It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To better understand a company, its performance in the market and the factors that affect it, you need to understand the whole picture of that universe. This includes :
Products and services
SWOT reports (Strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats)
Industry pressures and challenges
Database: Avention (formerly OneSource)
Contains company profiles, analyst reports, SWOTs, and market research reports under the NAICS code link..
Search by Company Name
Once on the results page, click on the link for your correct company
Use the left hand menu to select specfic pieces of information on that company.
Example of SWOT analysis from Hoover's:
Company Financial Data
While many U.S. companies are privately held, financial data is often available for both public and private companies. This can appear in annual reports and SEC (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) required financial filings for public companies. These can be found in many library databases as listed on the library database orientation spreadsheet.
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Company financials, profiles, financial market data, forecasts. Research portion includes analyst reports by Investext. Includes SDC. ThomsonONE is only compatible in Internet Explorer and will not work with other browsers.
Access Note: Requires Internet Explorer 7, 8, or 9. User Limit: 20.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.