HIST 3000W - The History Workshop (OLD): Historical Periodicals

Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.

Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Collection of popular magazine archives.

Based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, etc.

Holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).

Historical archive of The Economist. Primary source for politics, current affairs, business, and trade. Topic and area supplements and surveys.

Archive of rare historical journals that examine a variety of topical issues such as colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

A resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. This collection includes trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles

Contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly Magazine 1857-1912, with full indexing. Includes all illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and advertisements.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.

Index of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers'™ Guide to Periodical Literature, Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.

Archive of magazines covering a wide variety of denominations and religious movements, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.

Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, a fashion industry trade journal.

Women's interest consumer magazines with detailed article-level indexing. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, and Parents.

Archive of 15 major magazines (including Newsweek), spanning areas including history of politics, current events, international relations, and public policy.