old, but even in these early years of its existence it has generated debate, controversy and even outrage. Rulings on beef hormones and tuna-dolphin cases provide graphic examples of how the organization regulates and intrudes into areasof individual consumer choice, ethical preferences, and cultural habits. This deep and far-ranging impact of the WTO on peoples' everyday lives means that it is not just an institution of interest to economists, but to everyone, a fact that was perhaps most graphically illustrated in the populardemonstrations at the 1999 Seattle Ministerial. Such protests have become a regular feature associated with most high-level meetings of the WTO.This VSI will provide a timely and carefully considered explanation of what the WTO is, what it does, and how it goes about executing its tasks. A clear understanding of the mandate, structure and functioning of the WTO is essential to appreciate the controversy behind the organization, and how farit deserves the reputation that it has come to acquire.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0192806084Publication Date: 2005-11-03
The Oxford Handbook of International Trade Law by
The Oxford Handbook of International Trade Law explores the law of the World Trade Organization and its broader context. It examines the discipline of international trade law itself and also the outside face of international trade law and its intersection with states and with other aspects of the international system. It covers the economic and institutional context of the world trading system, the substantive law of the WTO, the WTO dispute settlement system,and the interaction between trade and other disciplines and fields of international law.
Call Number: K1005 .O94 2009ISBN: 9780199231928Publication Date: 2009-03-15
WTO Analytical Index by
The WTO Analytical Index is a guide to the legal interpretation and application of the Agreements by the WTO Appellate Body, WTO dispute settlement panels and other WTO bodies. The book assists anyone working with WTO law in identifying the existing jurisprudence and relevant decisions concerning a given provision of any WTO Agreement. This is a unique work produced by the Legal Affairs Division of the WTO Secretariat with contributions from other Divisions of the Secretariat and the Appellate Body Secretariat. The second edition of the WTO Analytical Index covers developments in WTO law and practice through to the end of December 2004.
Call Number: K4610 .A23 W76 2007ISBN: 0521880297Publication Date: 2007-09-13
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by
For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. This book will also be available online as an e-reference on the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf. Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (over a 20% increase in content from the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: Legal terms as used in international law Significant doctrines Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration Important incidents Judicial and literary figures Treaties and conventions Organizations and institutions Acronyms
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780195389777Publication Date: 2009-10-02
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law by
Written by over 800 of the world's leading authorities and edited at the premier research institution for international law, this new edition of the definitive reference work on international law contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of the subject. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. At the same time articles can be set as readings for students on taught courses. Every article has been thoroughly peer reviewed and all references have been checked over by the editorial staff giving readers total confidence in the quality and accuracy of the content. The Encyclopedia will be a primary resource for all students and scholars of international law; counsel, judges and arbitrators involved in international law cases; and government legal advisers. Also Available For Purchase An accompanying Index volume for The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is now available separately for purchase. The Index completes the definitive reference work on international law by providing comprehensive lists of all articles and authors contained within the ten volumes. The Index also includes: full citations for every document referenced in each article; full tables of cases and legislation; and a detailed, analytical, A-Z index for the ten volumes.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780199291687Publication Date: 2012-04-07
World Trade Organization (WTO) by
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is one of the most important international organizations in existence today. It contains a set of disciplines that affect the ability of governments to impose trade restrictions, and has helped to support the steady expansion of international trade since the 1950s. The WTO has been the focus of vociferous protests by anti-globalization activists and has experienced great difficulties in agreeing to new trade rules since its establishment. At the same time it has become the premier global forum for the settlement of trade disputes and has proven to provide a robust framework for international cooperation in the trade area. This book separates the facts from the propaganda and provides an accessible overview of the WTO's history, structure and policies as well as a discussion of the future of the organization. It also confronts the criticisms of the WTO and assesses their validity. New to the second edition: discussion of legislative amendments to the WTO Agreement, in particular Aid for Trade, the Agreement on Trade Facilitation and the Bali Package evaluation of case law developments and major disputes since 2007, including analysis of the WTO and the financial crisis - in particular the trade policy responses of WTO Members and institutional response reflection on recent shifts to mega-regional agreements (TPP, TISA, TTIP) and their implications what next post Bali? Fully updated throughout, this book continues to be essential reading for students of international trade, international political economy, commercial law and international organizations as well as activists and others interested in a balanced account of a key global institution.
Call Number: K4610 .H64 2016ISBN: 1138823155Publication Date: 2015-10-23
The WTO Agreements by
This publication contains the text of the WTO's founding agreement, the 1994 Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, and its Annexes, including all amendments and additions since its entry into force until September 2017. These include an amendment to the WTO's intellectual property agreement (TRIPS Agreement) aimed at improving developing countries' access to medicines, the WTO's Trade Facilitation Agreement, which entered into force in February 2017, an amendment adopted in July 2017 to extend the frequency of peer review periods under the Trade Policy Review Mechanism as of 2019, and the amended Government Procurement Agreement. This publication updates and replaces The Legal Texts: The Results of the Uruguay Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations, which was first printed in 1994.
Call Number: K4610 .W675 2017ISBN: 9781108438438Publication Date: 2017-11-16
The Law and Policy of the World Trade Organization by
This is primarily a textbook for graduate and upper-level undergraduate students of law. However, practising lawyers and policy-makers who are looking for an introduction to WTO law will also find it invaluable. The book covers both the institutional and substantive law of the WTO. While the treatment of the law is often quite detailed, the main aim of this textbook is to make clear the basic principles and underlying logic of WTO law and the world trading system. Each section contains questions and assignments, to allow students to assess their understanding and develop useful practical skills. At the end of each chapter there is a helpful summary, as well as an exercise on specific, true-to-life international trade problems.
Call Number: K4610 .B67 2005ISBN: 0521529816Publication Date: 2005-06-10
