Islamic Studies Resources: Primary Source Databases

Early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.

Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).

Includes First Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, Brockelmann Online in English, and other Islamic Studies reference sources.

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.

Works in both Persian and Arabic on Islamic history and culture.

Middle East Collections include:
-Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959
-French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1919-1935
-British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
-Evangelism in Iran: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1847-1911
-Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974
-British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918
-Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War
-Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929
-Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
-Aden: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1880-1906
-Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
-Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949
-Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
-Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
-Cyprus Crisis in 1967
-Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
-Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
-U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
-Records of the Persian Gulf War
-U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955
-Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963
-King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959
-Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959
-U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993
-Iran (Persia): Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
-Saudi Arabia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1959
-Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959

Digitized historical documents from the National Archives (UK) covering the national heritage and political development of many countries in the Middle East, the Balkans, the Caucasus, and Russia.

Middle East collections include:
(American Politics and Society Module)
-American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961

(International Relations and Military Conflicts Module)
-Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
-Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969