Social/ Greek Life
|
Life can't always be about books and papers. Sometimes you just need to blow off some steam and have some fun. The Vanderbilt undergraduates of today have a lot of choices when it comes to how they spend their free time. They can join a club, write for the Hustler, participate in campus Greek life, become a member of student government, play intramural sports, participate in theater or music recitals, do community outreach, be active in politics, and much more. There are options to fit everyone's interests and talents. Members of the class of 1912 did not spend their entire four years at Vanderbilt with their noses stuck in a book either. They went to parties, joined fraternities and sororities, and put on plays, just to name a few things. Click on the links below to explore the fun side of undergraduate life at Vanderbilt over 100 years ago. |
Fraternity and Sorority Life
|
General Fraternity Regulations adopted by the Faculty October 3, 1910, recorded in the 1911 Vanderbilt University Quarterly. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
A Parody of the General Fraternity Regulations from the 1911 Commodore Yearbook. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections and Archives |
|
Descriptions of several dances hosted by fraternities. The Hustler, October 7, 1909 |
|
Dr. Kirkland on College Problems. Chancellor Kirkland delivers a series of lectures on College and Fraternity Life. The Hustler, February 3, 1910 |
|
Delta Delta Delta Sorority, 1912. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Kappa Alpha Theta Sorority, 1912 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Sororities Pledge New Members The Hustler, October 29, 1908 |
|
A Later Spiking Season The Hustler, October 15, 1908 |
|
Kappa Alpha Thetas Entertain The Hustler, October 29, 1908 |
The Hustler
|
The Hustler Staff Photo, 1910 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Hustler Staff Photo, 1912 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Vanderbilt's Part in the Veteran's Parade The Hustler, October 22, 1908 |
|
The Golden Days of Indian Summer Ring with Co-Ed Frolic: The Annual Nutting Party The Hustler, November 4, 1909 |
|
Holiday Trips to The Hermitage and Mammoth Cave The Hustler, April 8, 1909 |
|
Large Party Enjoy Subterranean Wonders. Annual Trip to Mammoth Cave The Hustler, April 5, 1911 |
Social Activities
|
Vanderbilt Girl's Club, 1911 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Initial Meeting of Girl's Club a Great Success! The Hustler, April 22, 1909 |
|
Vanderbilt Girl's Club, 1912 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
"The College Widow" presented by the Vanderbilt Dramatic Club, 1911 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
"The Gentleman from Mississippi" presented by the Vanderbilt Dramatic Club, 1912 Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Bachelor of Ugliness. This prize was awarded to the most popular man in the senior class every spring on Founder's Day. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Bachelor of Ugliness Election of 1909. In 1909, there was no Bachelor of Ugliness elected due to some "voting irregularities". Vanderbilt University Quarterly, 1909 Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
