Pronouncements of the U.S.
Pronouncements of states may, in the U.S., take the form of Department of State memoranda, letters from legal advisors, legal or other briefs, position papers and remarks. Many of these are freely available on the U.S. State Department website. You can also use digests and secondary sources to find commentary on, citations to, or the full-text of pronouncements of the state on international law.
Sources of U.S. Diplomatic Papers
-
State Department Office of the Legal AdviserFurnishes advice on international legal issues, arising in the course of the State Department's work.
-
State Department: Treaty ActionsArchived content from 1997 - 2008.
-
Department of State Dispatch: 1990-1999Available in HeinOnline.
-
Department of State Bulletin: 1939-1989Available in HeinOnline.
-
Foreign Relations of the United StatesCoverage from 1861 - 2000. "The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity."
-
America State PapersFrom the Library of Congress, 38 digitized volumes providing legislative documents from the period 1789 to 1838. See Part I for Foreign Relations.
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law
-
Digest of United States Practice in International Law. (1989-2014)"The Office of the Legal Adviser publishes the annual Digest of United States Practice in International Law to provide the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law."
-
Whiteman, Marjorie M. Digest of International Law. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of State, 1963-73. 15 volumes.Vols. 1-15 (June 1963-1973)
Covers 1940-1960 -
Hackworth, Green Haywood. Digest Of International Law. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1940-44. 8 volumes.Vols. 1-8 (1940-1944)
Covers 1906-1940
U.S. Secondary Sources
-
American Journal of International LawHeinOnline
1907-2013
Also available on Lexis Advance and Westlaw with coverage starting in the 1980s -
Murphy, Sean D. United States Practice in International Law. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002. Volume 1ProQuest Ebrary
Covers 1999-2001 -
Murphy, Sean D. United States Practice in International Law. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. Volume 2ProQuest Ebrary
Covers 2002-2004. -
American Law Institute. Restatement of the Law, Third, the Foreign Relations Law of the United States. St. Paul, Minn.: American Law Institute Publishers, 1987.Westlaw version
Also available on Lexis Advance
-
International Law As Law of the United States
by
Call Number: KZ3160 .P38 A35 2003ISBN: 0890893810Publication Date: 2003-01-01Chapter 1, "Customary International Law and Forms of Incorporation" provides an overview of custom from a U.S. perspective. It includes citations to cases, statutes & secondary sources.
-
Hyde, Charles Cheney. International Law: Chiefly as Interpreted and Applied by the United States. Boston: Little, Brown, and Company, 1922.Link goes to HeinOnline.
Off Campus, log into HeinOnline first then click through the link above.
