Resources for Your Paper
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)A reliable (mostly -- occasionally links are dead or don't point where you expect them to point) guide that gives you summaries of the plots of movies and links to articles and reviews and other treatments in newspapers, magazines, and blogs, as well as some film journal coverage.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Times Digital Archive (London Times) This link opens in a new window
Full images of the pages of The Times (London) including advertising, book reviews, letters to the editor, and obituaries as well as news articles.
Author Profiles / Work & Topic Overviews
- Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, selected full-text works (poetry, poems, and drama), author pages, reviews, and reference sources including biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias.
- Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
Index of important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered.
- Scribner Writers Series This link opens in a new windowEssays on authors and literary genres drawn from Scribner print series.
- Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism: introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
