HIST 3000W - The History Workshop (OLD): 1500-1750

Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.

Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Manuscript material from the Colonial Office files at the UK National Archives that documents all aspects of life in colonial America. Includes original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.

Correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley and his son, Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury. Calendar of the Manuscripts of the Marquess of Salisbury. Descriptive records include transcriptions, extracts, and summary abstracts.

Complete text of works cited in Charles Evans' American Bibliography, as enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography. Resource for information about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.

Early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.

Primary sources that document how prominent families to 'ordinary' people experienced everyday working, family, religious, and administrative life across societies and regions in England.

Executive papers and factory records of the East India Company charts the history of British trade with the East, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire.

Digital images of books published during the 18th Century in the areas of history, geography, social sciences, religion and philosophy, general reference, fine arts, literature and language, law, medicine, science and technology.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Visual, manuscript, and printed materials explore the history of fifteen key commodities that have been transported and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, transforming societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption, and cultural practices.

Digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.

Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.

Documents the performance and construction history of the new Globe and the indoor theater space of the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

Primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery. The African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. Case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

British state papers and government documents.

SPO, 1509-1714 encompasses the 16th- and 17th-century State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council from The National Archives, Kew, UK with some series from the British Library.

SPO, Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 covers the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.

Documents the founding and economic development of Virginia covering topics such as the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas; trade between Britain and America; the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia; tensions among the colonists; and early relations with Native Americans.

Records from slaving expeditions from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. Information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Statistical tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.

Titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft. Manifestations of the belief in witchcraft, its geographical boundaries, works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. Focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.