History Resources: Primary Sources

Collection of interviews with Holocaust survivors and witnesses that detail a wide range of experiences, including imprisonment in concentration camps, living in hiding, fighting with partisans or the resistance, rescuing and protecting those targeted by Nazi persecution, and escape to Allied or neutral countries.

First time users must register for an account then search for and request access to an initial testimony. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing rights for the entire collection. To view testimonies, users must start from a library authenticated URL (http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/eres?id=1696) and login to their personal account. Detailed instructions for access can be found at http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search.

Streaming video collection of primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of crimes against humanity.

Archival collections cover numerous historical topics. Collections strengths includes 20th century Germany, 20th Century African American, Latin America, and U.S. foreign policy.

Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials. Collection modules include:

-Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
-Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
-American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
-American Politics and Society
-International Relations and Military Conflicts
-Women's Studies
-Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.

Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.