Bibliographies
There are bibliographies at the backs of books and articles -- and then there are full-book bibliographies. Some of the latter are listed here:
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies by
Publication Date: 2010 -
Brief Bibliographical Guide for Islamic Philosophy and Theology (1998-2011)
by
An extremely useful bibliography, constantly updated, on Arabic-Islamic Philosophy and Kalām. -
Muslim Philosophy, Islamic Studies Bibliography, 2004
by
Publication Date: 2004This bibliography is focused on books. Bibliography fields entail: 1. General; 2. the Prophet; 3. The Qur'an; 4. Shi'ism; 5. Sufism; 6. Theology & Philosophy; 7. Jurisprudence; 8. The Arts; 9. History; 10. Geographic Regions and Nation-States; 11. Culture, Economics and Politics; 12. Miscellany
Databases
The databases below, which are most directly related to Islamic Studies, represent a fraction of all of the databases available for finding journal articles at the Vanderbilt University libraries.
-
Cambridge Archive Editions Online This link opens in a new windowBritish archival documents concerning the Middle East. Arabian Treaties, Expansion of Wahhabi Power in Arabia, Records of Saudi Arabia, Records of the Hijaz, Saudi Arabia Secret Intelligence Records, Slave Trade Into Arabia, Diplomacy in the Near and Middle East, Foreign Office Annual Reports from Arabia, King Abdul Aziz Diplomacy and Statecraft, King Abdul Aziz Political Correspondence, Memoirs of Baghdad, Kurdistan and Turkish Arabia, Middle East Intelligence Handbooks, Records of Saudi Arabia, Treaties and Engagements Relating to Arabia and the Persian Gulf.
-
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, chapters in multi-authored books, and book reviews. Includes some full text.
-
BrillOnline Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowIncludes Index Islamicus which "indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world....Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level."
-
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new windowCovers countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Includes political affairs, international relations, economic affairs, cultural heritage, society, ethnic diversity, religious events and movements, recent history (1900-), and more.
Get Fulltext - For Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
