International Law Treatise Finder: Private International Law

The new edition of this well-established and highly regarded work has been fully updated to encompass the major changes and developments in the law, including coverage of the Recast Brussels I Regulation which came into force in 2015. The book is invaluable for the practitioner as well asbeing one of the leading students' textbooks in the field, giving comprehensive and accessible coverage of the basic principles of private international law.It offers students, teachers and practitioners not only a rigorous academic examination of the subject, but also a practical guide to the complex subject of private international law. Written by an expert team of academics, there is extensive coverage of commercial topics such as the jurisdiction ofvarious courts and their limitations, stays of proceedings and restraining foreign proceedings, the recognition and enforcement of judgments, the law of obligations with respect to contractual and non-contractual obligations. There are also sections on the various aspects of family law in privateinternational law, and the law of property, including the transfer of property, administration of estates, succession and trusts.

In an increasingly globalized and digitized world, transactions, communications and data flow freely across national borders. When lawsuits arise as a result of those trans-border events, the question of which court or courts have jurisdiction and can provide the appropriate forum becomes critical. This two-volume collection provides a survey of personal jurisdiction across both time and legal systems. It includes articles ranging from the early 20th century to present day and to the problems created by jurisdiction in cyberspace. It also examines the jurisdictional premises of major common law countries and those in the civilian tradition. With an original introduction by the editor, these comprehensive volumes will appeal to scholars and practitioners alike.

When the law of a foreign country is selected or pleaded by a claimant or defendant, a question arises as to whether the issue pertains to substance, in which case it may be resolved by foreign law, or procedure, in which case it will be governed by the law of forum. This book examines the distinction between substance and procedure questions in private international law, and analyses where and whether each is appropriate. To do so, it examines previous attempts to define the scope of procedure in private international law, considers alternative choice of law methods for referring matters to the law of forum, and examines the influence of the doctrine of characterization on procedure. Substance and Procedure in Private International Law also provides detailed analysis of the decisional law in which the substance-procedure distinction has been employed, creating a clear assessment of its application in various practical situations and providing valuable guidance for practitioners on how the distinction should be applied. The book also considers 'procedural' topics such as service of process and the taking of evidence abroad, in order to show how the application of forum law may further be limited by foreign laws.

Global Private International Lawis a groundbreaking casebook, combining the expertise of over sixty international and interdisciplinary contributors who analyze key legal proceedings in order to provide a comprehensive study of the impact of globalisation on the law. Providing a unique and clearly structured tool, this book presents an authoritative collection of carefully selected global case studies. Some of these are considered global due to their internationally relevant subject matter, whilst others demonstrate the blurring of traditional legal categories in an age of accelerated cross-border movement. The study of the selected cases in their political, cultural, social and economic contexts sheds light on the contemporary transformation of law through its encounter with conflicting forms of normativity and the multiplication of potential fora. Key Features: the specific global scope allows the reader to gain a contextualised understanding of legal transformation each case has two commentaries from different viewpoints, ensuring a nuanced perspective on the implications of the global turn in private international law and its importance for adjudication an astute combination of theory and practice ensures readers gain an understanding of the relevance of innovative legal theories in interpreting concrete cases in a changing world comparative material and ground-breaking analysis make this book eminently suitable for use with students and a useful tool for researchers and courts confronted with novel topics or issues.

Litigating disputes in international civil and commercial cases presents a number of special challenges. Which country's courts have jurisdiction, and where is it advantageous to sue? Given the international elements of the case, which country's law will the court apply? Finally, if a successful plaintiff cannot find enough local assets, what does it take to have the judgment recognized and enforced in a country with assets? The Advanced Introduction to Private International Law addresses these questions in a concise overview of the field. Key features include: Comparative overview of legal systems, contrasting Anglo-American common law and the civil law approach of the European Union Written in a clear and engaging style Addresses classic choice of law as well as international civil procedure Problem-oriented presentation Three parts presenting principal problems parties face in dealing with cases with an international dimension Considers how the field could develop in the future. Engaging and wide-ranging, this is an excellent introduction for students and academics new to the field and allows practitioners to master the core principles behind private international law quickly.

This book assists the practitioner seeking to enforce a foreign judgment in the United States or a U.S. rendered judgment abroad in navigating the lack of procedural uniformity that exists and in planning strategies likely to ensure effective enforcement. As a handbook, it provides the practitioner with a framework and resources with which to approach and further research the laws of the relevant state or country. In Part One, the guide takes the practitioner chronologically through the process of obtaining a U.S. court's recognition and enforcement of judgments rendered abroad. Part Two takes the practitioner through the process of obtaining an overseas jurisdiction's recognition and enforcement of judgments rendered in the United States. Part Three assesses the current trends in the U.S. and in the international trade environment regarding enforcement of judgments which may be made by foreign courts.

This comprehensive Companionis a unique guide to the Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), an intergovernmental organisation dedicated to developing multilateral legal instruments pertaining to personal, family and commercial legal situations that cross national borders. The Companionis a critical assessment of, and reflection on, past and possible future contributions of the HCCH to the further development and unification of private international law. Written by international experts who have all directly or indirectly contributed to the work of the HCCH, chapters analyse its structure and working methods, as well as explore its significant achievements in the areas of international family law, civil procedure, legal cooperation, commercial and finance law. The contributors also discuss the many challenges both the HCCH and other global organisations are facing, including the advent of regionalism and renewed nationalism. Scholars and students of private international law, as well as private legal practitioners and members of the judiciary, will find this book to be crucial reading. Those working at other international organisations such as NGOs, banks and businesses will also find its insights into the workings of a successful international organisation beneficial.