Sources of Historical Diplomatic Documents
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - U of Michigan Digital LibraryEarlier Presidential Documents (Hoover --> Clinton)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)"an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed."
- Department of State Bulletin Vols. 1-89 (1939-1989) - HeinOnlineAll Published; Continued by US Department of State Dispatch (1990-1999).
Link works on campus only. Off campus, log into HeinOnline and then search the catalog for specific publications. - US Department of State Dispatch Vols. 1-10 (1990-1999) - HeinOnlineAll Published.
Link works on campus only. Off campus, log into HeinOnline and then search the catalog for specific publications.
Databases of Congressional documents also containing diplomatic documents:
- Proquest Congressional PublicationsDates of Coverage:
index:1970 to present; full text: coverage varies - Congress.gov"official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public."
Research Portals and Online Archives
Strategies for finding Historical Diplomatic Documents
Documents Maintained by a Foreign Ministry
You may find collections of diplomatic documents for particular countries either in an online free database or on the foreign ministry website for the country of interest.
- Foreign Affairs Ministries on the WebHosted by the United States Institute of Peace.
Reference Resources on Sources of State Practice
Sources of State Practice in International Law by Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9789004272224Publication Date: 2014-07-01Sources of State Practice in International Law is bibliography of treaty and diplomatic sources for important jurisdictions around the world. It also includes a summary for each jurisdiction of issues related to treaty succession and treaty implementation in municipal law.
Documents from UN Diplomatic Conferences
Diplomatic proposals submitted during the course of a diplomatic conference may be located by searching within the documents compiled for that particular diplomatic conference, where available.
