Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ASIA 1111-04 – Hollywood Hanoi: Narrating the Vietnam War: Television News Archive

Television News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The archive has been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. 

The core of the collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Also included is selected news content from other networks. Each evening news show available on the website includes an abstract description of each news story.

Video from all networks can be viewed from computers across the Vanderbilt campus.

Note: news content provided by the Vanderbilt Television News Archive is copyright protected by the news network. Any editing, reproduction, publication, rebroadcast, public showing or public display may be prohibited by copyright laws.

Citing the TV News Archive

How to cite from TV News Archive in MLA style?

Use this template:

Name of news program.  "Name of segment."  Reported by name of reporter.  Aired air date, on name of network.  Vanderbilt Television News Archive, URL of segment.  Accessed access date.
 

Example:  let's say you're using the broadcast at https://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/57930.  Your citation would look something like this:

ABC Evening News.  “Hearst Release.”  Reported by Frank Reynolds. Aired February 1, 1979, on ABC. Vanderbilt Television News Archive, tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/57930. Accessed October 14, 2022.